We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Hortopan Emil
Timisoara, Romania

Simply the best

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Jul 2021via mobile
Was a good experience. Staff is very friendly, the rooms are nice decorated and the breakfast is simply and perfect. The position near city hall is very important and the distance until old town or promenade des angles is 10 minutes. I recommend this hotel!

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephie Guebache, Directeur général at Hôtel Excelsior by HappyCulture, responded to this review
Responded 5 Aug 2021
Dear EmilHortopan,

We would like to thank you for your kind review regarding our establishment.
We are delighted that your stay was a success with us. Especially that you appreciated our staff, the decoration of our rooms and the breakfast.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our establishment during your next stay on the French Riviera.

Kindest regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£167
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £167
  • Expedia.com
    £168
  • Tripadvisor
    £168
0.2 miles from Hôtel Excelsior by HappyCulture
Free Wifi
Booking.com
£247
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £246
  • Agoda.com
    £205
  • Hotels.com
    £247
0.6 miles from Hôtel Excelsior by HappyCulture
Booking.com
£246
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £246
  • Agoda.com
    £220
  • Expedia.com
    £245
0.5 miles from Hôtel Excelsior by HappyCulture
Free Wifi
Room service
Booking.com
£438
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £438
  • ZenHotels.com
    £381
  • Expedia.com
    £437
0.6 miles from Hôtel Excelsior by HappyCulture
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotels.com
£163
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    £163
  • Vio.com
    £132
  • Booking.com
    £174
0.1 miles from Hôtel Excelsior by HappyCulture
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
ibis Styles
£157
  • Booking.com
    £168
  • Hotels.com
    £168
  • Expedia.com
    £168
0.1 miles from Hôtel Excelsior by HappyCulture
Free Wifi
Booking.com
£472
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £472
  • travelup.com
    £526
  • Expedia.com
    £472
0.6 miles from Hôtel Excelsior by HappyCulture
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Booking.com
£335
  • Hotels.com
    £372
  • Vio.com
    £205
  • Expedia.com
    £335
0.6 miles from Hôtel Excelsior by HappyCulture
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Our lively hostel bar is a great place to make new friends and enjoy the nightlife in Nice, France.
Hotels.com
£264
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £259
  • Vio.com
    £96
  • Expedia.com
    £264
0.5 miles from Hôtel Excelsior by HappyCulture
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
ibis Budget
£91
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • StayForLong
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
1.5 miles from Hôtel Excelsior by HappyCulture
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Nice
Reviews (941)
Filter reviews
943 results
Traveller rating
429
366
86
37
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
429
366
86
37
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station old town minute walk small balcony would highly recommend this hotel location is great monte carlo booked this hotel croissants promenade cannes luggage toilet france dryer kettle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 943 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2020 via mobile

We spent a good holiday in this hotel. Good location,close to city center and shopping. Staff reception very helpful expecially Manuela that help me and my wife to find very good place. We recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank carlosarmient
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephie Guebache, Directeur général at Hotel Excelsior by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2020

Dear traveller, thank you for your last stay in our hotel and for your comments; We are glad to see that you enjoy your stay with us. We thank you again regarding your comments concerning our staff. We do our best to give the best stay to our guest. We look forward to welcome you again for a future stay. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2020

The hotel is well placed and has a nice appearance. However, the room with garden view do not have a really garden view and it was not equipped as any 4star room (no minibar, unfriendly storage units, no bathrobe, no shower caps, shower curtains inadequate and useless etc).
It was noisy from outside/other rooms. The smell from kitchen entered the room during the night. The staff was friendly, but the lobby and the reception were not quite enjoyable. Very basic breakfast...

Room tip: Avoid the room 102
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 978emiliand
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephie Guebache, Directeur général at Hotel Excelsior by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2020

Dear guest, thank you for your last stay in our hotel. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. The classic room that you book doesn't have all the equipment like a mini bar or bathrobe, shower caps..
But if you request on the reception, we will be glad to give it to you.
We hope to welcoming you for a future stay in Nie. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2020

Fi1rst impression: good, I was there at around 13:20 and asked if early check in was possible, it wasn't but I was okay with it. The reception was helpful with the location around the hotel and she recommended to some cafes nearby. When I got back around 14:40, I asked again and the room was still not ready. However, there are rooms which are ready for other travellers. I was already a bit annoyed by that. I went back to the reception at 15:00 and the way they treated me and the other travellers were different based on the amount of information that was given to me.

Finally when I got my room, phew, a strong bad smell came from the toilet. Asked for a room change but the reception said it wasn't possible since it was fully booked. Fine. I work in hospitality as well so I wouldn't want to bother with the change. I resorted to asking them to send a housekeeper up to spray some air freshener in the bathroom while I opened the balcony windows so the smell would disperse. Waited for around 15 mins for the housekeeper to come up (even though the reception said it would be a few minutes), tried to call again but the phone in the room was out of battery, turns out that the phone base was broken so it wasn't charging the phone.

Long story short, location is excellent, service not that good, hygiene needs to be improved and please, get your standards fixed. The room had no shower gel or shampoo and only 2 conditioners.

This is a very unpleasant experience.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank nightnightowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
S-Guebache, Directeur général at Hotel Excelsior by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience in our Hotel. . I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2020

Quirky hotel in a good location for train station, shops, bars and restaurants and the Promenade de Anglaise. Rooms were small and quite dark but were clean and had everything we needed. Breakfast was expensive at €12 if you booked the night before or €15 if you didn’t book and was a bit disappointing when we found there was no hot food left and was not being replenished. Nice is a lovely city so we did have a lovely New Year break.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annie0163
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
S-Guebache, Directeur général at Hotel Excelsior by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2020

Dear travellers, thank you for your last stay in our hotel. We are glad to see that you enjoy your stay with us. We are sorry regarding the breakfast, we do it everything last minute, so they can take few minutes to refresh the buffet. We hope to welcoming you again for a future stay in Nice. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2019

Great staff and locations. Poor sound proofing of the room as we heard our neighbor’s time with a couple prostitutes 🤮
If you have children or want a nice trip with your wife this will kill the ambiance for you...

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Les Collectionneurs
2  Thank Harveypapaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
S-Guebache, Directeur général at Hotel Excelsior by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2019

Dear customer,
We thank you for the time you have spent writing this review for our hotel and are sorry to read that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We had the room just next to you very noisy and the night auditor which was responsible that day tried to fix it as soon as possible. Do not hesitate to ask us next time so we couild fix it immediately.
Just to be clear, it wasn't a couple prostitutes.
On the other hand if you want to speak about the behavior of certain person, who forget that they are in a hotel and does not respect the rest of the other customers, we also deplore it. Hope to see you again, to make you change your mind! kind regards
Julie//Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews