We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nice Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #11 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Nice, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding visit”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We arrived early to attend a wedding at Chateau D"or Eze before the main group arrived.Look this up if you fancy 7 star experience in Nice
The staff are superbly friendly at the Excelsior and please take time to have a drink in the garden area where again the young lady is very helpful and pleasant
The room is very adequate and clean room 402 deluxe.The Hotel will advise you to go right. Out of the Hotel to go down town.Try going left and then right to some really nice restaurants ,where the star is the Voyager,chose the liver !!! OMG
We have one night left and our experience As a group and on our own has been fantastic
Well done Excelsior your welcome is fantastic.

Room Tip: Upgrade to superior very boutique and very friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    264
    42
    21
    9
See reviews for
70
355
26
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nice
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Booked two rooms with my family.
One of THE rooms smelled like an old cafe with cigars with a dozen of flies wondering arrount. THE other room door klink was broken and airco didn't work properly. THE manager couldnt help because THE hotel was fully booked. No compensation OR excuse...:((.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Ereff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectionExcelsior, Responsable relations clients at Nice Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Madame, Monsieur,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Nice Excelsior with us.
We are sorry to hear that you dislike your experience with us.
I would like to bring some elements to our TA readers :
Firstly, I am the guest relation manager and I never saw you... So I asked the front desk what happened to be sure we did everything to fix your problem because it is important to us that you feel comfortable in our hotel. They proposed you to change the room and you declined the offer.
After your complain, our housekeeping team checked the room and there was no flies in the room. You also said to our evening receptionist that the room smell was fine by the evening.
Concerning the door klink broken, we have a technical staff who could have fixed it if you had told us but you did not.
All our rooms are non-smoking. It is true that sometimes a previous guest smoke in a room even if it is not authorized. We try to take off the smell as fast as we can and we usually do not have any problem.
Again, we are very sorry that you had a bad experience at the Nice Excelsior Hotel and we hope you won't stay with this impression and that you will give us the chance to show you our best.
Best regards,
Jérémy Lyonnet
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

As previous reviews have stated great location for the train station to explore the area.. which I would highly recommend, a very scenic ride to Menton and Monaco is a must. Our hotel room (404) was very impressive , had great quality towels, bathrobe and slippers not to mention the fab coffee maker. Also very good free Wifi and aircon. We had the express breakfast on the first day which was ok.. but there is plenty of nice cafes nearby especially in the road opp. which also had an excellent patissiere. No more than a 15 min stroll to the beach, and very close to the main shopping street. There really was nothing not like about this Hotel. It was a great find.

Room Tip: room 404 facing front a good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ask161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights and main reason for choosing this hotel is because of the location. It's very near to the train station so it makes making day trips more convenient for us to explore other towns.

It's also near to many eateries and within walking distance to shopping area and we even walked to the beach area.

We were upgraded to a garden room with small private terrace area, but the problem is that you need to lock and unlock the door with a physical key which we find quite a hassle. The room was pretty small but with a big bathroom. Didn't like the fact that there was no shower screen so whenever we took a shower the entire bathroom floor was wet.

It would be good if they'd provided a hot water flask in the room as well.

Service was ok but we didn't expect much in France anyway.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jslk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectionExcelsior, Responsable relations clients at Nice Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for taking the time to share you experience at the Nice Excelsior Hotel with us.
It is true that we upgraded you from a classic room to a superior room which is apparently still too small for you. We also have Deluxe Room and Junior Suite available at the hotel which are much bigger, you could have asked our front desk, it would have been a pleasure to find you a solution.
also, We are sorry that you had problems with one of our biggest shower and if you had told us about it we would have given you some extra towels.
Also, concerning the hot water flask, again it is sad that you did not thnik about asking the front desk because we have some boilers available on request.
As you can see, we had all the solutions at your problem directly at the hotel and it is sad that you did not take the chance to let us show you that french service can be good unlike what you say in your comment.
Jérémy Lyonnet
General Manager Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croydon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

What can i say.... I only stayed for 5 nights with some friends the room was wonderful, stylish and very comfortable. The staff were amazing and nothing was too much trouble. The bar was tranquil and picturesque. Excellent location near to the station so easy access to take a train to Cannes, Antibes and Monte Carlo. 5 mins walk to the tram which can take you to the old town and 15 mins walk to the sea front. Will definately be back with my husband for a longer stay!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank HenriAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Finally got back to home base after some long traveling and finally made time to write this. Whenever I book a hotel for personal travel, I log onto Tripadvisor to read reviews as they are helpful. Thank you fellow travelers. Hence, I feel it is my responsibility to alert you of this petty theft case in Hotel Nice Excelsior Chateaux, located at 19 Avenue Durante during my stay with the hotel June 24 – 29, 2014.

Money was stolen from the safety box in the hotel rooms and I have reason to believe the thief is experienced; this thief took few notes of each of the currency that I have, USD, sterling, and Hong Kong dollar so as for me not to rise suspicion. Actually, if I had not written down and counted the money then I maynot know or may know only when I come to use the currency by then I am in another country already. I have reported the case to the Nice police as I see this as necessary action for dealing with such integrity issues despite that this has taken time and disrupted our travel itinerary and awaiting for their findings.

Although the hotel staff is courteous, warm and seemed helpful, when we reported the case, they in my view shown weak response & little concern. The management gave very standard non-helpful answers after having their hotel headquarter- The Maranatha Group – put pressure to them for replying my mail. This is Hotel Nice Excelsior’s answer – they made an internal investigation but unfortunately had no clue about who could have opened your door and your safe. Furthermore, the hotel management gave verbal commitment that they will also file police report on the case but in reality did nothing.

I suppose people in the region are so accustomed to seeing tourists being ripped/robbed, my loss of Euro 500-600 is not a big deal.
Below details my advise to you in case you decided to stay in this hotel which we had an otherwise very nice stay up had not been this mishap:
1) Take extra precautionary measure to safeguard your money and valuables; courteous and warm staff as well as appearance can sometimes be deceiving
2) List down all the money and valuables and count it regularly

One point to note is The Maranatha Group, is a rather ethically responsible group, they acted very swiftly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank HK20140624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel location is really excellent: next to the central train station (less than 2 minutes walking), next to the bus to the airport (less than 2 minutes walking), 5 minutes walking from the shopping streets and 10 minutes walking from the famous Promenade des Anglais and the beach.
The staff is very helpful (advices, luggages) and very friendly.
The rooms are clean and well decorated: basic rooms (like 105 - view on the street) are very small and the bathroom is really tiny. Superior room (like 109 - view on the garden) are larger and better and not much expensive compared to the basic ones!

Room Tip: 105: very small and no place to put your stuff 109: large room, view on garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Antonio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#10 of 205 in Nice
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thiers / Train Station
Ibis Styles Nice Centre Gare
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nice Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nice Excelsior Hotel

Property: Nice Excelsior Hotel
Address: 19 avenue Durante, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Thiers / Train Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nice
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nice Excelsior Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nice Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing