We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, great location”
Review of Hotel Suisse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Suisse
Ranked #8 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, great location”
Reviewed 10 June 2009

We just spent two nights at the Hotel Suisse in Nice with our 13 year old son.We were very satisfied with the visit. We stayed in a mini suite, room 42, fourth floor facing the Mediterranean. The location was perfect -- near harbor and near all cour Saleya. I really can't think of a better location for a tourist visiting Nice. The view of the sea from the hotel was nothing short of spectacular We had originally booked a standard double on line, thinking (our mistake) that we could get a roll-away for our son. We arrived at the hotel to be told that the room was too small for our son to share the room with us.We momentarily panicked. But tThe hotel staff quickly helped us come up with the solution of taking the available suite instead. We did pay significantly more for the suite (230 euros per night). But for a splurge, and as a way of remedying my own mistake, it was well worht it. The suite would be perfect for a family of four and felt huge for the three of us. We had two wonderful balconies, loads of space and closests, a separate bedroom for our son, and a huge bathroom with a jacuzi tub. The modern decor was very tastefully done and the room was spotlessly clean. The staff were all pleasant and professional. (Although it is not the warm and friendly mom and pop hotel we are used to staying in.). We didn't take the breakfast to save money and since it was more fun to go to the cafes along the nearby court saleya. The hotel had free internet in the lobby, but not in the room. I would certainly recommend the room 42 suite or one of the regular double rooms with a sea view. These rooms may be a little small, but they will be clean, well decorated and have great views with a balcony. I might think twice about a room on the first floor -- here the street noise might be a little loud and the view not as spectacular. But anything from the second floor up should be great. We'll come again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jemjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    467
    126
    30
    25
See reviews for
131
758
62
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SHREWSBURY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

Didnt know what to expect really after reading all the other reviews but we wanted a balcony with a view so went for The Suisse.

It definitely delivers with the view but the balcony was a bit small and way too public to really spend much time on. The steps for the castle are right next to the hotel and you are at eye level with people who are going up or down them.

The bathroom was exceptionally clean, which scores points for me, but the cover on the bed had some very noticable stains and should have been replaced (sheets were very clean though).

I found the staff to be very pleasant but didnt deal with them other than checking on and out. As mentioned before the hotel does have free Wi-Fi but no PC so unless you have your own you need to go to an internet cafe and pay.

Our room (11) was on the first floor and was too noisy to sleep with the window open and as it was also at the top of the first flight of (marble) stairs we were woken every time someone came in (we did sleep very well in between though)

All in all, I would stay there again but would definitely ask for a different room and I do think it is a little expensive as it doesnt really deliver all that I was hoping for at that price (178 euros per night for a superior room)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FINSBURY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holte, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

This hotel is a basic three star hotel. One old lift. Only breakfast. Roomservice only at daytime. Minibar. Smal standard rooms. Pretty modern and basic design inside. Nothing jaw-dropping. But three things make i a perfect place for a holiday in Nice:

1. The location. All rooms at the front of the hotel has a magnificent view over the city, tha bay and the airport some ten miles away - not to mention the mountains.

2. The staff is friendly, polite and efficient.

3. The balance between price (we paid EUR 158 per night) and quality/location/view is excellent

Not quiet - but with the aircon on and the doors closed you'll sleep well :-)

Go there!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supertraveller_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2009

Great location! Best view in Nice.
The room was lovely, light and airy. We had a little balcony that looked over the beach and Nice town - magical view at sunset.
The staff were friendly and made us feel welcome. 100% I would stay at Hotel Suisse again.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chippy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GREECE
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2009

The hotel has the best location and the best view in Nice!!! It is at the end of Promenade des Anglais and overlooking that street with walking distance (3' minutes) from the old town (just to mention that the old town is the best part of the city, with lots of restaurants and bar). All other hotels (even the 5 star) dont' have that view and location. I didn't find it noisy neither did my husband. We got a double room with sea view and breakfast at the price of 115 euros, which is a bargain comparing other Nice hotels. The decoration is OK and so is the cleanliness. You should expect the standard of 3+ star hotel, not nothing more. But if you pay that rate per night and all that you want from a hotel is a nice place to sleep with excellent location, Suisse hotel is what you are looking for.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIRTALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2009

The hotel is in a great location near to the market place and restaurants, cafes etc of the old town just 1 minute walk. Also of course right opposite the sea and the (stone) beach. From the airport take the airport bus, get off at the stop when the bus turns right off of the promenade, and then walk up the promenade to the end - easy 10-15 min walk. The room we had was nicely decorated, but small. It did have a lovely view but the hotel is on the corner of a busy junction which was never quiet, so wouldn't suit light sleepers. Our room was a funny layout too, but I'm sure the other rooms were better, typically I think we got the worst, which was still fine. The steps up to the bastion are right next to the hotel, and definitely worth taking a walk up there.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2009

Hotel Suisse is right along the main promenade, which makes it a great location to explore the old town and beach, as well as get the best views in Nice. It also makes it busy and loud during all hours of the night. Because it is right off the main street there is no hotel parking, however there is a parking lot about a 5-10 minute walk away that will cost you about 20-30 euro per day. The rooms do not have their own temperature control, so I would imagine that during the hot summer months this would be a major problem (especially since you can't leave your window/door open due to the noise). I probably would not go back to Hotel Suisse, but instead find a different hotel that is relatively near that location.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SLCUTTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Negresco
#17 of 204 in Nice
2,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suisse

Property: Hotel Suisse
Address: 15 quai Rauba Capeu | Promenade des Anglais, 06300 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#28 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Suisse 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Suisse is ideally situated between sea and sky. Constructed along Italian-style architectural lines, it enjoys a unique location. For a stay in Nice on the French Riviera, enjoy the comfort of the various rooms and their stunning panorama. With their clean, stylish lines, the suite and the rooms ensure comfort and well-being and offer a breathtaking view of the Baie des Anges. First thing in the morning, enjoy a full buffet breakfast in our lounge. In some rooms you will be able to enjoy it on the terrace. Then, you'll be able to head out to the beach, which is only a few metres' walk away (preferential conditions on the private beach of our partner). Just minutes from the city centre, the hotel allows you to easily explore the charms of the historic centre of Nice or the port. Upon your return, share a moment of conviviality in the bar as you sip the cocktail of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Suisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suisse Hotel Nice
Hotel Suisse Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing