We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Evening”
Review of Le Vingt4

Le Vingt4
Reserve with
Le Vingt4 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 1,948 Restaurants in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$27 - US$34
Cuisines: French, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Very nice Wine Bar / Restaurant - Come & Try a wine bar designed by a woman - Closed on Sunday all day and Monday evening Only - A brand new concept in NICE .
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My wife and I had a really enjoyable evening at this restaurant, we were warmly welcomed by Eric 'The wine taster' and his good lady Michelle 'The Boss', the menu was explained to us in full, they spoke good English better than our French so no language problems, do not be in a rush as each dish is freshly prepared and cooked, if you go through the courses you will most likely to be there for the whole evening, relax and enjoy. If you have a passion for wines this is the place to try different ones, you can ask to sample, or be advised on wine pairing with your meal, the wine list is quite extensive and reasonably priced by the glass or bottle, we chose the hot camembert starter followed by the Turbot as the main and for the sweet the Chocolate Fondant, all beautifully presented and tasted fantastic, ending the evening with coffee and a Brandy which came from Eric's selection. Lively busy place with a good atmosphere, recommended, with prior booking advised, we will certainly be making a return visit on our next visit to Nice this coming September.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank givenupwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric D, Propriétaire at Le Vingt4, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dears ,
You are totally right : For us a restaurant is a relaxing place where you come to enjoy food & ambiance without any external pressure , not a race to win in a minimum of time !
We are focused on the well beeing of our guests : we are not doing 2 seatings , you test your wine before buying also by the glass , we explain you in détails our menu & all the ingrédients Inside , we give you 2 wine propositions by the glass for each plate , we are cooking all our plates "à la minute" and propose to change an ingredient if necessary , ...
We are impatient to see you back in September : we have new wines to test with you .
All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,439)
There are newer reviews for Le Vingt4
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 251 of 1,439 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

The manager made a good introduction to the food and wine. We had one glass of wine with our main and were never asked if we wanted another. After ordering our sweet nothing arrived after 40 mins. Our order had been forgoten and no apology was offered. The manager spent most of the evening drinking with his friends while chaos was going in and outside with customers getting no service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Erik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric D, Propriétaire at Le Vingt4, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Erik ,
What a nightmare ... lost alone in a vast dinning room of 60 square meters with 4 waiters taking care of less than 40 guests and ignoring you :)
More seriously for our TA members : We make a point of honor to answer personnaly to all our reviews on TA , how can you imagine that we will not apologize for a such mistake during the service ? All our team members are passing continually through the tables to ask if everything is ok and our previous reviews ( more than 700 ) are confirming this particular point .
We are not perfect for sure ( and sometime I take few minutes with my other guests sorry Erik ) ... but we are JUST a small bistrot not a gastronomic restaurant with 2 waiters for each Customer !
After reading you other review ( only one ) on TA I understand that your quality standard is more close to 3 michelin stars than to a bistrot like us , So I will suggest you next time to visit our website before coming : You will avoid such deception .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I was happy to visit this really amazing place with friendly staff and delicious food. It's small but make you feel like home ) Someone could say "packed", but I say "warm and live place" )) If you'll be lucky owner will pour you a glass of extraordinary drink from his amazing collection (yep, after drinking one of them, just a glass, I already ordered 3 bottles on whiskyexchange, and it's really rare thing ;) About food: menu choice is not very big, but all what I've ordered was perfect. I could recommend a lamb with gratan (family secret :), panacotta (italians must learn here how to do it:). And yes, wine pairing was perfect, thanks again to owner, he has a really good taste!

Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric D, Propriétaire at Le Vingt4, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Alex ,
Fore sure we are a wine bar with more than 50 wines available by the glass but we have also a nice small collection of exceptional Rhums , Gins & Brandy : We try to choose only the best references for each range , not always the most expensives ones .
We try daily to share our passion for life with our guests .
We hope to see you back soon
All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Vingt 4 is designer modern and compact, maybe book ahead, it gets busy. The menu is not extensive and is explained in flamboyant detail by the waiter, in English if needed! Menu choices are limited but feature interesting dishes. The food is very good and well presented.
There is an outside dining/drinking area under cover.
Overall prices higher than average, but it does not disappoint.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric D, Propriétaire at Le Vingt4, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear David ,
Our menu is short but made only with seasonal & fresh products . Our Menu is changing each 2 months following the season's .
We are very proud of our funishers and our raw products are coming only from the best ones in town.
We hope to see you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We went to this restaurant after reading reviews on tripadvisor. It did not disappoint. The menu was explained in detail. We felt welcome and felt our business was appreciated. The food was delicious. Felt detoxed after dining here! Highly recommend it!

1  Thank Rochm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric D, Propriétaire at Le Vingt4, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thanks for taking on your time to leave your review to TA community .
We are fighting each day to maintain a just rate between quality and price and your support is much more than welcome !
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Vingt4 also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Vingt4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing