We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Villa Rivoli: authentic, cosy, adorable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Villa Rivoli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Ranked #13 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Villa Rivoli: authentic, cosy, adorable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2010

This small, original hotel is a must if you like the authentic french athmosphere. The ancient building was renovated by the owners with lots of passion to preserve its original character. Ideally located just a few minutes from the seaside and from town center. We very much enjoyed our short holidays at Villa Rivoli !

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    301
    85
    28
    23
See reviews for
90
434
76
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2010

I stayed at this hotel with my husband and my four month daughter.We felt at home, got a free cot, rooms were cleaned daily.Though bathroom was small it had a shower which we preferred and was clean and cleaned daily.I am fussy abt things and want to feel at home wherever I travelled, so as this was my first time travelling with a child i felt it was ideal.The staff were very helpful, spoke good English and able to recommend places to eat and to visit.Within walking distance to the beach, local supermarket, train station,shopping and places to eat.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pammy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2010

We have stayed at the hotel for the past 3 days and from the moment we arrived it has been a great experience. Just a 10min walk south of train station, and under 5min walk to the water. On arrival, they upgraded us from our basement room to a ground floor room (25). The room was recently renovated and very clean. The room also had some shelves and hanging space which was great. Only 2 negatives: on one day, there was no hot water on our floor. The hotel apologized and we were able to shower in another room. On Sunday morning, the breakfast buffet was set up/opened at 830 (advertised as 730) this meant we had to rush to make our 9am tour. Otherwise, we had a great stay and the staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayden43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

Wonderful little hotel. We stayed in a basement room which was clean and had a comfortable bed. For our second night we were surprised with a free upgrade to a traditional room. It was more spacious and the decor was just gorgeous, worth the extra money but if you can't afford it basement rooms are fine also.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marso39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

What a great place to stay! Close to Promenade des Anglais and bus to old town. Thankfully both desk managers spoke English well; very helpful with suggestions for special and unique restaurants and things to do and see. Rooms were quaint and clean. Great value!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteyTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

We have just returned from Nice and this hotel was conveniently located just 2 blocks back from the 'Promenade des Anglais' and at the end of the main thoroughfare. The hotel was both comfortable and charming. It is currently being refurbished but has an elegant, 'shabby-chic' air. The staff were helpful and friendly whilst remaining discreet. Our room was small and oddly shaped but had everything we required. The ceilings were very high (although some of the paintwork was peeling) with a heavy fabric wallcovering and a chandelier. There was a Juliette balcony with shutters which overlooked the garden / road. The small shower room was clean and the shower powerful and extremely hot (take care!) It took me a while to find the hairdryer - it was in the cupboard under the sink. The wall-mounted tv was tiny but we could stay in touch via BBC Worldwide news and Sky News. There was a little street noise and some occasional noise from other guests but not so much as to keep us awake.We never felt under any pressure to get out of the room for the cleaners and had clean, albeit thin, towels everyday. We only ate breakfast at the hotel one day, at 12 Euro each we thought it a bit dear, but we ate our fill of cereal, yoghurt, french bread, cheese and ham, fruit juice, tea and coffee. There was also pastries and fruit on offer. To be fair the ratio of food to cost was at least as competetive as anywhere else - unless you go to MacDonalds!
DON'T pay for transfers, or even a taxi, to and from the airport - it is only about 5 miles away and the 98 bus will take you almost to the hotel for 4 euro each - ask to get off at Gambetta. All other buses will take you anywhere for only one - yes one - euro each. We took a 100 bus to Monaco which was a lovely journey along the coast with many places to stop off. We also took a 200 bus to Antibes in the opposite direction where we visited Marineland and saw some terrific performances by dolphins, whales and sealions. As mentioned already by some the Train Touristique is a little corny but worth the 45 minute trip for 7 euro. We have never seen so many places to eat - you really are spoilt for choice. Look out for the set menus or Plat de Jours which offer best value. The two best restaurants we found were Le Lodge - excellent food at reasonable prices - and Le Maison de Marie which is more up market. We found that we spent 60 - 100 euro a night on a 3 course dinner with a bottle of wine. There were some lovely looking fish restaurants along by the flower market but we didn't get to eat there. Nice is certainly not cheap - bottled beer is expensive so ask for 'pression' or draught beer which is marginally cheaper about 6 euro for 500mls. MacDonalds also do a good capachino for a couple of euro.
The bay of Nice is beautiful but the beach is pebbly and shaley (and covered in cigarette butts) so is uncomfortable to sit on without towels etc. It is more comfortable, and more fun, to sit on a bench along the promenade and watch the world go by!
We stayed for 5 nights but think that 4 may have been sufficient as a break in October.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rooLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

As others have already said this is a charming small hotel so recently upgraded that the carpet fitters were still working on the entrance and stairs on our arrival. We had some problems with our flight plans due to widespread French national industrial action and the Owner/Manager was aware of this when we arrived and made us feel very welcome,in fact had allocated us a room upgrade !
There is no lift but with only two upper floors it was not too difficult to carry a suitcase up the ornate staircase as we were shown to our corner room overlooking the street through a full height window with typical external shutters and small balcony,with a small modern shower room and separate wc also having window/balcony.
The room wasn't large but more than adequate with laminate wood flooring,period style furniture and unusual padded fabric wallcoverings.A flat-screen wall mounted tv and very useful small fridge completed the fitings.Some noise from adjoining room was probably due to the occupier rather than hotel issues.
The hotel is perfectly located to easily explore the city,and if turning right out of the entrance the main street leads directly to the train station (Nice Ville) for more remote sightseeing such as Cannes,Monaco or even Italy and the brilliant Friday market in Ventimiglia.
We very much hope to return in the not to distant future.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poshandcosh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#10 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Hotel de la Fontaine
#6 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Rivoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Rivoli

Property: Hotel Villa Rivoli
Address: 10 rue de Rivoli, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Nice
#22 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Rivoli 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Rivoli, located in a former unique Belle Epoque (1890) private house, is in the heart of the historical town center of Nice. It is 100 meters away from the beaches and the famous Promenade des Anglais with the Museum Massena. Only 3 min. Walk away from the pedestrian shopping area and its numerous trendy bars and restaurants. The square Massena, leading to the old town of Nice with its flower market, quaint lanes and the opera is also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Rivoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivoli Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing