We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“victory for Victoria”
Review of Open House Nice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Open House Nice
Ranked #8 of 64 Speciality Lodging in Nice
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This hostel was indeed a blessing for us on our trip as it was perfectly located to enable us to experience Nice. Access to food was extremely convenient with a delightful little Patisserie a stone's throw away and a host of other restaurants as well. The old town of Nice was only about a 10 minute walk away, as well as the Promenade des Anglais. The highlight was the excellent service we enjoyed from the owner, Valerio. His amicable character and warm hospitality made us feel welcome instantly and he was extremely understanding and went the extra mile to meet our needs throughout. If you want comfortable accommodation, a great location, awesome service, and excellent value for money, this is the place to go!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed it. The location was perfect, right next to the city centre! The rooms were clean, cozy and comfortable, the people were friendly and nice. The owner took time to explain to us in great detail about Nice and the places of attraction so that we could maximize our satisfaction in the trip.

Would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a place in Nice! Great value for

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charmaine0318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Reading the past reviews and chuckling because someone referred to Valerio as legend. I couldn't agree more. Valerio is the host with the most. I have never felt more welcome, more at home, or more looked after. The hostel location is perfect. It's super clean and the rooms are thoughtfully organized with drinking cups, table & chairs, paper towels, hair dryer, fridge, free towels & very clean linens, and even a balcony. The other guests were incredibly friendly. It's a great place if you want to party with your new hostel friends but also a place where you can relax and have a quiet night in. Kitchen has two stovetops and a great atmosphere if you want to cook and share a meal in good company. Free coffee and tea in the morning (real Italian coffee, Valerio doesn't joke around). The only problem is you might not want to leave. In fact, I am heading back in a few days! Thank you Valerio and company for a very memorable stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caterina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I stayed here with a friend during Carnaval in Nice. Even with the festivities, the hostel is on a quiet side street and there was no noise during the night. The location was fantastic! The rooms were very clean with cute comforters and free towels in the bathrooms, and plenty of storage space. Everything about this hostel is thoughtfully arranged--from the bath mat outside the shower to the tiny but cute kitchen area. This is no surprise because Val, who runs the hostel, is the most thoughtful hostel person I've ever met! Hang out and chat with him if you get the chance, because he's super nice! He gave us tons of information about sites, bars, and other things to do and see. The only possible downside of the hostel is that it's small, but we certainly had enough room. There's a common space where Val hangs out with the kitchen, and he organized a group dinner one night too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

My husband and I (30s) stayed here for a week in early October. The 4 person mixed dorm has it's own bathroom (tiny but clean), sink and little fridge. The mattresses are twin, clean and comfy; the bunkbed frames don't creak when you move, which is can be really annoying in a shared dorm :)
It was clean and is in a really central location- 5 minutes or less to Old Nice, the tramway and Place Massena- but on a side street so it's not too loud. There is a great little bakery just around the corner from it, too. It was cheaper than the big hostel in Nice that everyone talks about- I have no complaints about the price. The guy who runs it (Val) is SO helpful and sweet. And we had no problems with noise- they had a party one night but it wasn't loud enough to keep us up. We would *definitely* stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janet_120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

the location is really good. its 5 minutes to walk to massena square, old town and also sea. also 15 min to walk to train station and easy to find. there is a kitchen in a room but it was not really clean. i think its abit expensive if i think about the room but dont forget that its in nice. the italian owner gives you a map and information about places to travel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DogusErdogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I went to Nice in July with my parents. We stayed at Victoria Meuble hostel for 4 nights.
There's no denying that it is definitely a youth hostel, not really meant for older people.
We did not expect a whole lot more, though, because we knew we were going to stay at a budget hostel.
Some of the things bothered me a little bit, though, there was no place to eat. We had breakfast every morning in our room but had to sit on the beds and create a table out of two stools from the room.
They could also use an air conditioner as it gets REALLY hot in nice during the summer.

Bunkbeds were not comfortable and were making a lot of noise even if you tried to move a tiny bit...

The receptionist was a young guy who was always very nice and helpful. Sometimes we saw him going out on the beach with the hostel guests, which I thought was very nice.

Location is absolutely perfect!!

Bring earplugs with you if you want to sleep well because you will hear all kinds of noises (especially from the corridor) to the room really well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heidi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Hotel Monsigny
#11 of 203 in Nice
424 reviews
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel du Centre
#53 of 203 in Nice
41 reviews
Hotel Parisien
#98 of 203 in Nice
138 reviews
Hostel Meyerbeer
#1 of 64 in Nice
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Open House Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Open House Nice

Address: 6 rue Docteur Jacques Guidoni, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Victoria House)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 64 Speciality Lodging in Nice
Price Range: £25 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi ! Welcome to our page, Our aim is to welcome you in Nice and help you to make the best of your stay with our knowledge about Nice and surrounding areas. Stay with us and visit 3 nations at the cheapest price with our tips : FRENCH RIVIERA, MONACO,ITALIAN RIVIERA. Our hostel is excellent both for having fun and sightseeing. The hostel staff will take care of you with city information and tips for going out, local restaurants, events. We like travelling and of course we like travellers !! We like to keep our guests together : Night ; going to pubs , beach parties or dining nights. Day ; info about museums and culture, about best beaches for sunbathing and surrounding cities. We probably are the BEST LOCATED HOSTEL in Nice !! 100 meters away from MASSENA SQUARE (city main square), 100 meters away from the OLD TOWN AND ALL THE PUBS and club (World famous WAYNE'S bar is 5 minutes away), 2 minutes by walk to the PROMENADE DES ANGLAIS and its BEACHES. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Open House Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing