We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in Nice”
Review of Hotel Durante

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Durante
Ranked #92 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Lovley hotel close to the beach (10 min walk) and all the shops and bars.

we would happily return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tillyteethelvisandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2012

Very nice reasonably priced hotel, good for family budget holidays. It was clean with friendly staff at hand. Very conveniently located close to the train station with good bus connections too. Easy bus ride to museums like Chagall and Matisse's.

Some rooms also have own kitchenette as we did and we could bring a takeaway dinner home on an evening when we didnt want to spend at a restaurant. I will go again and can reccommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anu_sabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

For a 3 star hotel that's reasonably cheap, we were satisfied with our 2 night stay in June. It's very close to the train station which was a great relief as we'd just taken an overnight train and were tired and travel worn.

The room was plain but clean, the bed comfortable and the bathroom very large. There is a nice garden to relax in as well.

My advice is to keep a smile on your face even if you have a complaint. They seem to respond really well to friendliness.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

My wife and I decided to stay here as we had tickets to the 2012 Monaco Grand Prix. Unfortunately everything in Nice and surrounding areas more than doubled in price just for this week 23rd-30th May.
It is listed as a 3 star and to be honest it's not the best 3 star hotel we have ever stayed in, but it's certainly not the worst.
On the plus side the room we stayed in was more than adequate in size, loads of hot water, beds were changed frequently and the towels were changed every day.
The only negatives for us were the breakfast, that consisted of either rolls and cheese, cold boiled eggs and some sort of cereals or coissaints with jam. There was fruit available on 2 days and there was also cold meat available on these days. We asked for a kettle which was provided and there was a supermarket just around the corner where we were able to buy all of the necessary provisions. Proximity to the train station was excellent. The only other thing I did not like was that the hotel staff tried to insist that keys were left in reception but were on plain view for everybody to see and the reception was not always manned which meant that room keys were vulnerable. As I said earlier for an out of season holiday or even not during the grand prix this hotel offered good value for money BUT during the Grand Prix it was just an average hotel as the price increased from 115 euros to 255 per night.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shutty45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Hotel Durante is very conveniently located near the train station and is a short walk to the old town. The hotel is charming with a lovely small garden, perfect for reading or having breakfast. And the hotel staff was great. Michele, the manager, was helpful in so many ways. She went out of her way to help us with train reservations and provided excellent tips for dining. And thanks, Michele, for the recommendation for gelato at Fenocchio's in the old town - my rose and orange flower gelato was incredible. Would definitely stay here on my next trip to Nice.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Phillip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We did not have a good experience with this hotel... at all. Our room felt extremely dirty, outdated, and rundown (tearing wallpaper, dents in the door, nasty carpet, etc.) Oh and there was something going on with the toilet and twice we came into the bathroom and there was fecal matter from somewhere else in the system that had washed down. Gross. We were thankful it was only a one night stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed here during our 6 week tour of france and italy. This hotel is tucked away down a side street within walking distance of the train station so is perfect for train travellers. The room we had sleeps 3 and was very spacious with a lovely deep bath. We could safely open our large windows to breathe in the sea air and were not far from the main shopping areas and the older part of Nice. Good value and a cheery, cosy place to stay. Make sure you book though, as rooms here get snapped up very quickly.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowflakepony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Armenonville Hotel
#129 of 204 in Nice
195 reviews
Thiers / Train Station
Hotel du Midi
Hotel du Midi
#59 of 204 in Nice
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Best Western Plus Nice Cosy Hotel
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Anis Hotel
#117 of 204 in Nice
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Durante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Durante

Address: 16 avenue Durante, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Thiers / Train Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range: £53 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Durante 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very Quiet hotel in the city center, close to all ameneties and also easy and stressless access to Monaco by train in 20mn. Free Wifi and Free parking places.According to our guests, you will particularly enjoy the garden planted with orange, lemon and olive trees.All of the rooms are unique, colored in different atmospheres. Looking forward to welcoming you in the next future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Durante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durante Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing