We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing at every level”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residhome Nice Promenade
Ranked #144 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointing at every level”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Dingy, old, unmaintained, tiny rooms, no view, sounds from other rooms, tiny spiral carpark, good location. Needed renovating ten years ago! Depressing. Nice patisserie next door.told travel agent. Never to book anyone in again!

Room Tip: Dont bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Its_Just_Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    84
    35
    28
    27
See reviews for
53
84
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This was our first time at this Citadines. We found the staff friendly and efficient. They replied promptly to a question I sent by email prior to arrival and when we got there, they could not have been more helpful. They provided information I requested about cycle hire and other useful tips about bus routes. For example, don't take the 98 or 99 from the airport as all the tourist information recommends - the 23 from the airport stops just across the road (and other useful bus routes too). Staff running the breakfast room were efficient - even going out for fresh bread when it ran out and I didn't want one of the excellent pain au chocolat remaining. Breakfast also offered fresh fruit salad, rolls, selection of cheeses, conserves, juices, coffee, tea, etc. All fresh and topped up as needed. There's a shady terrace for the summer.

Apparently the top three floors have recently been refurbished. Our apartment (on the top) was clean and well furnished. The bed linen and towels were clean and fresh, and the robes were more luxurious than those provided at the very high end health spa we're members of at home. The other floors are due to be refurbished soon.

The only negative was that the extractor fan in the bathroom did not work but we filled in the maintenance report form (provided) and they were on to it.

Room Tip: If you like being on the top floor, be prepared to pay extra for it as these rooms are bigger, have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We walked in to be greeted if that's what you can call it by a woman with no personal skills at all. Give me your passport and 4euros. The key was given and that's being nice!

The room like other reviews stank and had cigarette burns all over the carpet. The beds were hard and pillows like cardboard. We have stayed in backpackers much better and with so much more help!

The reception could barely help us with bus services and told us to read the signs. Ok if you can read French but we had no idea ended up asking people at the bus stop to help us.

The door was so hard to lock it took us a while to lock each time having to physically lift it up and quickly lock.

Totally disappointed. Not close to things either.

We would never stay there again and probably not with the same company either!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank camandjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nice hotels

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

When we first opened the door, a terrible odor smacked us in the face. It smelled like animal urine. The carpet was stained throughout, the furniture coverings were faded, shabby and stained. The return air vent was thick with dust, the paint in the ceiling above the tub was peeling from the ceiling, the walls throughout the apartment were filthy, and the hot water smelled like sewer. We heated water in the microwave to simply wipe off. We hardly slept at all and could not pack up fast enough to leave this awful place. The entire place needs to be condemned and gutted. It was the filthiest and most disgusting place we have ever stayed in. The bed sat about 16 inches off the floor. I don't care what someone said about renovations being done. There was no sign of any upgrades on the floor we stayed. We complained to the front desk and they did not offer to move us to another room.

Room Tip: Do not stay in this hotel. It may be a good location and inexpensive.....you get what you pay for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We booked this accommodation last minute and was a little surprised on arrival to find that the room didn't have a bed. It did have a pull out sofa bed that was more than big enough for two of us.
The facilities were ok for the room price. Enough in the kitchen to cook simple meals, air con, tv, radio, table & chairs, small balcony, sun terrace, but all of this needed an update e.g. Air condition was only just strong enough to keep the room cool.
Location was 100m from the beach, but probably a mile from the old town. Didn't bother us too much as promenade was always busy with people so safe and entertaining on the walk there and back from the old town.
Reception staff were all nice and spoke good English.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Some guests have recently been very negative recently towards the Citadenes hotel apartments in Nice. But please, dont listen to much to this. This summer of 2012, the hotel is renovating all the apartments one after the other providing brand new and very comfortable sofabeds, new madrasses (we saw during our stay in August trucks delivering huge amounts of madrasses, sofas etc.).

The hotel is removing all the old carpets and replacing with new beautiful wooden floors and they are also renovating all the mini kitchens. All the hall ways has been painted white and new carpets put on there. Cleaning (and the cleaners) are top standard and all very nice, but you will have to do your own daily "cleaning up after yourself" because cleaning is only provided within your basic fee once a week which we found completely okay (you can buy cleaning items in the local supermakred for less than 10 Euros). Daily cleaning is offered too, if you want to spent 8 Euros extra a day on that - actually quiet cheap if you think about it. So you have a choice what you want as a guest.

All the staff in the Reception are extremely polite and helpful and speak fluent english. An example: They offered to spend at least 30 minutes helping us getting signed up via our Ipad for the local bycycles VeloBlue which is available everywhere in Nice. You have to know your french well to sign up yourself. other example: We suddently also needed and english speaking doctor on a Sunday (of course), and the Reception called immidiately a doctor for us who arrived in person to our hotel apartment within 40 minutes (we had to pay 90 Euro everything included for this very kind and excellent doctor on a sunday - efficient and with much kindness and help all the way through from the staff)

The hotel has two washing machines and a dryer so you can wash your towels and clothes daily for 5 Euros a wash. New towels are only provided once a week as well as cleaning - unless you pay 8 Euros extra for new towels. You can choose. Also, two local Laundrettes right in the area of the hotel, if you prefer that.

We have now been staying here many times for business (and pleasure) and can highly recommend this hotel apartment. This time we stayed for 2 whole weeks.

It is 3 minutes walk to Promenade De Anglias, several buslines just outside the hotel or from the Promonade takes you anywhere you like even up in the Mountains for only 1 Euro (we can recommend Vance and Grasse for example). A complete bargain!

This hotel can be recommended to everyone with or without children - and many guests bring their pets too with no problems. The french locals tend to stay here too with there extended families, grannys and so forth - a positive sign of quality. Always calm and homely, modern and comfortable.

Internet is for free and via cabel so it actually works. Supermarkets 5 minutes from the hotel - 4 or 5 of them with everything you might possibly need during your stay. In the Reception you can even borrow for free a trolley on wheels for your bigger shoppings.
Flatscreen TV (and DVD player that works - does not play Blueray disc's) with CNN and BBC World News as well as many french and italian channels.

We stayed this time in flat no 708 (studio for two) which has been renovated but have also tryed the not-renovated-yet flats at other times. It is not as bad as some people tend to complain about. You can clean yourself for daily comfort and it is really not very hard.

This hotel is located in one of the most beautiful areas of Provence sand most guest only stay there to sleep because everybody go outside all day enjoying the lovely clima.

Buy some Flash and a washer in the supermarket the first day you arrive and use that, then you should be all right - or pay the small amount extra for the daily cleaning. It still is a bargain for the price even though you pay this extra to stay here given the comfort of having your owen apartment and the brilliant location and the friendly service.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side can be a bit noisy due to trafic going towards the Promonade but not really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Benedicte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajkot, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights... had a decent sized room as we were 3 of us... it has some odour which might be because of cooking... its a serviced apartment but cleaned only once a week and if you need it to be cleaned then you need to pay extra for the same.... Our package had breakfast included but didn't like it as it was just breads and hot beverages... the staff at the reception was good...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Divyanil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
The Jay Hotel by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Riquier
Hipark Nice
Hipark Nice
#75 of 205 in Nice
716 reviews
Locarno
#165 of 205 in Nice
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residhome Nice Promenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residhome Nice Promenade

Property: Residhome Nice Promenade
Address: 3 boulevard Francois Grosso, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Citadines Nice Promenade Apart)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Residhome Nice Promenade 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Residhome Nice Promenade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Nice Promenade Apart Hotel Nice
Citadines Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing