We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for old town”
Review of Hotel Suisse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Suisse
Ranked #7 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Great location for old town”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed 2 nights in this hotel. We had driven from Cannes to Nice but did not use the car in Nice. Ideally situated to visit the port, old town and main shopping area. Hotel is perfectly fine, the only small problem was that the free wifi was a bit hit and miss for connection. Helpful and informed staff. Take the bus to Monaco, only 1.5 euros and great views on the way.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19Graham68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    471
    126
    32
    25
See reviews for
133
767
62
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Suisse from 6-9 September 2013 prior to beginning an Avalon Waterways river cruise. The hotel is located at the far east end of the beach; convenient walking distance to both the older section of Nice and the Marina - both areas offering good options for dining and shopping. We stayed in a second floor room, #26 - (Third floor by U.S. standards.) The room was very small and oddly shaped, but adequate for our use and the bathroom was comparatively large. It was clean and comfortable. The best feature was our private balcony, offering a great view of the entire waterfront all the way to the airport. Some rooms on this floor may have their view blocked by trees, so higher floors are a "safer' option. While the hotel is located right on the street, with the balcony doors closed, we were not disturbed by local traffic. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldsmgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The view from the bedrooms across the whole of the Promenade des Anglais is amazing. The location, close to the Old Town, is ideal. The service was excellent at all times. Good choice for a short stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmb_aug2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Courteous Staff, excellent location, fantastic view, comfortable room --- all you can ask for. The location, close to Old Town and the beach makes it ideal. It is close to excellent restaurants and easy walking distance to great shopping.

Room Tip: Ask for the ocean view - it is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Suisse from Aug 31 to Sept 3rd. I was in room 16. I read that the view was not that great from the first floor but I loved it! I was happy I was not higher up. When I arrived the man at the front desk was very nice and helpful. I checked in at 1:00pm and my room was ready. I was pleasantly surprised at the size of my room. I thought it was large for European rooms.THe bathroom was nice and roomy. I loved the balcony and sat on it every morning and evening. The room had two good size closets and a safe that would fit a laptop and still have plenty of room.
I loved the location with the stairs and elevator up Castle Hill right next to the entrance of the hotel. It was a nice close walk to the port area too. Old town was a very short walk and I had most meals in old town.
I took bus 98 from and to the airport. It is about a 10-15 minute walk to the bus stop. The bus stop going back to the airport is not the same as the one you were dropped off at. It is a block farther down the street by McDonalds.
I am planning on staying at this hotel next year year as well.

Room Tip: You really need to spend the extra money and get a room facing the sea with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aspen37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Beautiful old hotel in an unbeatable location. The beach views and sunsets are amazing. I am a very light sleeper and our room was on the third floor. There were times the traffic noise could be heard but it wasn't anything that would make me not recommend the hotel. It is just something to keep in mind. Asking for a room on a higher floor would probably make a huge difference. A nice short stroll to many nice restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

You are definitely paying for the view - but how that view lingers in your mind! The room itself was nothing special, but well appointed, with a coffee machine and nice toiletries, all replenished daily, and whilst small, it wasn't the smallest room we had on our French holiday. If you are going to be paying for this location to start with, it would be worth making sure you had a balcony, even if it meant paying a little extra. It is a great place to sit and watch the Beach come alive in the morning and relax with a glass of wine and watch the sunset at the end of a busy day. Keep in mind the balcony's are generally very small, (some were larger) there was enough room for 2 chairs and a small table - all you need.
The reception service was a bit 'mixed' but generally helpful, but the elevator does have a habit of breaking down at check out time - however there is help available to bring luggage down. It is not a very big hotel, and for its age and location, butted up against the cliff - not surprising the lift is so small - but hey, you are on holiday, so what if it takes a couple of trips up the lift to get people and bags to the room? The Hotel has a 'relaxed' feel about it - not fancy at all - but appropriate for its location by the sea.
It is only about a 5 minute walk to the market on Cours Saleya, and the Old Town, where there are plenty of restaurants and cafes. In the other direction It is a pleasant walk around to the Port, where the closest bus stop to Villefranche/ Monaco/Eze etc is located - however sometimes it is worth walking a little further to Segurane, where the bus journey originates, in order to secure a seat, and even space on the bus. The Hotel location is not so convenient for the train - upon arrival we got the Tram from near the train station to Cathedral, and then got lost meandering around the streets of old town - would have been easier to find our way on the way back, when we were more familiar with the layout, but decided to simplify things and get a cab.
I would recommend this hotel for a memorable stay in Nice, as long as you accept the rooms and hotel are nothing extra special, but it's the whole package with it's location and outlook that take it to another level.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markandsue-84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Negresco
#18 of 204 in Nice
2,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suisse

Property: Hotel Suisse
Address: 15 quai Rauba Capeu | Promenade des Anglais, 06300 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#28 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Suisse 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Suisse is ideally situated between sea and sky. Constructed along Italian-style architectural lines, it enjoys a unique location. For a stay in Nice on the French Riviera, enjoy the comfort of the various rooms and their stunning panorama. With their clean, stylish lines, the suite and the rooms ensure comfort and well-being and offer a breathtaking view of the Baie des Anges. First thing in the morning, enjoy a full buffet breakfast in our lounge. In some rooms you will be able to enjoy it on the terrace. Then, you'll be able to head out to the beach, which is only a few metres' walk away (preferential conditions on the private beach of our partner). Just minutes from the city centre, the hotel allows you to easily explore the charms of the historic centre of Nice or the port. Upon your return, share a moment of conviviality in the bar as you sip the cocktail of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Odigeo, ACCOR, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Suisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suisse Hotel Nice
Hotel Suisse Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing