We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fascinating stalls of flowers, fruit and soap”

Marche aux Fleurs Cours Saleya
Book In Advance
More Info
US$72.06*
and up
Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties
Ranked #11 of 218 things to do in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This popular open-air marketplace features flowers, food items, produce and live fowl directly from the neighboring farms.
London
Level Contributor
481 reviews
173 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“Fascinating stalls of flowers, fruit and soap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

The market in the morning makes a very pleasant visit - a fascinating collection of flower stalls, including a large number selling miniature orange, lemon and olive trees. As you progress westwards, the stalls change to fruit, charcuterie and other local items, including one stall with a huge selection of local soaps. We were here around lunchtime and it was fascinating to see the stalls come done and turn into overflow for the surrounding restaurants.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan8552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    256
    60
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
148 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Flowers, food, local color abound!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

A market by day and street cafes by night. It was interesting to see the transformation at the end of the day. There are different markets on different days so check with your concierge or guide book. The food and flower market is a photographer's delight, filled with beautiful bouquets, interesting foods, wonderfully fragrant soaps, fruits and veggies, plants, art work, and interesting people - to name just a few. It encompasses a couple of blocks along an area filled with other shops parallel to the sea side. I recommend to walk the entire market before making a purchase as the prices can be slightly different stall to stall and sometimes less expensive than in the souvenir type shops The market is also "famous" for the Socca, it is basically a fried chickpea dough with olive oil, which is really quite tasty, however I have had better at another location in Nice.

If you choose to eat at one of the restaurants there, pay attention to see if there are other people eating there or they are just having a drink. I have eaten "moules et frites", salad nicoise, and pasta in the street cafes and found them all very nice. However, I do tend to look to see where the locals are eating and choose those places.

You can spend a little or a lot of time at the market, check it out on your way to Castle Hill or to the beach. I have been to Nice several times and always go to the market for interesting photos and souvenirs.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Canrej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Don't eat here - just buy from the market”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

I have NEVER had a good meal at a restaurant in Cours Saleya. This last one was the WORST meal my friends (who chose to go here) had ever had. I had to agree. Too many restaurants in other locations. Only lazy tourists go here. Ha!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank JudyJudyJudyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Charming atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stimulate your senses with the vibrant colors, aromatic smells and busy sounds of the market. You can buy fresh and dried flowers, food, clothes, soap, tourist crap, herbs, spices, art and more. We even found candied flower petals. Best to arrive earlier rather than later as some vendors leave earlier than others.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
216 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Interesting antique market”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

The timing of our visit was such that we missed the food market, but we were happy anyway to walk around the antiques market, held every Monday. It is quite easy to find once you've entered the Old Town as there are signboards around directing you there.

There are all kinds of things being sold, from vintage kitchenware and paintings, to vintage stamps and postcards. You may find something small and affordable you like to buy home as a souvenir from Nice.

If you are searching for Wifi, you may also well find some restaurants around the market offering free Wifi, so you can use your phone while your friends/partner looks around the market.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marche aux Fleurs Cours Saleya also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Marche aux Fleurs Cours Saleya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing