We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good on a budget with a small bathroom”
Review of Open House Nice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Open House Nice
Ranked #9 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Nice
Melbourne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good on a budget with a small bathroom”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Very good location and guy was super friendly!
Only downfall is that the bathroom sink was so tiny that I couldn't even brush my teeth properly and that it was super hot and only a small fan for a large room

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacinta04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    22
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
10
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Great location! Central to the main square and Old Town aka it's not a hike to get back from the pub or the shops. The staff are really friendly and welcomed me as soon as I walked in. It was such a good atmosphere with everyone getting along and keen to go out together. Val is so knowledgeable with the area and is happy to help in any way he can. Definitely two thumbs up!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celeryugia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hostel is situated at the flank of the old town, right next to the main square in Nice (~2 mins walk). Approximately 5 mins from the beach, this hostel couldn't be greater with its location. The friendliness of Valerio (hostel staff) and fellow travellers is no doubt the highlight of my trip to Nice. It is not uncommon for people to start gathering in the common area between 8-10pm for drinks before heading out to great local bars and pubs, making it perfect for solo travellers and making friends. Valerio also offers excellent and practical tips and advices for travelling around the Cote d'Azur region. All in all, one of the best hostel experiences so far.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hslim26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Three friends and I spent two and a half weeks touring Europe, and this was our favourite hostel. First, you are given clear instructions on how to get to the hostel, which is about a 10 minute walk from the main train station. The location is perfect, everything is within walking distance. The room itself (we had a private room for 4 people) was very nice and clean. The bathroom was a bit small, but this is not uncommon for Europe. Val, the guy that runs the hostel, is such a nice person and extremely helpful. He provided us with lots of recommendations for food and activities, and was very nice to include us in all of the social activities of the hostel. Every night at 9pm, people meet up in the common room and then eventually head out to the surrounding bars. We made lots of great friends because of this hostel, it's a great place to meet people! I would definitely recommend this hostel to any group of young backpackers, like us, as you are guaranteed to have a blast!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here twice on our trip around Europe, once for three night in a 4-bed dorm, and once for one night in the private room. Valerio, who ran the place, is a fantastic host, and is very easy to deal with. He offers great advice on Nice and surrounding areas and town on the Cote d'Azur. They have arrange social nights with other guests, a kitchen at your disposal, and free umbrellas and mats for use on the unforgiving rocks on the beach. The place is clean and provides the necessities. Although it is very noisy at night, especially on the street side. For a backpacker, it is a great spot because it is centrally located, is social, and by comparison to other accommodation in the area, it is extremely affordable. The lockers and other furniture could do with some updating, but for a short stay in Nice, you can't go wrong with Victoria Meubles.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDF86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a few days while I explored the Cote D'Azur. Very central location with shops, a gorgeous bakery, bike stations and the Promenade a 5 min walk. Val (the manager) was always friendly and helpful. I stayed in a 6-bed dorm. The room was a good size, ensuite and with its own fridge (handy as the one in the kitchen was quite full). The water in the showers was always hot and I felt perfectly safe walking around in the area.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Voyager1745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

There is no need to add more positive comment actually, for all the good points mentioned in reviews below were all true and we have had 4 wonderful days staying at this peaceful and quiet hostel with the fantastic hosts who really cared for their guests, (whatever needed were provided even umbrella and mat for the seaside rest), thanks Valerio, you are terrific.

The 4 beds dorm was spacious, clean, and breezy equipped with washing sink, stoves, microwave, fan, lamp and though the toilet was a bit small but the toiletries were of good qualities.

Follow the directions given by the hostel but from Gare de Nice Ville train station, take the Tram and you would arrive at the hostel in less than 10 minutes. (see the photos illustration below and you will find how convenient it was).

Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wutkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Aston La Scala
Hotel Aston La Scala
#54 of 205 in Nice
1,088 reviews
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Centre
Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Acanthe
Hotel Acanthe
#154 of 205 in Nice
236 reviews
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Open House Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Open House Nice

Property: Open House Nice
Address: 6 rue Docteur Jacques Guidoni, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Victoria House)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi ! Welcome to our page, Our aim for 2014 is to welcome you in Nice and help you to make the best of your stay with our knowledge about Nice and surrounding areas. Stay with us and visit 3 nations at the cheapest price with our tips : FRENCH RIVIERA, MONACO,ITALIAN RIVIERA. Our hostel is excellent both for having fun and sightseeing. The hostel staff will take care of you with city information and tips for going out, local restaurants, events. We like travelling and of course we like travellers !! We like to keep our guests together : Night ; going to pubs , beach parties or dining nights. Day ; info about museums and culture, about best beaches for sunbathing and sourranding cities. We probably are the BEST LOCATED HOSTEL in Nice !! 100 Meters away from MASSENA SQUARE (city main square), 100 meters away from the OLD TOWN AND ALL THE PUBS and club (World famous WAYNE'S bar is 5 minutes away), 2 minutes by walk to the PROMENADE DES ANGLAIS and its BEACHES. 10 Minutes by walking from SNCF Nice Ville train station, 30 minutes by bus from the International airport of Nice. 1 BUS TO MONACO stops just 100 meters away from the hostel (Jc Bermond Station) It only takes 30 minutes to get to Monaco. In the same station you can also get 1 BUS TO : CANNES, ANTIBES, EZE VILLAGE, GRASSE, SAINT PAUL DE VENCE, MENTON. Bus schedule and extra information at the reception. TRAINS TO ITALY (7€, 45 minutes) leaves also frequently, visit the flower riviera of italy ! Ventimiglia, Sanremo, Bordighera We would like to warmly welcome you with a free drink and a lot of advice in our brand new common room and our spacious rooms all including private bathroom with shower, lockers. We like our guests and we like to be clear with them!!! NO HIDDEN CHARGES !! - FREE LINEN - FREE TOWELS (also beach towels and mats) - FREE CITY MAP/INFO MATERIALS - FREE COMPUTERS USE AND WI-FI (fast wi-fi in every room) - FREE LUGGAGE STORAGE - FREE LOCKERS USE (with free padlocks) - FREE HAIRDRYERS - NEVER-ENDING HOT SHOWERS - SKYPE PHONES - BOOK EXCHANGE - TAXES INCLUDED IN THE PRICE DO YOU LIKE COOKING? We have a large and fully equipped kitchen. We also have computers with free internet as well as WIFI available in all rooms. We offer you free coffee and tea all day long. There is a delicious (and cheap) french bakery for your breakfast just around the corner !!! Supermarket is 1 minute away from the hostel. There is no curefew ; you get the key to the room and you can go IN AND OUT AT ANYTIME YOU WISH. Check in must be between 14:00 to 22:00. For different time please call or e-mail us for an appointment. Check-out is before 10.30 Come have a drink with us and to enjoy the beautiful city of Nice !! Nice is Better if you stay with us :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Open House Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing