We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good hotel for shops restaurants and seafront walks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de la Fontaine
Ranked #6 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good hotel for shops restaurants and seafront walks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have stayed at this hotel 4 times.It's clean, quiet and central for exploring all of Nice. SNCF just 8mins. walk from hotel with very cheap rail travel to Menton,Monaco,Juan les Pins,Frejus and Grasse.The rooms are small but adequate and the beds are big and comfy.We did not like the cups provided for refreshments in the room they look like toothmugs and are plastic but the friendly receptionist gave us some china mugs when we asked.The air.con. worked.There was a lovely trattoria just out of hotel to right just 2 mins. walk which had very very good food, perfect for a meal after a long day exploring and wandering the massive network of streets and old areas of Nice.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kate g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    171
    39
    3
    5
See reviews for
50
190
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

The location of this hotel is excellent, within walking distance of everything you would want to see in Nice. The staff were polite and friendly, very helpfull. The hotel was clean and well cared for.
The room we were given looked out onto the hotel's little courtyard, set up with tables and chairs, breakfast was served here. We are not able to comment on the food as we didn't eat in the hotel.
The room was clean and well presented, towels changed as required, room cleaned daily.
We would not hesitate to use this hotel for all future visits to Nice

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

After a first night which was very uncomfortable (we were in room 32 - which was very hot) we transferred to another room overlooking the central courtyard - much better. The staff could not have been more helpful, making sure that all was OK, even to the extent that on the morning we were leaving the receptionist phoned the room to establish whether we needed breakfast - and this was after the end of the official breakfast time. The hotel was convenient for the Boulevard des Anglais - just about 150 yards away, with plenty of restaurants( with a variety of meals and prices) close at hand . Certainly an hotel which was very convenient for getting about and an added bonus, the bus from the airport stopped about 200 yards away! We would certainly use this hotel again should we be in the area.

Room Tip: Try for rooms facing the inner courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL DE LA FON... N, Responsable relations clients at Hotel de la Fontaine, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Joan & Victor,

Thanks for your stay with us in February during Nice carnival and your kind review.

We're pleased to know that you've enjoyed your stay with us.

We'll be very happy to welcome you again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, UK
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Well located hotel close to the promenade, beach and bus stop from the airport.

Nice early check in around 12.30 and we stayed 2 nights. Room 32 though was so warm, not so bad on the first evening, but I slelpt all night outside the quit. The second nite was too hot and we ended up having to open the window and sleep with that open all night, the street noise that brought in the early hours.
At 02.30 I went to get some water and explained to the night manager and he still charged €5 for 2 bottles of water, which I think was appalling service. We emntioned again oin check out the response was I am not the manager. Hey ho at least it was only 2 nights. There are other good hotels on the vicinity.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL DE LA FON... N, Responsable relations clients at Hotel de la Fontaine, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your recent stay with us from February 7th to 9th.
We're happy to know that you've appreciated the location of our hotel close to major tourist attractions. We were pleased to check-in as soon as you arrived and to keep your luggage a few hours after the check-out.

We regret that you found your room hot the second night. Please take notice that in February when the morning outside temperature is about 6°C, our system is set on a heating mode. When the outside temperature grows, we naturally switch the system on an air-conditioning mode. We assure that the air-conditioning, regularly controlled by technicians, works very well in spring -summer period.

In February when the heating is swiched off, our rooms temperature can't be high. Sorry that the night receptionnist didn't check that night that the heating in your room that night was switched off.

The rates for the drinks at the bar are clearly indicated. A little bottle of water costs 2.50 €.
By the way, the water in the room is potable and of a good quality.

We look forward to welcoming you again,
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Spent a nice weekend in this hotel. It is good value for monies. The location is just perfect and the room are all refurbished with modern style. It is a good spot to spent time in Nice

Abbiamo passato due notti all hotel che e posizionato in un ottima zona di Nizza. Il rapport qualita prezzo e ottimo e la camera sono pulite e tutte con un look modern e rifinito. Hotel altamente raccomandato

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Framat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL DE LA FON... N, Responsable relations clients at Hotel de la Fontaine, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thanks a lot for your kind review!
We're happy to know that you've enjoyed your stay with us! We do look forward to welcoming you again for your future Holiday in Nice!

Mille grazie del suo ricente soggiorno da noi!
Saremo felici di rivedervi!
Cordiali saluti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribeirao Preto, SP
Level Contributor
155 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed there in July 2011. People at the front desk were very friendly, room was spacious and clean and breakfast was very good. The best thing though was the location, one block from the beach and close to many restaurants, shops and attractions. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We only saw our room, it was nice (street view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maira C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL DE LA FON... N, Responsable relations clients at Hotel de la Fontaine, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thanks a lot for your kind review!
We do look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We had a very agreable stay. Location is just perfect, near the sea, at walking distance from just about any attraction in Nice. 150 euro per night for 3 people was really a nice price (we travelled there for New Year's Eve). Hotel is very clean and nicely decorated. Designer's choice of furniture and objects, the style and colours are beautiful. The staff of the hotel made everything possible for us to feel as comfortable and welcomed possible. Highly recommended hotel!

Room Tip: rooms facing the patio are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YCW_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#13 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#10 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Fontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Fontaine

Property: Hotel de la Fontaine
Address: 49 rue de France, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#9 Family Hotel in Nice
#39 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Fontaine 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the city center at only 50 meters from the famous Promenade Des Anglais & the sea and at 100 meters from the pedestrian street, Hotel de La Fontaine offers you an easy access to the sea and an ideal opportunity to explore the attractions of the old town and other tourist attractions (restaurants, shops, beaches, and casinos...). All our 29 rooms are fully refurbished having their own individual design and color. The rooms are equipped with individual air-conditioning control system, anti-allergy flooring, blankets and pillows, UPVC double glazed windows, LCD screens with satellite TV, hair dryer, security safe, direct-dial telephone, and a tower corner with coffee table. Also, the free WIFI internet connection is available in each room. All our rooms are no-smoking. You will certainly enjoy our delicious buffet breakfast in the patio near the fountain or to take a drink from our bar after a day of shopping, sightseeing or just sunbathing (having the beach at only a few steps away!). Parking if needed, Massena Museum parking & Palais de la Mediterranee,both very close to our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de la Fontaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Fontaine Nice
De La Fontaine Hotel
Hotel Fontaine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing