We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Ranked #13 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2013

This was the 4th hotel I stayed at in France with my husband during our honeymoon and we really enjoyed it. We were on the third floor (I want to say it was room 16?) and had a double bed suite for three nights. While the room was small, we enjoyed the feel of this hotel. Since there are few rooms, it's very quiet, which made for an enjoyable breakfast each morning. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the promenade which was very convenient.

The staff was very friendly and helpful in answering all the questions we had about Nice. They even let us stash our luggage in a room after our checkout time since our train wasn't leaving for another few hours.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay somewhere different besides a standard hotel chain (boring!). The rooms are small but it didn't bother us.

Room Tip: Be wary if you have a lot of luggage as there is no elevator in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OkieJeannette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 853 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed in the hotel for a few days in March 2013. We read the reviews before we travelled and we were glad we found this little hotel. It was in a good location, not far from the promenade and close to a nice bakery. :)

We did not choose to have breakfast at the hotel, so I cannot comment on the food, however the room and the bathroom were clean and tidy and the staff were extremelly helpful, friendly and spoke a good english.

I would recommend. It was a nice little boutique hotel :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JLW102002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This is the best three star French-style hotel on the Riviera. I have stayed at the hotel three years in a row and consider it a major reason I travel to the Riviera. The owner (Barbara) and her staff are simply amazing. The location is awesome....just a couple blocks back from the Negresco Hotel, the English Promenade, and the Mediterranean.....and a short walk from the train station. The well planned local bus system runs on both sides of the hotel. The owner used to work for the Negresco and has turned this former elder hostel into a gem of a hotel. The Hotel Villa Rivoli is exceptionally clean, the staff speak multiple languages (I've heard Russian, German, French, English, and some Romanian), and the breakfast and small garden area outside are a hidden gem. The bathroom showers can be a bit small (remember I said 'French style hotel') and there is no elevator service on the three floors. The rooms all have excellent air conditioning, free wi-fi, and the building is very secure. I love everything about this hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the street. This will be difficult if you have more than two people in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dr T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

This is such a lovely hotel in a wonderful part of Nice - you wouldnt want to stay anywhere else,
the staff are amazing and so helpful all of the time, lovely breakfasts, lovely garden to sit out in and have a beer or a coffee, or your breakfast- the owner is stylish and genuine and cares about each person that stays in her hotel, now you dont get that very often, The rooms are beautifully decorated and very french, and full of character - would love to have stayed more than one night ! Thank you all so much for everything, and the warm welcome, and all the special touches and extra help that you gave our family, Thank you, A Bientot ! xxxxxxxxx Special thanks to Barbara and Katchya xxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JosieRossshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

The hotel Villa Rivoli perfectly suits for those who like romantic and atmosphere of 18th century. Before the hotel was a house belonged to a family (you can find pictures of the family on the walls in the hotel) but then the house was reconstructed into the hotel. Very nice staff! Not far from the sea and the Old city. Prices are ok. I liked the hotel a lot!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnastasiaU2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectionVilla, Owner at Hotel Villa Rivoli, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear Guest,
Merci for your kind message. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Villa Rivoli. Wishing you all the best and looking forward welcoming you again. Very best regards of all of us,
Barbara Kimmig.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a great area close to all amenities. The staff were all friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about where to visit etc. The rooms were all tastefully decorated, spotless and extremely comfortable. The breakfast table was a work of art and it was a lovely touch having an egg boiled specially for you. We would definitely stay there again and will recommend the Villa Rivoli to friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LibisW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectionVilla, Owner at Hotel Villa Rivoli, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Dear Guest,
many, many thanks for your kind review as well as the compliments about the decoration and the cleaness. For us the breakfast is as well very important as you start your day ! And at home normally you don't have the time to really enjoy it... Looking very much forward welcoming you again and best regards as well of the team of the Villa Rivoli , Barbara Kimmig.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

Chose Villa Rivoli based on previous reviews. There is a real pride and guest focused atmosphere. There is a sense that they are really trying hard to please and it makes the stay very nice. The reception staff were approachable and knowledgeable on restaurant recommendations, directions, etc. Truly, the only downside was the street noise - we were in Rm 6, facing rue de Rivoli. Traffic noise did interfere with a good night sleep. If there is option for room facing the garden or back, make the request.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill-Martha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectionVilla, Owner at Hotel Villa Rivoli, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Dear Mrs Bill Matha,
Thank you for your time in writing an review and thank you for the compliments about the quality of our service and the atmosphere. Indeed it's very important sleeping well ! All of our rooms, facing the street Rivoli has new windows and all of our rooms has air condition, so everything is worked out to sleep well with closed windows. If you would like to sleep with opend windows you should defenetly choose a room on the garden side. Looking forward welcoming you again in Nice. Best regards Barbara Kimmig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Thiers / Train Station
Nice Excelsior Hotel
Nice Excelsior Hotel
#10 of 203 in Nice
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Hotel de la Fontaine
#6 of 203 in Nice
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Rivoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Rivoli

Address: 10 rue de Rivoli, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Nice
#22 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £40 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Rivoli 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Rivoli, located in a former unique Belle Epoque (1890) private house, is in the heart of the historical town center of Nice. It is 100 meters away from the beaches and the famous Promenade des Anglais with the Museum Massena. Only 3 min. Walk away from the pedestrian shopping area and its numerous trendy bars and restaurants. The square Massena, leading to the old town of Nice with its flower market, quaint lanes and the opera is also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Rivoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivoli Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing