We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bearable”
Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Felix
Ranked #178 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Extremely convenient location; very pleasant staff; appalling room even by low standards of French hotels

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Bloomfield154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Anke T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Location!Location!Location!
The location is super great for visitors. Very close to the beach.
Just on the very busy street, rue Massena, so it's easy to get food and those luxury stores.
Besides, it's with free wifi access, which is convenient for travelers!
Really a good choice for budget travelers!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chien-Lin_Chen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We only booked this hotel because it was the only one that could offer a room for 2 adults/2 kids in the city. What a mistake! This place is run-down. The room was smelly, dirty and to top it off the A/C had a big leak into the room that required us putting a bucket and emptying it regularly, or risk having a swiming pool in the room. We notified them but they didn't fix it during our stay, they just gave a bucket and towels. The location is decent, a couple blocks fromt the beach, with pleanty of restaurants nearby. It gets a second star because at least the window was good enough to block the noise from the street.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimwipes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An EasyToBook.com traveler
Nice
2
Reviewed 21 August 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Good location (closed to the city center, a lot of restaurands and shops near), discount to the Blue beach. Free ambrela and mat (if you prefer free beach). Helpfull personal. Recomend for not too choosey guests)))

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vafaevna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My friends and I recently stayed at the Hotel Felix for four nights.

We arrived at about 10am, but the staff were happy to let us leave our bags in the breakfast room (and get changed in the laundry room!) until check in at 2pm. We returned at about 1:45pm and the same receptionist we had seen a few hours ago couldn't remember who we were. She wasn't sure about the room, so she called it, and the previous guests were still there, despite check out being 11am. Whilst she seemed apologetic to them for having disturbed them, she was less so to us, and said she just forgot they were there and told us to come back later. When we came back a couple of hours later, she again seemed a bit hazy on who we were. Anyway, we were finally allowed to go to our room (10) at around 4pm.

The room was ok. A plus point was the bathroom with power shower. The room wasn't that clean - maybe due to the mix up at check in, the cleaner just did a hurried job. The floor hadn't been swept, so we ended up trailing the previous guests' hair/ dirt into the bed. The cover sheet was stained, but it was so warm that we didn't use it anyway. Air con was good until the third night when it started making intermittent loud clicking. So it was a choice of being cool but woken up every 30 minutes, or having a hot but quiet room. There was a kettle with coffee, tea and sugar.

On the second day of our trip, my friend unfortunately had her bag stolen which contained the hotel key. Mixed reactions from the hotel staff - we had p***ed off looks and eye rolling, but the manager assured us that he would have the locks changed asap (the keyring has the hotel name and room number on it, so we were worried that the thieves would try their luck and come to the room - fairly easy since the reception is always unattended). He said he would call someone out and the overall price would be 60 euros, but he came up around 20 minutes later and replaced the lock with a spare he already had. We were still charged 60 euros.

Overall we were happy with the stay. For the price, the room was ok and as the location is so good, that you don't really spend much time in it anyway. It's a bit of a trek staying on the third floor, as there's no lift and the staircase is a bit narrow and wobbly.The staff were friendly enough and happy to let you store baggage, provide extra towels and sheets.

My friends and I were on a bit of a budget holiday, so this hotel suited us fine. I would also recommend it for solo travellers. However, if you're going on a couple's holiday, I would suggest perhaps paying a bit extra and going for a different hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter, and there's no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thisgirl_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Suede
Hotel Suede
#61 of 204 in Nice
522 reviews
Centre
Hotel H33
Hotel H33
#159 of 204 in Nice
197 reviews
Centre
Hotel Acanthe
Hotel Acanthe
#150 of 204 in Nice
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Wilson
Hotel Wilson
#113 of 204 in Nice
247 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Le Meurice
Le Meurice
#76 of 204 in Nice
106 reviews
Hotel de la Fontaine
#6 of 204 in Nice
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Address: 41 rue Massena, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range: £38 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Felix 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing