We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A boutique delight” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Rivoli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Ranked #13 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A boutique delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

Everyone on Tripadvisor gave this lovely hotel top marks, so do I. Its very easy to find as it is located just a few meters behind the Negressco hotel, an easy landmark. Our recently renovated room was just lovely and looked onto the sweet little garden space. Not the biggest room in the world, but it was so pretty, and everything worked. A large carafe of plonk served al fresco was 15 euros, accompanied by a bowl of crisps. Apparently, the free wifi worked well, too. I was on hols so didn't even try it. The stqff are very helpful and pleasant, and of course, we'll be back...

Room Tip: A garden view is best, I'm sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelQ19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    297
    82
    27
    23
See reviews for
88
427
75
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
119 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Looking in Nice you can find 600€+ hotels or 100€ hotels. We found Rivoli through Travel Advisor, it is well located a couple of blocks from the Promenade and easy walking to most of central Nice. The hotel is generally a "B" grade but even the superior room was small an tight with small shower room and WC in other location. There is no elevator so bags need to be carried up the stairs. While WiFi is complimentary it did not work in our room and need to sit in hallway to get connections. If looking for fair value in good location Rivoli is OK but don't expect high luxury.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hackensack, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

New refurbished single. Very good AC. Large windows. Hangers and shelves. Many bus stops within 2 blocks. Bus is only 1 euro. 2 1/2 blocks to beach. Internet access very good. May need to call or use code to enter after midnight. Chair but no desk in room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbauer54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed here for for 3 nights after being in St Tropez. We found it to be good value and the staff friendly and courteous. Only down side was no lift. We were given room 20, I hauled everything up 2 flights and then we changed to room 1. Everything small and cosy but it was what we wanted. Its location is good for the station, beach and the walk to the old part of town and we did day trips to Cannes and Monaco. I really liked Nice and the hotel was in a more residential area but that was fine by me as I live in one my self anyway. The staff were very good and I would recommend this hotel if you want to sight see rather than rest up in a hotel relaxing. There are plenty of local shops near by to buy water etc

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WarwickHolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

My wife and I stayed one night at this hotel. Our room was very small, not much bigger, if any, than an interior economy room on a cruise ship. But it was generally adequate. We got what we thought was a good price for the room, until we learned it was a basement room with a bathroom that smelled like a sewer. The carpet outside the small bathroom appeared to be perpetually damp, if not wet, causing us to wonder what liquid made the carpet wet -- shower overspray or something else. The front desk people were pleasant, helped with luggage, and spoke excellent English and other languages. The sideyard has a small parking area for an added fee but somewhat difficult for ingress and egress. If we had had a upstairs room rather than the basement, I am inclined to believe -- given other comments here -- my rating of this property would be higher. Easy walk to beach front. Appears to be a pretty nice neighborhood. Be cautious about the basement rooms. Hotel was close to the airport, which was helpful for us.

Room Tip: Avoid the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thomas2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectionRivoli, Owner at Hotel Villa Rivoli, responded to this review, 7 July 2011
Dear Madame, dear Sir, thank you for your constructive comments. Indeed we do have a very small number of rooms on the lower ground floor, which was well indicated on your reservation confirmation as “double room semi-basement”. Around 10 stair steps from the reception leading to the corridor of the 4 rooms: with windows (app. 70cm/70cm), individually decorated, aircondition, wi-fi, flat TV. They are around 30% less expensive than the other categories .We are very sorry to learn that the carpet was wet, unfortunately you didn’t let us know when you arrived. We could have proposed you maybe another room ?We are very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our service and we would be happy to welcoming you back on your next Europe trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

We stayed at Hotel Villa Rivoli for one night. Great staff, fantastic breakfast and a pretty room. The location is fine and very close to the beach, just a few minutes walk. We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annainparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

I had a most pleasant stay in Hotel Villa Rivoli. The personnel were welcoming and helpful and the location and facilities (particularly the private garden) were great. I will most definitely stay here again if I return to Nice.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel de la Fontaine
#8 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Hotel Monsigny
#9 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Rivoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Rivoli

Property: Hotel Villa Rivoli
Address: 10 rue de Rivoli, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Nice
#22 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Rivoli 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Rivoli, located in a former unique Belle Epoque (1890) private house, is in the heart of the historical town center of Nice. It is 100 meters away from the beaches and the famous Promenade des Anglais with the Museum Massena. Only 3 min. Walk away from the pedestrian shopping area and its numerous trendy bars and restaurants. The square Massena, leading to the old town of Nice with its flower market, quaint lanes and the opera is also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Rivoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivoli Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing