We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very central locatiom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel le Florence
Ranked #14 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very central locatiom”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We have stayed in this hotel as a part of our French riviera tour for 2 nights. It is very central and the price is ok if you only need the hotel to sleep at night. We did not have the breakfast at the hotel, we have chosen the old city for that. There is a carpark very next to the hotel. We paid around 20 euros for a day. If you just need a decent hotel to stay at night and enjoy all day outside, it is a good choice.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pinar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    288
    59
    21
    9
See reviews for
107
286
47
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We truly enjoyed out stay at Hotel le Florence. It was in a perfect, safe location right in the center of a shopping district. The train station was a 10 minute walk one way, the beach was 10 minutes the other way. It was also located right off of a tram stop. The staff was very warm and welcoming and everyone spoke excellent English. They even gave us a welcome gift when we arrived. The room was very spacious by French standards. The bed was a true queen size and was very comfortable. Both the bedroom and bathroom were clean and well kept. We would definitely recommend this hotel for your stay in Nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
441 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We arrived at the hotel a little after noon on a Saturday. When I arrive at that time at a small hotel in Europe, I usually expect that we will have to check our bags and not be able to access the room until about 4 PM. To our delight, the lady at the front desk immediately issued the room key.

The rooms are small, but very well designed. There is essentially no waste space, with everything we wanted squeezed in efficiently. The queen-sized bed has comfortable bedding. There are two tiny boards attached to the wall on either side of the bed to serve as nightstands with an electrical outlet under each stand. My husband and I both use CPAP machines, so the boards were perfect for the CPAP's. There are closets on either side of the bed. The one between the bed and the bathroom has a safe. There was a small desk (that works perfectly as a luggage space for a roll-aboard suitcase and an extra chair that served as a stand for my husband's roll-aboard suitcase.

The bathroom is also very small and well designed. The sink is relatively large for the size of the room. There is a shower with the European-style glass panel instead of a shower door. It was immaculately clean. As is common in Europe, there was a wall-mounted container of liquid soap/bodywash/shampoo instead of individual small bottles and bar soap. Facial tissues are provided in addition to toilet tissue. The bathroom is well lighted.

Everything worked perfectly. We were on the second floor and there was no street noise. The hotel is at the intersection of two pedestrian streets, so there is no street traffic near the hotel.

The air-conditioning worked well and we slept well.

We had just gotten off a two week cruise, so one priority was to get some good local food. As soon as we got settled in the room, I went to the front desk to ask the lady there to make some lunch and dinner reservations. We discussed where we should go and the issue of which restaurants were open on Sunday. She suggested a place in the old city for lunch and made a reservation for us and made reservations for dinner that night and lunch and dinner on Sunday.

On Sunday, I asked her whether I should go to the Chagall or the Matisse museum. She said that both were excellent and said that I should go to both. She provided information on the bus to the museums and printed out the bus schedule for both going and the return trip. (I had previously observed her giving equivalently detailed bus directions to another woman.) It was a pleasantly cool day and I am a walker, so I ended up walking both ways, but was glad to have the option of the bus if I was tired.

We booked a 30 Euro transfer to the airport through her for 8:15 AM on Monday morning. The driver was right on time. he had a clean, comfortable van and spoke excellent English.

The cold breakfast goes beyond just cold. There was a system for boiling yourself an egg to order. In addition to the traditional croissants and chocolate-filled rolls, there was a loaf of brioche from which you could cut yourself a slice and a toaster to toast it. There was also a coffee, hot chocolate, etc machine. There was also juice, yogurt, cold cereal, and cheese. When you check-in you can take the room with or without the breakfast. The breakfast costs 12 euros.

I am a picky traveler and rarely have a stay when I have no complaints. I had no complaints. I was amazed by how helpful and friendly the lady at the front desk was.

I was trying to get some exercise, so except when we were checking in or out, I took the stairs. The elevator is very small and barely accommodates two people with one suitcase.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EveSp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

My bathroom was not cleaned very well. The tv in the room was not working. The hotel furnishing was really old (creaky cabinets that didn't shut properly and old creaky wooden floor panels). Rooms were very small. Shampoo and body wash is provided via a all-in-one wash. Breakfast was very basic - no hot food save for some eggs which you cook yourself in a pot of hot water. Wifi connection was annoying and unreliable. They give you a lengthy username and password for each device and you have to reconnect everyday. The login also stopped working halfway through our stay (it is supposed to last throughout the stay) and we had to get new passwords. The lifts are really small - can't fit more than 2 people.

Except for the location, I can't think of a single thing I liked really. Find someplace else!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank T9797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-FLORENCE-Nice, Owner at Grand Hotel le Florence, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We thank you for having chosen our hotel for your stay and thanks for your review on TripAdvisor.

You are very hard with us and we accept your comments.

That's right, a large part of our room are not big but we tried to make a nice decoration, different of the other hotel. We are very central in NICE and the city is old then a lot of hotel have small room like a lot in Europ.
You speak about the cleaning in the bath, did you ask it ? I hope that you see that the bathroom was new (since Feb 2014) but i agree with you, it will be clean.

For the TV, I hope that you ask the problem to our reception because we have a technicien inside for that.
The champoo and the body is the same system like the most hotel in the world ! our product is ECOLABEL.

Our lift can accept 4 persons (max 300 kg), these is the law !

We appreciate your comment because our hotel and his staff are developping with all comments. Service is very important for us and we work hard for that.

Best Regards

Christine and Nicolas PATAT
Managers / Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Just back from two nights at the Hotel Florence in Nice, my friends booked this for us for our girlie weekend away and really I cannot fault our experience, staff are friendly and always on hand if you need them, it was really very clean and beds were comfortable. Fantastic central location 15 mins from the beach and with shops, bars and restaurants on its doorstep. Will be looking to back very soon with my husband to be.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank harvard11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely little hotel in a good location - just off the main shopping street and a 10 minute walk to the promenade. The staff is very helpful in terms of giving us helpful tips and maps of nice and the nearby villages. We had opted for a twin room which was of decent size. Clean and modern.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amby84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
363 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed in the hotel for three nights. Extremely wonderful, helpful staff, no question to big or small there were 4 people that we met 3 gentlemen and one lady and they each one were extremely helpful customer service is this hotels strong suit. The hotel is in a good location. Close to the tram stop and walking distance to the beach and plenty of any kind of restaurant you can imagine. And cute shops all near the old ton and within 10 min. Walk. Hotel room. The bed was very comfortable and he comforter was so wonderful but the room wouldn't cool down enough so that I could really enjoy it and toooo noisy outside to leave the windows open. The shower is very nice and high powered but floods the entire floor so do not lay your cloths or anything you don't want to get wet The temp in the room and the water on the floor is the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars. We only ate breakfast one morning. It was extremely extremely crowded and wasn't much more than bread, canned fruit and one coffee machine. People falling over each other to get a refill. So many place near by to have good coffee and pastries and if you walk down to old town area full breakfasts.

Room Tip: If you have a room with shutters, and want to sleep late remember to shut them and the drapes
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishwhiskey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Thiers / Train Station
Ibis Styles Nice Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#10 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Hotel Monsigny
#7 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Hotel de la Fontaine
#5 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel le Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel le Florence

Property: Grand Hotel le Florence
Address: 3 rue Paul Deroulede, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Nice
#16 Family Hotel in Nice
#23 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#33 Business Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel le Florence 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richly restored traditional design retained by tasteful appointments - Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel le Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing