We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay away” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Eden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Eden
Ranked #159 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Tillsonburg, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Stay away”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2007

Friendly, helpful staff, great location, great views, BUT the lobby is dirty and uncared for: dirty dishes on the patio tables for the 24 hours we were there, cob webs full of dead flies in the light fixtures,....and our room, (room 8): no hot water, rotting baseboards, 1 foot squares of peeling paint on the walls and over our heads as we laid in bed, mildew in the shower, large pieces of peeling wallpaper, dirty and water stained indoor/outdoor carpet and no hair dryer although they told me they did. We had reserved for 2 nights, but after one night, we couldn't wait to get out!! We're not picky, but this place was nasty.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — dirty, uncared for
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nani54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    21
    12
    12
    8
See reviews for
17
21
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Wa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2007

I left a very valuable necklace in my room when I checked out. When I called the staff and was frantic they said they found it and it would be at the front desk! Talk about happy. For that alone I will give Villa Eden a great review. The best room is the one with the view of the water. Room 205 was large but the place needs a bit of an overhaul and some new paint but for the money and the location it is perfect. The bathroom was clean and it was a great shower, and the beds were clean and comfortable too. The place must have been grand in its day with its high ceilings and large windows. If you are not into steps you may wish to think about another location with a lift but it wasn’t too bad. I would have liked a history lesson on the Russian Countess who lived there but it was a neat experience just thinking about it. It was perfect getting up in the morning and walking across the street and either go running or swimming. The hotel is right on the bus line, which will take you to the airport or into town. Also, there is a Taxi stand right around the corner and the casinos are about six blocks down the street. A nice walk and you will pass many choices of brasseries to stop and get a bite to eat or something to drink. I really did enjoy my stay and will go back again!

  • Liked — the location and the price along with the friendly staff
  • Disliked — needs a little paint.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank G8life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2006

Nice little hotel overlooking the boardwalk and sea.

Very friendly and helpful staff. Not a bad hotel for the money.

But not for everybody. I've stayed in cleaner and nicer hotels, but this hotel was only 74 euros a night plus breakfast. If you want luxury, this is not your place to stay.

The carpets and rooms are a bit worn. Bath is small. Slight smell in hallways. But great views of the sea from windows.

Again a very friendly staff, if you are looking to save money, and need a place just to sleep while off seeing the sites by day this might be for you.

  • Liked — Staff, location.
  • Disliked — Age and wear and tear on rooms.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank D10S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2004

Yuck. We stayed in September, 2004. We had two rooms, not the ones facing the ocean. The word is: get the top floor ocean-facing room, or don't go at all. There were odd odors, the bathrooms were too small to avoid getting everything wet when showering, toilets cheap cheap cheap, I felt uncomfortable showering and walking on the carpet w/out shoes. The air conditioner worked and it is right across from the beach but be advised that Nice is noisy and huge. I would opt for Menton next time, I have been there twice and had a great time. Good luck!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nice hotels

San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2004

I visited the hotel once again October 2003 and was pleased with the service then. The workers were terrific and we had another great stay. However, in the year since then it seems the service and quality of the hotel isn't up to those standards any more. I referred some friends to the hotel - and being used to staying in hostels - didn't get good service nor were their rooms comfortable. It seems the management is changed (or is completely lacking)...meaning the owner may be skimping on essentials.
I will not be staying there because I don't want my recent good memories tarnished which is a shame because the hotel is (was) so cool. It was once the home of a Russian Baroness if my history serves me correct. The receptionists were always nice and even let me borrow their computer last time - I felt like I worked there. They had the nicest lady who was the most warm and welcoming person...and really a hoot to talk to. Alas, she is no longer there. I remember the staff bending over backwards for us each time and we are not demanding, glamorous travelers either.
My advice is to maybe look into it, but try this site for other alternatives in Nice. We are full-on American travelers so I don't think my friends were singled out and treated rudely for simply being Americans. I just don't know what happened to my once favorite hotel. It must be the ownership...problems always start at the top. I'll keep you updated if I hear any more.
Happy travels in the meantime!

Helpful?
4 Thank wago70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2004

I stayed at this Hotel Villa Eden abt 2 years ago as I had read so much about it in travel guides and on the net. However, I was a little disappointed at it's shabbiness and antiqe-y old furniture given the fact that I had paid a premium for the room over other budget hotels. To top it all off, I was burgled in the middle of the night and my room was on the 2nd floor!! If you like their rustic style and decide to stay there anyway, please make sure you keep the balcony doors locked!

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2003

I have been to Hotel Villa Eden twice now: in October of 1999 and October of 2001 - and have loved both times. The gentleman that works the front desk is friendly and out-going (great sense of humor). The rooms have that shabby-chic thing happening and some rooms have a great view. The old decor just rocks my boat! It is nice and quiet and the place is just overall very comfortable. Yes, this will be the hotel I stay in this October (2003) as well. There is a laundromat around the corner and a crosswalk right in front to get to the beach. Have breakfast right on the front porch, relax and enjoy your day. Nice is a wonderful city - clean, safe and very relaxed.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
0.0 mi away
Flots d'Azur
Flots d'Azur
#86 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Magnan
Hotel Magnan
#127 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#173 of 204 in Nice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Nice Californie Lenval
0.5 mi away
Adagio Nice Promenade Des Anglais
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Royal
Hotel Le Royal
#124 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Eden

Property: Hotel Villa Eden
Address: 99 B Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa Eden 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
hôtel Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing