We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and Romantic - Old World Styling” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Rivoli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Ranked #12 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Barrie, ON, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charming and Romantic - Old World Styling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

Our first time in France and this hotel was excellent. Rooms are small, but very clean and the bathrooms are quite tiny but have all amenities and they are spotless! Very romantic feel with the french doors, lovely drapes and wall treatments. We stayed in two different rooms due to a booking mix up and they were very accommodating. Even moved all our stuff to the new room while we were out sightseeing. You can feel the old world elegance here. Excellent location for walking to all the sights. Only negative was finding it in the first place! Came by train and although it looked simple enough to find, we had quite a meandering walk to get there. People about 5 blocks away didn't know the hotel (odd). Very kind local man offered to help us find it and stayed with us until we had solid directions - very sweet French man and we only spoke in the international language of hand gestures. (Helpful Tip): The Hotel everyone seems to know is the "El Neggressco", right on the Promenade. Ask for this hotel then walk directly from the Promenade up a couple blocks and voila!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valred888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    297
    82
    27
    23
See reviews for
88
427
75
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

Very charming hotel, centrally located in Nice with pleasant staff. Had a "superior" double room with french balconies, a lot of character, well working AC, free Wifi and, not least, an excellent bed. Room towards the street but calm at night. Good breakfast buffet. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pfjell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

I stayed here with my mother during July and absolutely loved this hotel!
The location, the rooms, the cleanliness, the staff and the breakfast were all fantastic!!

The staff were especially helpful and answered all of out questions.

The rooms are very clean and have a window which we left open at night as we liked the fresh air. The bathrooms were also very clean and spacious.

I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 88Emily88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

A great 3 star hotel in central Nice, our room had two beautiful french windows opening on little balconies, lots of character, although our room faced a street there was little noise at nighttime. The room was spacious and had been recently re-decorated very tastefully with nice furniture, the bed was new and very comfortable. The bathroom was small, but new and spotlessly clean. I would definitely recommend if you are looking for a hotel with both charm and mod cons.

The airport bus drops you one block away and is a few minutes stroll to the beach. There is also lovely garden to sit in and free wifi.

Room Tip: It was worth the upgrade for an airconditioned room if travelling in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy1279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

Everyone on Tripadvisor gave this lovely hotel top marks, so do I. Its very easy to find as it is located just a few meters behind the Negressco hotel, an easy landmark. Our recently renovated room was just lovely and looked onto the sweet little garden space. Not the biggest room in the world, but it was so pretty, and everything worked. A large carafe of plonk served al fresco was 15 euros, accompanied by a bowl of crisps. Apparently, the free wifi worked well, too. I was on hols so didn't even try it. The stqff are very helpful and pleasant, and of course, we'll be back...

Room Tip: A garden view is best, I'm sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelQ19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
119 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Looking in Nice you can find 600€+ hotels or 100€ hotels. We found Rivoli through Travel Advisor, it is well located a couple of blocks from the Promenade and easy walking to most of central Nice. The hotel is generally a "B" grade but even the superior room was small an tight with small shower room and WC in other location. There is no elevator so bags need to be carried up the stairs. While WiFi is complimentary it did not work in our room and need to sit in hallway to get connections. If looking for fair value in good location Rivoli is OK but don't expect high luxury.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hackensack, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

New refurbished single. Very good AC. Large windows. Hangers and shelves. Many bus stops within 2 blocks. Bus is only 1 euro. 2 1/2 blocks to beach. Internet access very good. May need to call or use code to enter after midnight. Chair but no desk in room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbauer54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel de la Fontaine
#8 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Hotel Monsigny
#9 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Rivoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Rivoli

Property: Hotel Villa Rivoli
Address: 10 rue de Rivoli, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Nice
#22 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Rivoli 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Rivoli, located in a former unique Belle Epoque (1890) private house, is in the heart of the historical town center of Nice. It is 100 meters away from the beaches and the famous Promenade des Anglais with the Museum Massena. Only 3 min. Walk away from the pedestrian shopping area and its numerous trendy bars and restaurants. The square Massena, leading to the old town of Nice with its flower market, quaint lanes and the opera is also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Rivoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivoli Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing