We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best”
Review of Hotel Durante

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Durante
Ranked #93 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 17 June 2013

On the good side the hotel is very convenient to the train station and is in a peaceful location, and, there are a couple of very charming and helpful receptionists (Michelle and Ella I think) a third one was downright unpleasant and rude.
I have to agree with an earlier comment about them insisting you hand in the room keys when you go out and them being vulnerable. There was a couple of occasions when the reception desk was unmanned, we either leant over to pick them off the hook or, more worryingly, room keys were just laid out on the reception desk.
Our room must have been the worst in the building. Horrible decor; one socket that had a single lamp plugged into it (we had a twin room); a window looking out onto a wall; smelly pillows (the spare had mascara mark on it); the floor was unclean and the bathroom sink not at all clean; you have to physically hold the shower head over you otherwise it spins to the side; there was a sign on a cupboard door stating it was a kitchenette and if there's be a charge if we forced open the door, no idea what delights were in there; and no phone linking the room to reception.
The outdoor eating area is pleasant enough and the breakfast adequate.
You'll love this hotel if you're an animal lover, you can't avoid that cat and dogs are welcome (we encountered the stinky variety).
Talking of stinks there is an unpleasant sewerage smell on occasions.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnabellaSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2012

The Durante is a lovely hotel. Excellent position within easy walking distance of the main train station where the Airport bus terminates ( 4 euro fare only!). It has pleasant rooms some overlooking the peaceful and attractive garden which is a haven of calm in hot weather away from the traffic too.The hotel is close to the main thorough fare of the City served by an excellent tram and bus service so you are not far from any of the sigths or other amenities. There are some good restaurants in the close vicinity and of course many others in and near the Old City of Nice. The hotel price is not cheap but offers excellent value and good comfort.

Room Tip: You could always ask for a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NMTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Although I arrived 4 hours earlier than the published check-in time I was taken straight to my room in a large room (triple) in a building the other side of the garden. The room was immaculately clean as was the bedding (so very surprised to read another reviewer's comments to the contrary). Aircon worked and the bathroom was large and airy. Excellent wi-fi (good enough to stream an entire NFL game without buffering). Check out was as simple and efficient as check-in. They called a taxi and I was quite sad to leave.

Why only 4 out of 5 for this review. Because: 1). On arrival, the taxi couldn't get down the cul-de-sac because of careless parking and I had to drag my luggage to the hotel. and 2). the breakfast was poor for the price.

Just wish they'd had a pool - irrational expectation but I really could have done with it!

Room Tip: I had a triple in the building across the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

My stay at hotel Durante for 4 nights was at the most unpleasent. The room smelled of urine. The sheets were not clean (pubic hairs). The majority of the staff were not helpful and unpleasent. We asked to have post cards mailed they said ok, then the next day told us if we wanted them mailed we would need to do it ourselves, then asked where the post office was and given incorrect directions. Asking for an extra pillow/towel is unexeptable do not even think about it.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ava289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The good:
Two kids who worked at the front desk are actually willing to help, nice attitude as well. Walking distance to shops and beach. Very close to train station.

The bad:
Where do I start? well, first of all, the hotel says theres parking available, with limited spots. Make it "extremely limited". If you are unlucky, you have to park far away on the streets. And if the nearby streets are filled up, which is very likely, then you are out of luck. And the area around this hotel isn't the nicest to walk around at night.
There's this funny smell in the hallway, it's definitely not pleasant.
Then theres the bathroom. They don't bother to invest in a shower curtain or glass wall, unlike every other hotel I've stayed in Europe. So the water splash is EVERYWHERE. The whole bath room will get wet. My wife put all her stuff outside the bathroom.
The toilet has some remaining stuff at the bottom I couldn't figure what it is.
There isn't many power outlets in the room, there only ones are below the night table for those lamps.

Room Tip: No elevator. Try to find a ground floor room if you have lots luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michsyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

On the good side: our room was not ready when we checked in, so after discussion with the manager (the desk person was not helpful) we traded the 2 bedroom suite for two single rooms at the same price. And we were able to rest. The location is not too bad, about 15/20 min walk to the beach and the old part of town. Located near the train station.
On the negative side: we were lucky to get a parking spot because we checked in at 10 am. It must be hard for someone coming in later after 4 pm to get a spot.
Also, there is a sewer smell in parts of the hotel and a cat that is the king of the sofa in the lobby.
We did not sit in the lobby to avoid picking up cat hair on our clothing. Allergic people beware. Aside all of that, everything was pretty much average.

Room Tip: I rated poor for swimming pool, but there is none. There is a nice garden in the inside court of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CeeBee130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Lovley hotel close to the beach (10 min walk) and all the shops and bars.

we would happily return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tillyteethelvisandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Armenonville Hotel
#130 of 204 in Nice
195 reviews
Thiers / Train Station
Hotel du Midi
Hotel du Midi
#56 of 204 in Nice
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Best Western Plus Nice Cosy Hotel
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Anis Hotel
#117 of 204 in Nice
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Durante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Durante

Address: 16 avenue Durante, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Thiers / Train Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range: £52 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Durante 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very Quiet hotel in the city center, close to all ameneties and also easy and stressless access to Monaco by train in 20mn. Free Wifi and Free parking places.According to our guests, you will particularly enjoy the garden planted with orange, lemon and olive trees.All of the rooms are unique, colored in different atmospheres. Looking forward to welcoming you in the next future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Durante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durante Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing