We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depositum!! Warning!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Velo Bleu Bike

Velo Bleu Bike
Ranked #55 of 68 Outdoor Activities in Nice
Attraction details
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Depositum!! Warning!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Rented two bikes. Depositum of 150 euros per bike (300 euros in total). This was five days ago. They have withdraw depositum and 4 euros for use, but not returned my 300 euros! Will never use them again. I call it theft as they sit on my money and I don't know when they will be back. Holliday is over in 2 days, so I don't think I will see MY MONEY before we leave :-( Tip:Stay away from this service!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Eirik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    36
    31
    31
    57
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Persevere !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

To register with this bike vending system call the number on any velo bleu station. There is an option to do it all in English

Once you've registered itis very easy to use. The interface language on the bike vending terminal can be changed to English

You will need a credit card (initially) and a mobile phone each time you rent a bike.

Most bikes were in good condition about 1 in 10 were duds.

Give it a try

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank N_Traveller_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cheap fun and practical”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely way to see the city and free to use if you keep your time under 30 minutes.

It always pays to spend a little time checking the bike before you take it away as some can be a little old and you want to get a good one.

The initial registration is a pain if your French isn't great but once that's done, it's easy to reactivate your account.

James Rainbow

Helpful?
1 Thank JamesRainbow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Freedom for free”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Let's you get around in Nice cheap and pretty easy.

Price: The bikes are free to use if you don't have them for more than 1/2 hour (and you can always just return it only to reborrow it a seond later to reset the timer).

Ease of use: I've used my phone to unlock bikes, which doesn't cost anything because the call is cacelled, all it checks is the callers phone number. It's a little bit of a hassle to dial different 13 digit numbers every time, but for the price it's soemthing I can live with! I know you can also get a card to unlock it, so you might want to check that out.

Setting up: You need to register your phonenumber and a credit card (at least the way I did it) by making a call. The call took me exaclty 2 minutes and 1 second (automatic, guided in English), so it's pretty simple once you figure out what to do. (Ask someone to help you if you can't read French, the English manual was a bit confusing imo). There is a credit card registration so that 150 € can be withdrawn IF you don't return the bike for 24 hours, so just make sure to do that and you're good.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ArneHugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Great idea but poorly implemented”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Nice is a great place to cycle The Promenade des Anglais is long and wide and the city even has some cycle lanes now :)

However the Vélo Bleu system is already showing signs of fatigue and is generally badly implemented.

Before you can do anything, you need to register however the website is in French. I found it relatively easy to navigate and sign-up but I would imagine it would put off most straight away. I'm not sure if you can register over the telephone. When you sign-up your store your mobile phone number and card details.

Then it comes to getting a bike. Quality was generally poor. The first day I used it the first bike I chose was in good condition but the second day I had to hire and return three bikes before getting one that was acceptable (although second gear didn't work on that one!) Many other bikes were showing serious signs of wear and tear.

The hiring stations do offer French, English and Italian and when you understand how they work it's relatively simple (although very slow).

All the faff aside, when you do get a bike it's great fun and really enjoyable.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank simonp820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Velo Bleu Bike also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Velo Bleu Bike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing