We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good for price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel de Madrid
Ranked #85 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pretty good for price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

We got a booking at this hotel through bidding on Priceline and we were happy with what we got. The receptionists were all so nice, no matter the hour. We had three people and had to upgrade because Priceline's standard bookings are for double occupancy. The hotel was able to accommodate us luckily, even though it was a busy weekend. Th room was great, the bathroom's are tiny but that's typical for hotels on this side of the Atlantic. The room had an expresso machine as well as a machine for heating water for tea. We had a huge flat-screen and a balcony that looked out onto the street. The facilities were clean and WiFi was good, besides the fact that you had to re-enter the code every time you got back to the room. The location is great for travel outside of Nice because of the train station and within Nice thanks to the Tram. Recommended!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwinetta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MADRIDNICE, Réceptionniste at BEST WESTERN Hotel de Madrid, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Dwinetta R,

We would like to thank you about your comment. We were pleased to have you as a guest and we are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and in Nice. Do not hesitate to contact us if you ever have a request.

The reception crew
Best Western Hotel de Madrid
00334.93.88.85.18
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    204
    113
    45
    30
See reviews for
56
224
64
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

Nice is a wonderful city! This hotel offers a great location and a great price! for 49 Euros a night! The hotel is clean, free breakfast (only if you book via their site), and hotel staff is very friendly. Only problem i went through was in the room, there was no plugs/outlets for me to charge my phone and camera (it was only available in the washroom), not very handy. Also, lights on one side of the wall didn't work.

Room Tip: walls are very thin though. you could hear a person taking a shower in the room next to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeytri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MADRIDNICE, Réceptionniste at BEST WESTERN Hotel de Madrid, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear mikeytri,

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in Nice and our hotel. If you ever come back, please feel free to tell our staff immediately about the problems you may have in your room so that they can help you and solve it. It is true that the available plugs are not very easy to find as there are under the desk and we are sorry for the inconvenience it may have caused.

The reception crew
Best Western Hotel de Madrid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
117 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

The hotel’s location is excellent – several blocks from the train station (far enough away from the noise and grit), convenient for both train travel and the airport bus, and only a block away from the city tram line and commercial center. My room was small, about 14 sq yds or about 11.5 m², including the bath, adequate for a short stay. Such a small room might be too tight for two people with luggage, but there must be larger rooms. The room was nicely decorated, quiet, and the bed very comfortable. Free internet, too.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderWhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

My spouse and I arrived 10-18-2012 and stayed 5 days, then returned at the end of our vacation for an additional two days. The lobby of the hotel is nicely arranged and decorated (plastic flower arrangements, however). Several of the staff were pleasant and very helpful, two were quite curt and seemed overly put-upon by questions or requests. As in most of France, if one is not proficient in the native tongue, your questions may met with disdain and perturbation. The typically French-style elevator is very compact and slow. The room was nicely decorated (#311 and later #211, directly below), smallish but adequate, the bath was fully tiled and convenient, although I detest those French pseudo-showers above the tub, the kind that allow water to spray everywhere in the bathroom. The water temperature and pressure were fine. The room temperature was easily controlled (this was fall, I don't know how the air conditioning would be). Our two rooms had a view of the backs of some slightly squalid apartment buildings, but the rooms themselves were quiet. There was some noise at one point from a heavy-footed quest in the room above, and some modest noise from the elevator directly next to both rooms. The closet was adequate, with a safe for valuables. There was a coffee maker (and an espresso maker in one of the two rooms), but no refrigerator. The TV is a small flat-screen, with only two English language stations. The "breakfast included" was barely satisfactory. There were rolls aplenty, minimal meat and cheese, some dry cereal, some yogurt, and a few hard-boiled eggs. The coffee machine made satisfactory brew. The women caring for the kitchen were frequently absent or late, They did not seem to change the breakfast items from day to day. One morning the milk was warm and spoiled. We joked about the fact that two pieces of toast were left in the toaster for three days until we finally asked the kitchen person to remove them. The cheese often seemed to be semi-melted and oily as though it was not refrigerated since the previous day. There was a hot-tray for warm food, but never once was there any offering. Oddly too, the fresh fruit tray was put out every day, but never any fruit. Supposedly, one could order an "omelet," if the staff person was present that day, but what was passed as an "omelet" was essentially scrambled eggs flipped in half, with no cheese, no mushrooms, nothing inside. I give the "breakfast included" claim only 1-2 stars at best. There are no amenities like a pool, sauna, or exercise room. The hotel itself is located one block from the train station, which was ideal. It was also one block to the main trolley line, which we used repeatedly (we bought a 7 day bus/trolley pass). The street in front of the hotel contains a market, which is a hang-out for a small crowd of local African and Arab young men, and to some people, this may appear threatening. We were not bothered, except by their cigarette smoking, which, of course, is ubiquitous in Europe and probably the most distasteful part of travel anywhere overseas. I would stay here again in future, mainly because of price/value, location, and room quality.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first, some rooms are tiny and laid out in odd ways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kensteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
106 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night in this hotel. Our airplane landed in the late evening and we couldn't rent a car, so we stayed for one night in hotel Madrid and took a car from train station next to hotel on the next day.
Hotel location is very convenient for overnight stay or for those traveling by train. If I would stay in Nice for a couple days to explore the Nice, I would take a hotel as closed to promenade as possible.
We was a couple, but got a triple room. The room was big and had a balcony. Very clean and refurbished. We had a tee/coffee facilities and a coffee machine in the room. There wasn't a minibar. Good air-conditioning. Very small bathroom. We made some special effort to reach a shower cabin :-) Try to be in a good shape. Very nice and helpful staff at reception. Everage breakfast: upgraded continental, but enough to start a day.
I would recomend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikistravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
150 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

We booked the Best Western Madrid based on price and the fact that it included breakfast. The rooms are typical European and are on the small side. We had requested two rooms one with two singles and one with one bed. We initially were given two single bed rooms but the error was corrected quickly. The rooms were clean. The single bed needed the mattress replaced as one could see the indentation from where everyone laid at. The pillows are not very soft. The rooms have a dark décor which makes them seem dark, this and the fact that they only have one working bulb in each light did not help. The bathroom was a little small and the shower was very small, no tub. The staff was very helpful and speaks many languages. The breakfast consisted of bread rolls, yogurt, cut up fruit, small pastries, ham, salami, cheeses, juice, coffee, tea, hot chocolate. We had to eat early though because they tended to run out of things and had a hard time keeping up with the rush when a tour group all came in to eat. The location is close to the train station about a 5 minute walk. It is also about 5 minutes or less from a tram stop and about 1.2 km from the ocean and the promenade. We had friends staying at a couple of other Best Westerns and from talking to them the Madrid was the right choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CriscoPhotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

Good location a minutes walk to the main train station in Nice....but only good if you are wanting the train station for travel......other than that, the beach is a good walk away and the bus station too.....can't get taxis in Nice, you have to order one, so location of your hotel is important....The hotel was ok, nice spacious room....very small and cramped basthroom though....anyone very overweight might not get passed the sink to the shower, it WAS that tight to move....!!!!
Air con didn't work....we ended up not having it on because it was just blowing warm air around the room, other guests were talking about this too.....Breakfast ok, no problems.....clean hotel adequate.....

Room Tip: choose away from the main road...it was quite noisy.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perth45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
BEST WESTERN Alba Hotel
Centre
Best Western Hotel New York Nice
Thiers / Train Station
Hotel du Midi
Hotel du Midi
#71 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
BEST WESTERN Hotel Roosevelt
Thiers / Train Station
Ibis Styles Nice Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel de Madrid

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel de Madrid
Address: 3, Rue De Belgique, 6000 Nice, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel de Madrid)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel de Madrid 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel de Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western De Madrid
Best Western Nice
Nice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing