We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet place”

Monastere de Cimiez
Book In Advance
More Info
US$516.82*
and up
Private Half-Day Tour of Nice and Surroundings from Cannes
Ranked #12 of 222 things to do in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Nice, France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice quiet place”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Worth a stop by if you are going to the Matisse Museum. Has some nice public gardens for a walk and some decent views and ruins

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Morty88837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    196
    47
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
184 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Pretty place next to Matisse Museum”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

If you go to the Matisse Museum, this is adjacent to it. It is simply a pretty flower garden that has excellent views over Nice. It's a nice respite from toursity attractions.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank NJB1165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Peaceful afternoon”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I give this site a 5 because it is not only beautiful, peaceful and free, it is also located next to a lovely park, Roman ruins, archaeological museum, and the Matisse Museum. We walked from our hotel located in the Cimiez neighborhood. If you are staying down the hill near the water I would suggest to take a bus, scooter, or car. We visited the monastary after having been to the Roman amphitheatre, Matisse Museum and park earlier in the day. The church is very pretty, a bit on the small side. The gardens are beautiful with a great view of Nice and a cool breeze blowing. Overall, a nice outing if you want to escape the crowds, noise and heat of the beach and old/new town. Bring a baguette and cheese for an impromptou picnic in the nearby park or garden.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MiaCecilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horndean, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful peaceful place”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This was our second visit and we chose to visit the gardens which were beautifully laid out and offered lovely views over Nice and out to the Med. We didn't visit the church this time but I recall it to be beautiful with some interesting paintings.

We also visited the archaeology and Matisse museums on this trip and took a brief look at the Hotel Regina where Matisse lived and died.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Nice park and cooler on a hot day.”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

There is a very pleasant park where the locals play boules, there are the ruins of a roman amplitheatre as well as the monastry and the Matisse museum - well worth the journey.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank solotravellerBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monastere de Cimiez also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Monastere de Cimiez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing