We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION”
Review of Hotel La Perouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel La Perouse
Ranked #4 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Odiham, Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION”
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Not just the location of the hotel (splendidly sited at the upper end of the Promenade des Anglais) but the location of our room. We'd paid a supplement to have a room with a sea view, and were fortunate to be given one of those on the 4th floor (407, to be precise, if you want to ask for that one, though there were others similarly well placed), not just with a sea view reaching right across the bay to the airport at the other end, but also hidden from traffic and traffic noise because of houses or apartments situated in front of and just below us. This was a bonus: I'd been expecting that the 'price' we'd have to pay for a sea view would be continuous racket coming from the 24-hour drive-by noise along the sea front - but in fact, at night, we couldn't hear anything.
In addition, the hotel was immaculate and the service almost impeccable. Occasionally the Reception staff weren't as helpful as they could have been when asked questions about railway and bus timetables; on the other hand, the Restaurant was excellent, and I'd recommend the Provencal wines there to anyone, especially the Domaine Ott.
We had a great time and would undoubtedly go back when we can next afford the kind of luxury that La Perouse offers. It was the sort of hotel that makes you believe you can afford lunch at the Negresco (which we did enjoy, by the way).

Room Tip: Pay the supplement and take a sea-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TedJohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    772
    362
    97
    40
    30
See reviews for
193
763
46
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new york city
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

This hotel probably has the best view and nicest location in all of Nice. It is also smaller and offers a great alternative to the huge and impersonal hotels along the water. If you don't get a room with a view of the sea then you should stay at another hotel. You are paying for the view and boy is it spectacular! The staff was nice and the pool area was lovely as was the rooftop terrace. However, if it were not for the view, I would have given this hotel 3 stars.

I have the following comments:

1. Beds were not comfortable and the sheets and duvet were stiff and cheap.
2. Turndown service was not good and we didn't even receive the service one night.
3. The bathroom was very nice and modern but the rest of the room looked like a Holiday Inn.
4. Even though breakfast was included in our room rate, at checkout they told us there was a charge for having breakfast in our room. There was nothing to indicate this on the breakfast order form and none of the other hotels that we stayed in during our two week stay imposed such a charge. We complained but they did nothing. We felt this was a bit cheap.

Although I have some reservations, I would definitely recommend this hotel because of the location, view, size and nice staff and pool.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nyc1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We stayed 3 nights here and it turned out to be perfect for what we were looking for. A lovely spacious clean room decorated in neutral tones. We had a balcony with a side view of the Mediterranean. A perfectly relaxing place in the Riviera to kick our feet up after touring and doing some side trips to Eze, Monaco, Antibe and others. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. When we returned from a day tour we arrived in our room to a hand written message from the desk notifying us of a missed phone call and the message from the sender. We thought that was a nice touch and very thoughtful as well. Our breakfast was very nice and had the usual things expected from a European hotel. We enjoy a great cup cappuccino and we were provided that each morning which helped to kick started each day. We would definitely choose this hotel again!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeasTheDayToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hperouse2010, Director of Sales at Hotel La Perouse, responded to this review, 3 June 2011
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel la Perouse and we are looking forward welcoming you again soon in Nice.
Kind regards,

Irina IOVAN
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

We booked for 6 nights after reading Trip Advisor reports, (and because my parents stayed several times about 30 years ago and thought it was great). We weren't disappointed. It's a lovely hotel, with charming staff, and a great location. No point in repeating what other reviewers have already said, but a few random observations in no particular order:

1) Expensive, but we found a very good b&b deal at one of the online booking agencies - but only one.
2) All sea view rooms looked good but side rooms are a bit pot luck. The fifth floor seemed best, where rooms get more light and you might see a bit of the sea. Garden facing rooms are better than those facing the cliff (506 was perfect), though you may get to hate the accordian playing busker in the public gardens the other side of the fence. If at the top, be prepared for several different lifts or a lot of stairs.
3) There are two car hire places round the corner by the port and you can play them off against each other, at least in May. Parking in the Minerva Car Hire lot for 5 euros a day is a bonus.
4) Taxi from the airport at 35 euros is not cheap for a 15 minute ride!
5) Aircon is good but polyester duvets and foam mattresses make the nights too hot. A sheet and blanket can be provided.
6) Of the myriad restaurants in the nearby Cours Saleya (in the Old Town), we recommend the Cambuse and the Cafe del'Arte. Some are dreadful. We didn't eat in the hotel, except breakfast. It wasn't that much more expensive than eating out but you miss the café society buzz. Pretty setting for breakfast and a decent spread, but expensive if not included.
7) Avoid Eze - like Ikea on a bad Sunday. Instead visit the Rothschild Villa (beautiful gardens) and the Greek Villa Kerylos (amazing repro Athenian villa), both less than five miles away.
8) Oh yes... we didn't use it, but lovely pool.
9) Free wi-fi! Unusual in France.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank src1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hperouse2010, Director of Sales at Hotel La Perouse, responded to this review, 3 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time sending your review. I was a true pleasure welcoming you at the Hotel la Perouse in Nice and we are looking forward having you with us again soon.

Kind regards,

Irina Iovan
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

I've stayed here twice and enjoyed both times. The hotel service is very good and the pool and views are magnificent! The hotel restaurant is not bad either. Some rooms are rather small, though and the bar service is not as excellent all times, but I'm definitely coming back!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ella91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Super hotel in a great location with Old town, beach and harbour easily walkable. Staff very helpful & friendly. Room had a sea view with a large terrace - probably one of the best we have ever had. Pool very pleasant .

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Persephone20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Wonderful stay in this hotel (2nd time - and we rarely go back somewhere twice). The views from the balcony and rooftop are superb, the service is first class and there really is no competition. It is not a cheap option. If you feel the seaview rooms are beyond your budget, go elsewhere as some of the standard rooms have very poor outlooks and the real joy is the view. Everywhere is walkable from the hotel and despite the waterfront location, the hotel is very quiet - soundproofing is excellent. . The restaurant, Le Lunen, in the port, is less than 5 minutes walk and we enjoyed the food and relaxed, inexpensive food and ambience there. We are already wondering when to return to La Perouse!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flying_rugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Hotel Negresco
#18 of 204 in Nice
2,336 reviews
Hotel Suisse
#7 of 204 in Nice
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Perouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Perouse

Property: Hotel La Perouse
Address: 11 quai Rauba-Capeu, 06300 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#7 Family Hotel in Nice
#12 Business Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Perouse 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Perouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perouse Nice
Resort La Perouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing