We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Nice Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #11 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay!!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

My Husband and I stayed in this hotel and the room was amazing. Loved the decor and I felt so comfortable. Very spacious bathroom and great shower/bath. The service was great, the buffet breakfast was very good ranging from pastries, cereals, eggs, cheeses and more. We stayed here as it was very close to the train station as we booked tickets to the Monaco Formula 1 Grand Prix. It was a great experience all round!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RAC26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    266
    42
    21
    9
See reviews for
70
360
26
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed 23rd May to the 26th May and have just arrived home. As I based this booking on reviews I felt it only right I also write a review. The hotel didn't disappoint with great decor, friendly staff, perfect location for the train station and nice garden. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samanthafrankham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Friendly hotel helpful front desk clean rooms ,friendly helpful staff ,nice rooms ..will go back..close to beach ,trains,shops ,,
Easy walking distance to town station to go Monaco takes about 15 minutes by train

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnold, Missouri
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The Hotel was very nice. The staff was exceptional. Our room was good size, air conditioning unit , which is important because some places either have heat or air depending on the time of the year. Room clean, we did not have the breakfast which is additional charge. Location good for the train.

Room Tip: There were 24 hour restaurants on a large street about a block or 2 from hotel. Chinese food very go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We got a very good rate at this hotel and our expectations were exceeded. The building itself is very interesting and decorated nicely. The service was excellent, we were given information and an umbrella without even asking. Our room was small but this we expected and the bathroom was spacious for French standards. Wifi is good throughout the hotel. We had a front room with a great view. The bed was very comfortable. We did not eat breakfast. When waiting for our lift, it was pleasant sitting in the lounge and using the wifi. Although not a very close walk to the Old Town (15 mins), it is convenient having the train station so close and catching the bus to the airport. I recommend catching the train in the morning to Villefranche Sur Mer for breakfast - 5 min journey and only €3.50 return, very beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yesdear007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

This is a wonderful hotel and definitely worth it's 4 stars. The decor is beautiful, colourful and modern. The staff were all very courteous and welcoming, especially Dragan who we found was so helpful and easy to talk to - nothing was too much trouble. Wifi is available for up to 2 devices. Rooms were comfortable, clean and fresh with coffee/tea making facilities.There is a lovely outside seating area which our room overlooked. We had a late flight and there is a room available for baggage which is locked so you can leave your case safely and enjoy your last day.
Hotel is perfectly situated - train station is 2 mins away and we took the train to Monaco one day and Cannes the next. 15 mins walk to the Promenade de Anglais and approx 30ins to the old town/harbour. Close to lots of restaurants in the evening too.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Nice, it was perfect for us :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We visited this hotel in a party of six. The hotel is good location easily placed next to station, and ten minute straight walk down road to the promenade. Hotel staff were excellent nothing was too much bother, whether it be directions, recommendations or bringing requirements yo your room. Hotel very clean, decor very different and very modern. I would visit this hotel again if staying in Nice. It's a beautiful town - recommend visiting old town - go up the steps at end promenade and you will be amazed at the views and the things you can find to do up there including drinks and lunch.
One thing to be aware of are the pickpockets on the trains - they work in packs and jump on and off trains getting on same train at different doors to be in the crowds!!! Also watch for them getting between you - even when you have cross body bag we found a female (well dressed!) had flipped bag open and had hand inside - she soon scarpered after being challenged)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillmcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#10 of 205 in Nice
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thiers / Train Station
Ibis Styles Nice Centre Gare
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nice Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nice Excelsior Hotel

Property: Nice Excelsior Hotel
Address: 19 avenue Durante, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Thiers / Train Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nice
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nice Excelsior Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Nice Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing