We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still happy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Saint-Georges
Ranked #176 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 9 October 2010

I have stayed in quite a few hotels in Nice and, in spite of the bad reviews, keep returning to the St Georges when they have space. I like the location as it is quiet and not too far from either bus or train station or from the old town. On this visit the room was clean, a decent size and fairly modern. Shower room was immaculate with good water pressure and plenty of hot water, things that are not always found in old French hotels. The place is certainly not luxury but I don't expect that for 70 euro. The newish manager is pleasant, polite and speaks reasonable English.

My attitude to hotels is to pay a lot and expect luxury or pay very little and hope for decent quality and clean, which is what I have got on each of my dozen or so stays at the St Georges.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2010

My mother and I stayed at this hotel in 2008 during our first trip to Nice. While nothing spectacular, the room was large and the staff friendly. However, during our most recent trip, we found it to be somewhat less "quirky and charming" than we originally remembered. Although we did request two doubles (booked about 8 months in advance), we were given a room with a single, full-size bed and told we could trade rooms the next day. The first room was incredibly dark and dank, did not have a functioning TV (it turned on, but all the channels were "frozen") and when I touched the bedside lamp, was given an immediate and very painful shock. I also called and requested (both in English AND French) an extra pillow for my mom, which never arrived ...

The next day, we were called by the front desk to ask if we'd like to change rooms - which we did. The new room, while larger and with the two beds, as originally requested, was FULL of flies. The window had been left open, presumably by housekeeping, and probably 30 flies were buzzing about. We spent the next hour or so swatting them all with handtowels and 'herding' them out of the window. While we made sure we took care of every last pesky critter, it still made sleeping a bit difficult.

I do hope they'll do a renovation, because this hotel has the potential to be very great, it just appears that there's been some slack in the upkeep since our last stay. The location was convenient, but next time around, I think we'll look for something different.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

I regret to say that I will not recommend this hotel, even though it has a good central location.My partner and I woke up on Monday morning to discover some had let them selves into our room which only could be opened by key while we were sleeping and took €870.The hotel also charged our stay twice with on a credit card that should of only be used to confirm our reservation.This was done with out our authorisation following the theft of our money.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DublinCynthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We were totally disappointed the moment we stepped into our room. There was no air conditioning, the room smelled and the blanket was very old and dirty. the shower spot is too small. everything in the hotel is too old. The shower was split apart when my wife was in the shower the first day and made a hyge mess around the bathroom. Since Nice is a destination mostly for relaxation, we did not spend a long time in our hotel, however it was not a pleasant experience. The only good thing about the hotel is its location which is very close to the main street that is very live and exciting and takes you straight to the sear shore. The staff were fairly OK, although some of them did not like to hear complaints. In general there was no problem with the staff and luckily one of them with whom we dealt the last night was very nice. In general I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mosari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2010

I found this to be a perfectly fine, wonderfully situated, 2 star hotel. I thought I had booked another hotel, but my room here was clean and attractive--no odors. I'm not sure what the problem was with the other reviewers. The staff was helpful, and although the breakfast was minimal, there was a possibility of breakfast in the room, which is now a rarity in France. The TV was a modern flat screen TV with a good 24 hour news channel. The usual hairdryer, etc. was supplied.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank druout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2009

This hotel is a rundown dump, well & truly past it's glory days! We felt like we were the only people staying there, very eerie..... Breakfast was a ripoff..... The whole experience was depressing. Stay ANYWHERE else. We met people on the train going to Cinque Terre, they said they stayed in a great backpacker place near station. Nice is full of beggars & very seedy.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Upon entering the hotel foyer we were greeted by a strong smell of cat urine. The room was very dark and dirty, ants crawled around the floor of the bathroom, bed side lamp shade had a big hole in it. So bad we did not even unpack any of our luggage and left early next morning.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jayjayAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel Belle Meuniere
#139 of 203 in Nice
139 reviews
Centre
Hotel Lafayette Nice
Hotel Lafayette Nice
#82 of 203 in Nice
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel de Verdun
Hotel de Verdun
#115 of 203 in Nice
307 reviews
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Hotel le Lausanne
#127 of 203 in Nice
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint-Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint-Georges

Address: 7 avenue Georges Clemenceau, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Price Range: £49 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint-Georges 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Saint-Georges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Georges Hotel Nice
Hotel Saint Georges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing