We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Durante

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Durante
Ranked #99 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We returned from Nice yesterday, having stayed for five nights at the Hotel Durante. Our room was lovely, with good air-conditioning and exceptionally clean. There is a nice garden in which we ate our breakfast, and enjoyed sitting in it some afternoons.The staff were friendly and helpful. We were not asked to hand in the room keys as previous visitors have said. The hotel is very near the train station and we used the bus to travel from the airport at a cost of 6 euros each.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beaver778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    102
    47
    18
    12
See reviews for
24
118
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This little Hotel was a very nice Hotel, the rooms were nice size and the Staff was very helpful, this is one of the first Hotels in Nice that Speaks so many languages. French (Of Course) Italian, English and German. Staff is very accommodating kind and personal, they help in everything and make things happen. We stayed 2 nights and we enjoyed the closeness to the center of the city we walked and in less than 10 minutes we were right were the action was at. Nice is a nice town and having a Hotel close to everything is a lot of help.

Room Tip: Get there before 6 P.M. they close the Front desk although they are very nice and help you they have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

On the good side the hotel is very convenient to the train station and is in a peaceful location, and, there are a couple of very charming and helpful receptionists (Michelle and Ella I think) a third one was downright unpleasant and rude.
I have to agree with an earlier comment about them insisting you hand in the room keys when you go out and them being vulnerable. There was a couple of occasions when the reception desk was unmanned, we either leant over to pick them off the hook or, more worryingly, room keys were just laid out on the reception desk.
Our room must have been the worst in the building. Horrible decor; one socket that had a single lamp plugged into it (we had a twin room); a window looking out onto a wall; smelly pillows (the spare had mascara mark on it); the floor was unclean and the bathroom sink not at all clean; you have to physically hold the shower head over you otherwise it spins to the side; there was a sign on a cupboard door stating it was a kitchenette and if there's be a charge if we forced open the door, no idea what delights were in there; and no phone linking the room to reception.
The outdoor eating area is pleasant enough and the breakfast adequate.
You'll love this hotel if you're an animal lover, you can't avoid that cat and dogs are welcome (we encountered the stinky variety).
Talking of stinks there is an unpleasant sewerage smell on occasions.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnabellaSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

The Durante is a lovely hotel. Excellent position within easy walking distance of the main train station where the Airport bus terminates ( 4 euro fare only!). It has pleasant rooms some overlooking the peaceful and attractive garden which is a haven of calm in hot weather away from the traffic too.The hotel is close to the main thorough fare of the City served by an excellent tram and bus service so you are not far from any of the sigths or other amenities. There are some good restaurants in the close vicinity and of course many others in and near the Old City of Nice. The hotel price is not cheap but offers excellent value and good comfort.

Room Tip: You could always ask for a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Although I arrived 4 hours earlier than the published check-in time I was taken straight to my room in a large room (triple) in a building the other side of the garden. The room was immaculately clean as was the bedding (so very surprised to read another reviewer's comments to the contrary). Aircon worked and the bathroom was large and airy. Excellent wi-fi (good enough to stream an entire NFL game without buffering). Check out was as simple and efficient as check-in. They called a taxi and I was quite sad to leave.

Why only 4 out of 5 for this review. Because: 1). On arrival, the taxi couldn't get down the cul-de-sac because of careless parking and I had to drag my luggage to the hotel. and 2). the breakfast was poor for the price.

Just wish they'd had a pool - irrational expectation but I really could have done with it!

Room Tip: I had a triple in the building across the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

My stay at hotel Durante for 4 nights was at the most unpleasent. The room smelled of urine. The sheets were not clean (pubic hairs). The majority of the staff were not helpful and unpleasent. We asked to have post cards mailed they said ok, then the next day told us if we wanted them mailed we would need to do it ourselves, then asked where the post office was and given incorrect directions. Asking for an extra pillow/towel is unexeptable do not even think about it.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ava289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nice hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The good:
Two kids who worked at the front desk are actually willing to help, nice attitude as well. Walking distance to shops and beach. Very close to train station.

The bad:
Where do I start? well, first of all, the hotel says theres parking available, with limited spots. Make it "extremely limited". If you are unlucky, you have to park far away on the streets. And if the nearby streets are filled up, which is very likely, then you are out of luck. And the area around this hotel isn't the nicest to walk around at night.
There's this funny smell in the hallway, it's definitely not pleasant.
Then theres the bathroom. They don't bother to invest in a shower curtain or glass wall, unlike every other hotel I've stayed in Europe. So the water splash is EVERYWHERE. The whole bath room will get wet. My wife put all her stuff outside the bathroom.
The toilet has some remaining stuff at the bottom I couldn't figure what it is.
There isn't many power outlets in the room, there only ones are below the night table for those lamps.

Room Tip: No elevator. Try to find a ground floor room if you have lots luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michsyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Thiers / Train Station
Hotel du Midi
Hotel du Midi
#74 of 204 in Nice
82 reviews
Armenonville Hotel
#112 of 204 in Nice
181 reviews
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anis Hotel
#109 of 204 in Nice
263 reviews
Le Panoramic
#78 of 204 in Nice
191 reviews
Thiers / Train Station
Ibis Styles Nice Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Durante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Durante

Property: Hotel Durante
Address: 16 avenue Durante, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Thiers / Train Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Durante 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very Quiet hotel in the city center, close to all ameneties and also easy and stressless access to Monaco by train in 20mn. Free Wifi and Free parking places.According to our guests, you will particularly enjoy the garden planted with orange, lemon and olive trees.All of the rooms are unique, colored in different atmospheres. Looking forward to welcoming you in the next future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Durante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durante Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing