We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location and a pleasant hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Durante

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Durante
Ranked #99 of 204 Hotels in Nice
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Convenient location and a pleasant hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very convenient for the station yet in a quiet location away from the main road. It looks very attractive from the putside and the gardens are lovely. Our room was acceptable but rather outdated. There was a wardrobe but no drawers and no suitable coat hangers for hanging trousers. The wifi in the bedroom wasn't very good and we often had to go in the corridor to access it. We were disappointed that the hot tub advertised on Booking.com is no longer available.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ceebee1444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    102
    47
    18
    12
See reviews for
24
118
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

The hotel is located very close to the train station, which was very convenient for us as we intended to rent a car at the station for our day trip to the gorge du Verdon and for our day trip by train to Monaco and Villefranche-sur-Mer for the beach. It is also not a bad walk to get to the Promenade des Anglais and the rest of the city.

The rooms are large enough, however, a little basic. Its furniture was functional but there wasn’t a shower partition in our room, which allowed the water to hit the floor. Additionally, there were some ants in our room upon arrival, but the staff was quick to remedy it by applying an ant killer to the places where they were coming into the room.

Overall, if you are looking for an affordable no frills place to stay then this is a good option, especially if you want mobility to get out of the city to other places in the surrounding area.

Room Tip: The rooms that face the garden tend to be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelin_thru12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights after travelling from Venice throught the Italian Riviera and back down into the French Riviera. Its very close to the main Train Station in nice and its only a short walk to the centre.
Our initial perception was positive as it looks nice from the outside and the reception is nice too.
The main problem is that the room we had was out onto a communal garden and people were noisy at night out there. We are the type of travellers that like an early rise and get out to see the sights so being in bed by 12 is a must.
The room itself was ok but a bit dated and small. The plug in the bath did't work so I just had showers, which was a pity cause it was a big tub and a soak in it after being out walking all day would have been relaxing.
Another problem occured with paying for the room. We booked with our bank card for every hotel we stayed in, and payed with our credit card that we had put the 'hotel money' on.
The hotel placed a 'money pending' notice on the bank card about a week before we got to the hotel. This limited the amount of spending money we had access to while travelling through Italy. I emailed the hotel to inform them that we would be paying with a different card when we arrived and that they have now caused us a problem with our spending money. They didn't care one tiny bit! We stayed in 12 hotels throughout our traveling and this hotel was the only one to do something like this. This had a knockon effect on direct debits that were going out of our bank account and also cost us more money as we had to then rely on a third credit card that was our emergency fund. I emailed the hotel a few times to plead with them to remove the 'money pending notice' but they just refused.
When we got to the hotel we paid with the credit card we assigned for accomodation and they removed the 'pending' notice, but it still took our bank another week to release our money.
Having access to our travel money wasn't something we needed to worry about so if you do decide to sat here, get a room on one of the upper floors, and watch for the money pending if your on a tight budget.

Room Tip: Saty away from the 'Garden Room's - Very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RedRebel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nice hotels

Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Personal looking and really comfortable hotel close to railway station. Good and friendly service, hotel even had a white cat as a part of the staff.
Nice garden area, where breakfast can be eaten whn weather is for it. Single room was spaceous, nothing extra, but everything worked well. Good price/value -relation.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Kasawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

This hotel is near the center of the city, it's like 10 minutes walk from the quay. It has its own parking, so there is no problem to leave a car there, even after checkout, which was very convenient. All was great except the mosquitos, but I assume this as my own fault for leaving the window opened. THe staff speaks english and french.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vladimir I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lostwithiel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We traveled to Nice by plane and were going on by train to Scilly so wanted to be near the station. Areas around all stations in big cities are somewhat run down and seedy and this was the case for the hotel. However the hotel itself was in a quiet cul-de-sac and away from any trouble. It was clean, largish room, friendly staff and close to town centre and promenade. It had a nice garden, parking (not used) and good breakfast. We stayed four days and lived it. Good value.

Room Tip: Get a room that overlooks the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Makgoesforit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faridabad, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Very close to main train station but still very peaceful. It is a nice old building converted to hotel with a private garden. Rooms do need little upgrading, cupboard is very small and inconvenient. Breakfast is good. Staff is courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amrchopra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Armenonville Hotel
#112 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Thiers / Train Station
Hotel du Midi
Hotel du Midi
#79 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Anis Hotel
#118 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Panoramic
#81 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Thiers / Train Station
Ibis Styles Nice Centre Gare
Hotel Villa Les Cygnes
#21 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Durante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Durante

Property: Hotel Durante
Address: 16 avenue Durante, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Thiers / Train Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Durante 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very Quiet hotel in the city center, close to all ameneties and also easy and stressless access to Monaco by train in 20mn. Free Wifi and Free parking places.According to our guests, you will particularly enjoy the garden planted with orange, lemon and olive trees.All of the rooms are unique, colored in different atmospheres. Looking forward to welcoming you in the next future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Durante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durante Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing