We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Suisse
Nearby Hotels
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$393
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$293
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$310
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$280
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$310
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$330
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Ascend Collection
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,316)
Filter reviews
1,316 results
Traveller rating
609
510
134
36
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
609
510
134
36
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold townprivilege roombaie des angescastle hillcours saleyasea viewfloor roomperfect locationsmall balconyfrench doorsfifth floorport areaflower marketloved this hotelloved nicesuperior roomwonderful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
844 - 849 of 1,316 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2009

We stayed 2 nights in Hotel Suisse in this July. The location is picture perfect, staff is friendly. If you are on a leisure trip for a night or two in nice then you should look at the cost and stay in this hotel. It worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khalid_Nadeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

stayed five nights and enjoyed our stay immensly, had a room on the 5th floor and the views over Nice old town and the promenade were fantastic, constantly changing and with the balcony it was the perfect spot to watch the sun go down, room was quite small but very clean and the bathroom better than good., would recommend this hotel and definetly go back again it was close to the daily markets and variety of resturants ( 5 mins ) the nearby private beach...Castel... again was the best for views and was only across the road from the hotel, with the window open there was road noise but the double glazing was very effective and we slept very well

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ca62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

I have just returned from a 2 night stay at this Hotel. Booked as all reviews were good. Best thing was the view and the balcony. Other than that disappointing. No air conditioning and as its on the main road with the doors open, very noisy at night. Staff I felt were not that helpful and during our stay there was a problem with water pressure. Bedroom was small, although adequate for our stay. If you are just looking for a place to sleep and not much else then the Hotel is suitable. Location to the Old Town and markets is a definite plus point.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunsearcher22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

We've got a policy that when we travel, we like to see the water from the room. Since we live in Manhattan, and haven't yet achieved the penthouse on the Hudson, it's a rare opportunity. Searching through the hotel options in Nice, and Viola!, a reasonably priced hotel on the med with terraces in almost all rooms. Yea. Yet, usage of the terrace are pretty limited. Breakfast delivered to the room are only continental (and coffee is pretty bleak, I must say). We're fans of real breakfasts with eggs and bacon, etc, so we don't know what to do with our protein fix in the mornings! If you go downstairs, you can get the identical breakfast, but you can also boil your own eggs (all for only 14 euros each). Problem solved. We'll just go downstairs and boil a couple of eggs, bring them up to the room and deal with the crap coffee and pastries. I inquired at the front desk in advance of said endeavor and, no, you can't bring eggs up to the room. We contemplated sneaking them up, but I'm an executive and an investment company. Who wants to be caught like an errant child sneaking eggs up to the room?????

Let this be illustrative of the service ethic at the Hotel Suisse! Their objective is to enforce arbitrary rules set by management, not to ensure that guests are well taken care of. This may be a star based rule in France, 3 stars or below and guests are there to serve the staff's needs, and abide by hotel rules, and no decent breakfasts.

Even though the Hotel is on the Beach, they don't have a private space on the beach affiliated with the hotel. They have an arrangement with the Opera Beach about 3/4 mile down the promenade. You can get in for 12 euro each (savings of 1 euro!). I asked if they had beach towels at the Hotel that we could use for the Public Beach. Can you guess the answer? So, we went over to the Beach Opera (we needed the umbrellas anyway). Paid the 12 euro each and, guess what, no towels included? They did have some small, sordid towels that you could rent for 4 euro each. As we moved to our chairs we were informed no food or drink could be brought in (including water). Excellent. After we ordered our two small waters for 4 euro each, we laid our our dinky over washed towels and, and after only 40 euro (57 bucks) we were ready to luxuriate in the Cote d'azur!

Shortly after we laid down I went to adjust the umbrella so that we could be in the shade, and was promptly scolded by a server. New rule (new for us), no adjusting (leaning) umbrellas. Not allowed. Brilliant.

And so it goes. My message early in during the trip on this site was going to be: Why go at all? Later, however, after traveling to several small villages where we found very friendly people and very romatic spots, our conclusion was that lodging on the beach in Nice just wasn't so smart. Rent a car and stay in smaller, more remote locations. if you want the superior beach experience described above, drive to Nice. You'll be so much happier, we think.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Felipe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Recommended for the great view at a reasonable price!

We originally wanted to stay at La Perouse, but our hopes were quickly dashed when we looked at the prices. Luckily, we had heard about Hotel Suisse via Trip Advisor and we were able to get a Sea View Balcony room. (nearly identical view as La Perouse -the hotels nearly share the same footprint - for a portion of the price)

Our view was oustanding and we loved hanging out on the balcony and overlooking the busy street scene below. The room itself was basic but fit our needs. The location was extremely convenient to old Nice.

One word of caution- stay here for the view - not the service. When we arrived, we were offered no assistance with our luggage whatsovever. We dragged it in from the 15-minute parking spot in front of the hotel up some stairs to the lobby and placed it into a corner by the front desk while moving our car to the paid parking garage a few blocks away. We were hopeful that someone might have brought our luggage up to our room during the 25 minutes we were away, but sure enough, when we got back, it was still piled up in the cramped corner where we had left it. Staff members in general were polite and pleasant, but it was clear that extending themselves for great service was not a focus area in their jobs. However, we didn't come to Hotel Suisse for the service; we came for the view and location, and for that, it was perfect!! It was clean, modern, and the view could not be beat for the price. We would stay here again, despite the lackluster service experience.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WishIWasTravlngNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews