We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh God, Yuk!!!”
Review of Hotel Magnan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Magnan
Ranked #132 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 30 November 2010

Location wise, it is on the beach and near the bus stop to the airport. But it is a bit of a walk to the center, but the room we stayed in was like a youth hostel, basic amenities, such as a bed and toilet, and that was about it...there was no shower, just a bath tub, so we showered ourselves with large bottles of water, but as I was with friends, we did laugh about it, but if you want a romantic weekend with your loved one, don't stay there, it will spoil the mood...but if you want cheap and convenient, compared to other digs in Nice, then this will be fine..but don't expect much!! :-)

Personally, I would suggest spending a bit more $$$ because once you get there, you do thin to yourself, I should have done it....so do it now!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2010

Magnan has a great location, the side of the hotel overlooks the Promenade des Anglais. Great value for money, we were there in Oct and got the room for Euro 50 per night. The room had a balcony with a partial view of the sea, but great for smoking.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manshus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

One of the nicest hotels in Nice at an affordable price.
hotel is good in all respects whether rooms [ comfortable] , food, location and helpful staff.
rooms could be little bigger.
Extra Facilities are available at a very reasonable cost.

Overall ambience of the place is very charming

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maulika65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Upon arriving at the hotel we just stopped and looked at each other in awe. It was an old ugly building in need of some renovation. We walked into the tiny lobby which was lacking any bit of decor . We checked in with a reasonably friendly man who was lacking any bit of english. He gave us the key and pointed to the elavator which was an antique and tiny.The hallway looked more like a prison landing than a hotel. We walked into the room and we nearly died it stunk and was incredibly ugly. We had booked for a balcony with a sea view and this was not the case. I went down to reception and politely requested another room. After a bit of negotiation he agreed and showed us to another room. It was small and ugly but was a big step up from the first one. It had a balcony but the view of the sea was not as was described. It was visible to the right hand side if you lean out over the railing which would probably crack off if you applied too much pressure! The building was obviously after getting some dodgy renovation work as the lights were faulty and would come on and off at their own accord. The fan on the ceiling looked as if it was about to come off and cause a casualty when turned on. I did not mind the location as i like to walk in new places and the walk to the old part of the city along the promenade was lovely. The beauty and elegance of this lovely city made up for what was a very poor hotel. I will definetly revisit Nice but will be staying in one of the many beautiful hotels I saw during my stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnJoyce13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

This hotel is cheap but for a reason.It is very near to the seafront but is miles away from the old town / tram route. Although the bus service in Nice is excellent.

The room was very noisy due to poor double glazing, the constant flow of traffic and extremely noisy neighbours in room 63. Thank you for going out and leaving the television on at full blast, this was gone midnight!!

Breakfast on the balcony was pleasant but basic.

The bathroom was very small and could do with a major revamp. No room to get into the shower which is right next to the toilet. The grouting is dirty and tiles are missing.

Before our return to the airport we asked if we could use the toilet as our room had been given up but we were politely told this was not possible.

Need I say more?

If / when I return to Nice I will be much more discerning about the hotel I choose.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheffieldJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Hotel very clean and we had a lovely view of the sea from our balcony. I was slightly apprehensive after reading all the reviews on here but we found absolutley nothing wrong with this hotel. Anything we asked for was brought to our room and any evenings we were going out the hotel manager would ring us a taxi to the door. Breakfast was brought to our room one morning and we enjoyed it out on the balcony. Staff were very friendly and funny, our room was cleaned and tidied while we were out for the day. I couldn't have asked for anything more from this hotel, it made our weekend in Nice and at 150 Euro for three nights it was great value. Slightly far from main pub/restaurant area but that was solved with a taxi at night, only because I was wearing heels, if wearing flats it's a lovely walk along the promenade to main pub/restaurant area.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orla_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

Only thing going for this hotel was the balcony and view, everything else was terrible, room was in a state of disrepair, two lots of electrical wiring were on show and loose plug sockets, two table lamps either side of the bed were on old chairs, corridor was full of tools and extension leads because the manager was doing DIY jobs in other rooms. I know exactly why they charge your debit card before they show you the room because i would not have payed to stay here otherwise. Do not stay here if you have children!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller69uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Flots d'Azur
#92 of 203 in Nice
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Danemark
#74 of 203 in Nice
187 reviews
Centre
Hotel Wilson
Hotel Wilson
#111 of 203 in Nice
249 reviews
Hotel Parisien
#98 of 203 in Nice
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magnan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magnan

Address: 1 avenue de la Californie, 06200 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £33 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Magnan 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Magnan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnan Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing