We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic hotel, great staff, nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nice Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #12 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Excelsior for 3 nights in July 2014 in a classic double. Overall, our experience is largely consistent with the reviews on TP. The hotel is roughly 100m from the train station, which makes day trips to Monaco, Cannes, etc an easy adventure. Admittedly about a 10 min walk away from the hustle and bustle of the Promenade and the Old City, most people should find this walk comfortable given the relatively even surface. The shopping district is also about a 5 min walk away, where along the way you will find lots of local grocery stores and cafes nearby.

The room itself was excellent - bed was nice a comfortable; bathroom was a nice size, with the L'Occitane in the bathroom was a nice touch; and overall the room was spacious enough to easily fit 2 large suitcases. All staff were friendly and helpful. The air con in our room broke one evening, so they immediately moved us into another room. The assessment of the room is consistent for both rooms we experienced.

The leftover pastries from breakfast at reception were a nice touch, particularly after returning from a day exploring Nice and the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Guccid01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

359 - 365 of 624 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Only 20mins taxi ride from the airport, 5mins walk to the train station and 10-15mins walk the main area of Nice, and Promenade des Anglais. There are also a lot of local grocery stores and cafes nearby. Perfect location.

With the train station only 5mins walk away, we were able to do day trips to places such as Monaco, Cannes, Antibes etc ... easy access!!!

The hotel is very cute and nicely decorated. Super friendly service. The room is clean, bright and spacious.

I would highly recommend this hotel, and I plan on staying here again, the next time I'm back in Nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bee833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here due to a transport strike in Italy. It is in a convenient location to the train station, but not really in the nicest of areas. The hotel and outdoor gardens are lovely, however we had a shoebox of a room. The toilet was smaller than than that in an airplane, and it was, well, a struggle. The L'Occitane in the bathroom was a nice surprise. We paid just over £100 and I have seen rooms offered for £89. Definitely book if you can get a room for this, I would give 5 stars at that rate. All in all my advice is have a look around there are some nice boutique places you can stay, that are in a better area.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank phil_up81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We only stayed one night but immediately fell in love with this hotel. The interior design is fantastic with everything from the carpets to the furniture taking inspiration from travel. All the staff were very polite and helpful speaking several languages. The bar in the garden is a delight and breakfast was very good with a good selection. The hotel is really close to the station and only a few minutes walk from the shops and Promenade des Anglaise.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I would like to start with a warm recommendation of the hotel due to a genuinely warm and helpful staff. This is a small(ish) hotel with more personnal service than the big hotels. We decided to book the hotel without breakfast due to the 15€ price (decided to buy breakfast at a cafe instead). At arrival we found out that we could order an "express breakfast" for ~= same price as a cafe. However, the full (15€) breakfast was so tempting that we had the regular breakfast at the hotel for 2/3 days.

The garden in the back is nice and have sufficient wifi coverage to sit and read and relax. We would like to be able to watch the football matches in the garden, but this was not possible (private house next to the hotel garden). The lady in the bar helped us to find a webpage to watch the games on my ipad(she even called a friend to sort things out for us).

The quality of the products in the bathroom is far above average for 4* hotels. The bathroom could
have been larger, but they are not unusually small (we had 3 rooms). The shower is cool, but slightly impractical (water spilled onto the bathroom floor). However that is a bigger problem for the cleaning staff than for guests.

In one of the rooms we had, the AC was noisy but in two rooms it was very quiet.

The area close to the gare sncf (Nice Nord) is supposed to be dodgy at night, but we did not have any unpleasent experiences even though returned home late a few nights.

Finding parking in the road may be a challenge, but there are parking nearby (a few blocks away and at the the Gare SNCF - 200m from the hotel).

I have stayed at NH Nice before and do clearly
prefer the Excelsior Hotel to NH Nice

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaffeGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

My husband was robbed 800 usd from the hotel's room safe!!!When we complained to the management we were told that they will try to solve the problem by doing an investigation. And that we might get our money through the hotel's insurance besides we called the police.. but according to management being reimbursed may take time!!! I can't understand how this can happen in a 4 star hotel. Am not sure if management will do anything to compensate us!!! Terrible experience!!!! Terrible response from management!! We were robbed by a hotel employee who has the master key that opens the safe box!! 

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
26  Thank Dina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Not the best location but one of the nicest hotel stays in our 2 week trip. Staff was amazing and rooms were way above average. Loved it. The outside bar was a great touch as well. The staff really is at your service the entire time. The wifi changing every 24 hours gets annoying but overall a great experience

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nice Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nice Excelsior Hotel

Address: 19 avenue Durante, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Thiers / Train Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nice
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £48 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nice Excelsior Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Lastminute, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nice Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing