We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nice Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #11 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Bebington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I really loved this hotel.

We have just spent 2 nights here last week & it was great! The hotel organised for a private airport transfer, it was €45 but fab!! He was waiting for us as soon as we got there, and took our bags for us.

The welcome at the front desk was great too. Our room wasn't ready, but they kept our cases safe & upgraded our room to the best suite they had!

The reception staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble. Recommending restaurants, advising of train times, printing out info & giving advice & maps of places to go & see.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    270
    44
    22
    9
See reviews for
74
366
26
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We chose this hotel because it was within our price bracket for Nice, and gave us a 4 star hotel. It was absolutely worth it, and I would return to this hotel over and over without hesitation.

The room was absolutely gorgeous, and it made us feel special coming into it. The decor was great - each room has a film theme, and ours was the Orient Express. The bathroom was very small but quite workable, and we expected that for France. The mattress was extremely comfortable, and we slept incredibly well. We had no noise from fellow guests - and I really liked the layout of the hotel, which separated rooms into smaller subsections so that noise was indeed minimised.

The hotel itself was located near to the train station, but we had a quiet room facing the rear of the hotel (not the street), so we had virtually no noise at night through our windows.

We were a very easy walk from the train station where we'd dropped off our Hertz Hire car. I was a little concerned that we were so far (10 to 15 minutes walk) from the beach...and if you love the ocean and want to spend lots of time this might be a consideration. However, we were directed to the main shopping street which runs near this hotel and right to the ocean, so we had wonderful walks each day down to the ocean, enjoying shopping along the way. So I actually enjoyed the location of the hotel, it was very convenient for us, and gave us the chance to see more of Nice because we had that lovely walk ahead of us.

We stayed in this hotel for a few days, then went to the Boscolo B4 Plaza Hotel (which was a block from the ocean, and a 4 star hotel as well, and much pricier). We didn't like the B4 Plaza Hotel at all - and would never return to it. So the Excelsior was an absolute win for us - and one of the nicest hotels we've had in France so far.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atlantis88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed in the Excelsior, located right by the Nice Ville Train Station, for 3 nights in August 2014.

It is very easy to get from the airport to our hotel as the airport shuttle stops at the train station. The neighbourhood is walking distance down to the coast- around 10mins, the same for old town.

Upon arrival, our keys with accompanying wifi password were already prepared for us- an indication of the superb service we received at the hotel.

Our room, on the 1st floor was a delight. Well designed, spacious (two wardrobes, luggage racks,desk, clever alcoves with plugs next to the bed) wood floors, bright and clean.
It is obvious that the hotel has been renovated to an extremely high standard. The shower in particular with its enormous shower head meant you felt refreshed after your morning hurricane!

We also had breakfast which was a buffet, offering continental and hot items for 15 Euros per person.
The bar, situated in a private courtyard towards the rear of the hotel was a pleasant oasis in which to relax before heading out for dinner. There is a cocktail menu as well as wine and beers. Again- the service was exceptional.

We were absolutely delighted with this hotel, we have stayed in 5* accommodation which we felt was not as comfortable as here. We took advantage of a special offer on their website too, so do check there for the best deal.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philius1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We arrived early to attend a wedding at Chateau D"or Eze before the main group arrived.Look this up if you fancy 7 star experience in Nice
The staff are superbly friendly at the Excelsior and please take time to have a drink in the garden area where again the young lady is very helpful and pleasant
The room is very adequate and clean room 402 deluxe.The Hotel will advise you to go right. Out of the Hotel to go down town.Try going left and then right to some really nice restaurants ,where the star is the Voyager,chose the liver !!! OMG
We have one night left and our experience As a group and on our own has been fantastic
Well done Excelsior your welcome is fantastic.

Room Tip: Upgrade to superior very boutique and very friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Booked two rooms with my family.
One of THE rooms smelled like an old cafe with cigars with a dozen of flies wondering arrount. THE other room door klink was broken and airco didn't work properly. THE manager couldnt help because THE hotel was fully booked. No compensation OR excuse...:((.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Ereff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectionExcelsior, Responsable relations clients at Nice Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Madame, Monsieur,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Nice Excelsior with us.
We are sorry to hear that you dislike your experience with us.
I would like to bring some elements to our TA readers :
Firstly, I am the guest relation manager and I never saw you... So I asked the front desk what happened to be sure we did everything to fix your problem because it is important to us that you feel comfortable in our hotel. They proposed you to change the room and you declined the offer.
After your complain, our housekeeping team checked the room and there was no flies in the room. You also said to our evening receptionist that the room smell was fine by the evening.
Concerning the door klink broken, we have a technical staff who could have fixed it if you had told us but you did not.
All our rooms are non-smoking. It is true that sometimes a previous guest smoke in a room even if it is not authorized. We try to take off the smell as fast as we can and we usually do not have any problem.
Again, we are very sorry that you had a bad experience at the Nice Excelsior Hotel and we hope you won't stay with this impression and that you will give us the chance to show you our best.
Best regards,
Jérémy Lyonnet
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

As previous reviews have stated great location for the train station to explore the area.. which I would highly recommend, a very scenic ride to Menton and Monaco is a must. Our hotel room (404) was very impressive , had great quality towels, bathrobe and slippers not to mention the fab coffee maker. Also very good free Wifi and aircon. We had the express breakfast on the first day which was ok.. but there is plenty of nice cafes nearby especially in the road opp. which also had an excellent patissiere. No more than a 15 min stroll to the beach, and very close to the main shopping street. There really was nothing not like about this Hotel. It was a great find.

Room Tip: room 404 facing front a good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ask161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights and main reason for choosing this hotel is because of the location. It's very near to the train station so it makes making day trips more convenient for us to explore other towns.

It's also near to many eateries and within walking distance to shopping area and we even walked to the beach area.

We were upgraded to a garden room with small private terrace area, but the problem is that you need to lock and unlock the door with a physical key which we find quite a hassle. The room was pretty small but with a big bathroom. Didn't like the fact that there was no shower screen so whenever we took a shower the entire bathroom floor was wet.

It would be good if they'd provided a hot water flask in the room as well.

Service was ok but we didn't expect much in France anyway.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jslk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectionExcelsior, Responsable relations clients at Nice Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for taking the time to share you experience at the Nice Excelsior Hotel with us.
It is true that we upgraded you from a classic room to a superior room which is apparently still too small for you. We also have Deluxe Room and Junior Suite available at the hotel which are much bigger, you could have asked our front desk, it would have been a pleasure to find you a solution.
also, We are sorry that you had problems with one of our biggest shower and if you had told us about it we would have given you some extra towels.
Also, concerning the hot water flask, again it is sad that you did not thnik about asking the front desk because we have some boilers available on request.
As you can see, we had all the solutions at your problem directly at the hotel and it is sad that you did not take the chance to let us show you that french service can be good unlike what you say in your comment.
Jérémy Lyonnet
General Manager Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#9 of 204 in Nice
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nice Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nice Excelsior Hotel

Property: Nice Excelsior Hotel
Address: 19 avenue Durante, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Thiers / Train Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nice
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nice Excelsior Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Lastminute, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Nice Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing