We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel!”
Review of AC Hotel Nice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AC Hotel Nice
Ranked #41 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel!”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Loved the hotel! The staff were so friendly and the location was great. Just off the main promenade, which is so worth it. The breakfast was really good!

The bed was on wheels, which so annoying. The room was not completely sound proof and we could hear the people in the room next door walking on the wooden floors, or their tv.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OceanGem08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B_BUSSCHER, General Manager at AC Hotel Nice, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear OceanGem08,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are very glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and really like the fact that you told us we are a 'lovely hotel'. Also thank you for the points of improvement, we are replacing all wheels of the beds for legs at the moment to avoid any issues in the future.

Do visit us again in the future and thank you for choosing Marriott!

Kind regards,
Benno Busscher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    251
    103
    30
    10
See reviews for
116
251
20
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

AC Hotel (a Marriot property previously known as the Elysee Palace) has both positives and drawbacks. First, the positives: the location was unbeatable....located one building off the ocean-front drive and steps from both the beach and the amazing store-fronts of Nice. We also thoroughly enjoyed the generous breakfast each morning. Our 10 and 13 year old children loved the beautiful roof-top pool that provided an amazing panoramic view of the city of Nice and the sea. Further, the entire hotel was modern and completely updated.

Drawbacks included slow restaurant service...and I do mean slow....beyond breakfast, do yourself a favor and go to one of the lovely local restaurants located a short stroll from the hotel. The other draw-back was the odd design of the bathroom. The glass bathroom door provided no privacy whatsoever (fine if a couple traveling, I suppose) and the shower floor design allowed water to slop over the side of the shower, leaving the bathroom floor soaking wet after each shower.

For the price, I expected more.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CBrumCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

I selected this hotel for our recent visit to Nice, specifically because it is a Marriott property. I was not disappointed. The room was very clean. The decor is contemporary and sleekly stylish. We had a room with a partial sea view and found the view to be quite lovely. The beds were comfortable with high quality linens. We did not use the hotel restaurant, as there were so many quaint and charming options within easy walking distance. The persons working at the front desk were all very helpful, courteous and professional. They assisted us with restaurant choices, reservations and transportation to the train station. One should be aware that the hotel is a good ways down the Promenade. It is still within walking distance of most Nice attractions (we walked from there to the contemporary art museum, for example, but it is a long walk. The upside is that it is very quiet in this area.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Nasizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed here for one night so that we could easily catch our flight back to Paris from the Nice airport.

Staff - 4 stars: The man working the front desk was polite and funny, which was very welcoming. Otherwise, not much interaction with staff.

Location - 3 stars: Close enough to the beach that you can walk to it easily (less than 5 minutes), but didn't find it nearby the really cool areas of Nice. Probably about a 20-30 minute walk to the beautiful downtown area.

Rooms - Room was just ok. Clean, but normal sized and the quality of the amenities within seemed cheap (e.g. the fake wood flooring was bubbled up in some areas). Bed was comfortable enough. Not a great view from my room, pretty much looked at another building. I'm Platinum with Marriott but as it's an AC Hotel they don't provide status upgrades (according the front desk), which was a bit disappointing.

Property - Modern decoration, but just seemed kind of cold, boring and stale. Hotel was pretty empty which played into that, but wasn't really wowed. Seemed kind of old.

Overall, it was a fine hotel for the purpose that we needed it for: Someplace closer to the Nice airport than Cannes (although not nearly as easy to get to using train/bus, had to walk a lot) to catch an early morning flight. Probably not someplace you're going to want to sit around in and bask all day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Modern hotel, but service is okay. I ordered a spaghetti and it took forever to deliver. It took them 45 minutes. My dad has to go downstair to pick it up. There are also no tissue paper in the hotel room. Wifi is only available in the lobby and not in the room.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherrysherry7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

As gold members of Marriott, and have stayed in other AC hotels when Marriott hotels were not available, we expected a certain level of treatment. That did not happen here. We are being nickel and dimed for everything. The room was not even equipped with the normal amentities, kleenex, etc. We chose this hotel for the location. Our mistake. We will walk a bit further for better treatment. Our 3 night stay will be 1 as we move to a Marriott further away just to be treated well for our loyalty.
To be fair, front desk was friendly. It is well appointed, if you like modern.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rositala1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Great hotel. Comfortable, clean, well looked after, 2 min away from beach, friendly staff. Shame pool was closed for renovations but to be fair we went in March so not really the right weather for it.

I would definitely recommend

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank iros9754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Le Meridien Nice
#73 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel West End
#54 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Nice

Property: AC Hotel Nice
Address: 59 Promenade des Anglais | Entree Rue Honoree Sauvan, 06005 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AC Hotel Nice is located on a quiet street a few steps from the Promenade des Anglais and the Baie des Anges. It features a panoramic terrace with a heated swimming pool and lounge chairs. Guest rooms at the AC Hotel Nice are equipped with wireless internet access and a minibar with 5 free soft drinks. Each is air-conditioned and features a flat-screen TV with satellite channels. Guests can relax in the hotel's Zen garden and enjoy the local art displayed throughout the hotel. The AC Hotel Nice offers several restaurants which serve regional, traditional French and American cuisine.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing