We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Durante”
Review of Hotel Durante

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Durante
Ranked #97 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hotel Durante”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

My wife and I decided to stay here as we had tickets to the 2012 Monaco Grand Prix. Unfortunately everything in Nice and surrounding areas more than doubled in price just for this week 23rd-30th May.
It is listed as a 3 star and to be honest it's not the best 3 star hotel we have ever stayed in, but it's certainly not the worst.
On the plus side the room we stayed in was more than adequate in size, loads of hot water, beds were changed frequently and the towels were changed every day.
The only negatives for us were the breakfast, that consisted of either rolls and cheese, cold boiled eggs and some sort of cereals or coissaints with jam. There was fruit available on 2 days and there was also cold meat available on these days. We asked for a kettle which was provided and there was a supermarket just around the corner where we were able to buy all of the necessary provisions. Proximity to the train station was excellent. The only other thing I did not like was that the hotel staff tried to insist that keys were left in reception but were on plain view for everybody to see and the reception was not always manned which meant that room keys were vulnerable. As I said earlier for an out of season holiday or even not during the grand prix this hotel offered good value for money BUT during the Grand Prix it was just an average hotel as the price increased from 115 euros to 255 per night.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shutty45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    107
    48
    19
    12
See reviews for
25
125
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Hotel Durante is very conveniently located near the train station and is a short walk to the old town. The hotel is charming with a lovely small garden, perfect for reading or having breakfast. And the hotel staff was great. Michele, the manager, was helpful in so many ways. She went out of her way to help us with train reservations and provided excellent tips for dining. And thanks, Michele, for the recommendation for gelato at Fenocchio's in the old town - my rose and orange flower gelato was incredible. Would definitely stay here on my next trip to Nice.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Phillip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We did not have a good experience with this hotel... at all. Our room felt extremely dirty, outdated, and rundown (tearing wallpaper, dents in the door, nasty carpet, etc.) Oh and there was something going on with the toilet and twice we came into the bathroom and there was fecal matter from somewhere else in the system that had washed down. Gross. We were thankful it was only a one night stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nice hotels

australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed here during our 6 week tour of france and italy. This hotel is tucked away down a side street within walking distance of the train station so is perfect for train travellers. The room we had sleeps 3 and was very spacious with a lovely deep bath. We could safely open our large windows to breathe in the sea air and were not far from the main shopping areas and the older part of Nice. Good value and a cheery, cosy place to stay. Make sure you book though, as rooms here get snapped up very quickly.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowflakepony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012 via mobile

We arrived to Nice after traveling all day from Rome. My husband walked over to the Tourist Board and asked for a recommedation. They were very helpful and made a reservation for us. We walked about a block from the train station and found this little jewel. It is very charming.We had room 126 because there was three of us. it was large, clean and very comfortable. Free Wi-FI was available. They do have a cat in in residence so if you have allergies....

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank joanne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, OR
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

This is a great hotel in Nice, a good value. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Staff was helpful, friendly, English-speaking. Great location just a short walk from the train station. It was very quiet because if's off of a main road. We would stay here again on a return trip to Nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lani K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater San Francisco Bay Area
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We checked into this sweet hotel upon arrival from USA - 22 hours in transit. The bright orange and yellow colors and casual furnishings immediately lifted our bedraggled spirits. We had room 142; the French style doors opened onto the private garden, which was a serene space we visited several times. We had a large bed with a small bistro style table and 2 chairs. There was sufficient space to place our things and manage our bags.Large bathtub with hand-held shower. We enjoyed the petit-déjeuner - it was fresh and simple, as you would want.

Room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. The room was quiet as well.
The location is quite good. There are several good restaurants nearby, you can walk to the train in minutes. The beach is a direct walk down the hill.

One downside-the internet was not working during our stay. This posed some inconvenience as we would have liked to check restaurant reviews etc. However, it was not a large problem. The hotel staff were accomodating and friendly, with good understanding of English. We would ddefinitely recommend. It was a ggod value for the money,

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eringorah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Armenonville Hotel
#124 of 204 in Nice
190 reviews
Thiers / Train Station
Hotel du Midi
Hotel du Midi
#55 of 204 in Nice
111 reviews
Hotel Villa Les Cygnes
#17 of 204 in Nice
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Panoramic
#73 of 204 in Nice
197 reviews
Mont Boron
Le Saint Paul
Le Saint Paul
#134 of 204 in Nice
292 reviews
Anis Hotel
#119 of 204 in Nice
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Durante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Durante

Property: Hotel Durante
Address: 16 avenue Durante, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Thiers / Train Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Durante 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very Quiet hotel in the city center, close to all ameneties and also easy and stressless access to Monaco by train in 20mn. Free Wifi and Free parking places.According to our guests, you will particularly enjoy the garden planted with orange, lemon and olive trees.All of the rooms are unique, colored in different atmospheres. Looking forward to welcoming you in the next future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Durante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durante Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing