We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Comfortable, Great Staff, Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel le Florence
Ranked #14 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
273 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 657 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, Comfortable, Great Staff, Good Value”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 7 nights in May, ‘14. It was an excellent base for exploring Nice and the Cote d’Azure. It is located on a quiet pedestrian street in a very nice section of the city, just steps away from Rue Medecin where there are many shops, restaurants, and a tram line. It is an easy walk to buses that go along the Promenade and to other towns along the coast, and just as easy to get to the train station (when we arrived at the airport we took the bus to the train station and walked with our luggage to the hotel). There are other hotels very close by that are at the same level or higher.

Our room (#507) was good sized and attractive, with a desk, mini-fridge, two built-in closets (one with a safe), one on either side of the comfortable double bed, two night-stands -- plenty of room for storage. The a.c. was quiet and effective. The included wifi was good but required repeated log-ins. The system may soon be upgraded. The bathroom had recently been refurbished and was fairly large with a shower. A shelf above the sink and also above the toilet provided good storage space.

The reception area was small but a there was a spacious lounge area on the floor above, and a pleasant breakfast room. The breakfast was excellent with a large selection of fruit, pastry, cereal, meat & cheese, yogurt, eggs that you could boil yourself, and a very good self-serve coffee machine.

A very positive feature of staying at the Grande Florence for us with the extraordinarily friendly and helpful staff. Several different clerks helped us with restaurant recommendations and reservations, directions to attractions, and in general were very welcoming. This helped make our stay very pleasant.

We highly recommend the Florence. It is a pleasant, well-run hotel that provides excellent value and a comfort.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NaMakani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    303
    63
    21
    9
See reviews for
115
295
51
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in April 2014. Nice hotel and friendly staff. Room was a little on the small side, but this is what we were expecting. Major plus is the great location. Walking distance to city centre and numerous restaurants and bars. Also, easy access to railway station enabling travel to Monaco, Cannes etc.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank spacehoppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We were very pleased with our stay at the Grand Hotel Florence. The room is very small (and my husband said it smelled bad during the night when the air con went off, though I didn't notice anything). However, the price is reasonable for Nice, the location is great - 5-10 min walk from the train station, 10 or so minutes to the beach, and very easy to find. We booked directly through their website and were rewarded with a gift of chocolates, biscuits and bottled water in our room, and half-price breakfast. The buffet breakfast is great, comfy bed and tiny but adequate bathroom. Great service too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccu167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, with a very frendly staff. Clean and confortable, do attend travelers needs for a city visit. Fine location, easy access to public transport. A Monoprix and a Shopping Mall just a half a block away.
Nice cost x benefit relationship.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Acboronat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STANFORD LE HOPE
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This Hotel came up in another web site and it was described as 3 star (whoever does the ratings wants to think again). It has all the trappings and service seen in 5 star accommodation. Perfectly situated to explore all that Nice has to offer. The staff at reception couldn't have been more helpful.Checking in and out and arranging transport was a pleasure and made our break perfect. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Will definitely try and book a room with balcony it would be the icing on the cake. We stayed for a short 3 night break but would loved to have stayed longer, next time maybe.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ianb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This hotel is great all round for 3 stars. Very close and easy to find from the train station, great location for shopping as it is very central, yet just off the main shopping street so you feel a little removed from the hustle and bustle. The staff are lovely, very friendly and greet you each time you pass the reception area. They speak a lot of languages and are a wealth of information regarding buses to catch and restaurant advice. The rooms were comfortable, a little dated, but certainly adequate, with the bathrooms having been recently renovated, (or so it looks), and very tasteful, clean and tidy. The breakfast was more than sufficient with breads, pastries, cereals, yoghurt, hams, cheeses, juices and tea and coffee, and if you book on their website they offer a reduced rate. There are plenty of places in close proximity if you decide not to include the breakfast too. There's a lovely Italian restaurant right next door too, which I ate at one of my nights. I wish I could have stayed longer in Nice and I would have no hesitation to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LicoriceLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed for 2 nights and couldn't have been happier with our choice. Location perfect for shopping, restaurants and train station. We got bus number 98 from airport to promenade anglaise then walked up. Probably recommend you get number 99 to train station then walk down to hotel. 6 euros each and takes about 20 minutes. Hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating, even printing out bus and train timetables for us. Our room was a twin ( number 107) and was very clean and quiet. Beds were very comfortable too! Train service to Monaco was fast and efficient, despite the ticket machines being a bit tricky to navigate! Would definitely recommend walking around old town, it's got some lovely restaurants and bars. Try the local 'Socca', very tasty!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hazel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Thiers / Train Station
Ibis Styles Nice Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Hotel Monsigny
#8 of 204 in Nice
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel le Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel le Florence

Property: Grand Hotel le Florence
Address: 3 rue Paul Deroulede, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Nice
#16 Family Hotel in Nice
#23 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#33 Business Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel le Florence 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richly restored traditional design retained by tasteful appointments - Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel le Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing