We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Perouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Perouse
Ranked #4 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

There are many reasons why I count this as my favourite hotel: perfect location minutes from Nice's old town, harbour and directly across from the beach, friendly, helpful staff, fabulous rooms, breathtaking views and amazing restaurant.
My friend and I stayed here last year in a standard room and were more than happy to repeat the experience this year, but were overjoyed on our arrival to be upgraded to a sea-view room without even asking for it.
I can't thank the staff enough for making our second stay (of many more, I hope) an absolute pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deadviasatellite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    726
    344
    94
    36
    26
See reviews for
176
726
39
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burgau Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

The best location we ever had in France.
The welcome of the staff, the room - we had got an upgrade - was most wonderful,
one can't explain it in words. Then the breakfast which we also enjoyed very much,
there is all you want. We also had wonderful days on the pool where you can relax
in a wonderful and quiet athmosphere. The lunch was great, very delicious,
you can also eat in the evening a very fine meal. We stayed longer as we had booked
and even changed our flight because of this wonderful house.
The whole staff was so friendly, especially at breakfast time the service is very good.

We are sure to come back to this lovely place as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Take a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

My husband and I were beyond excited to stay at Hotel La Perouse for our honeymoon in mid-March. We had looked through all the photos online, read quite a few reviews, and thought it was going to be a perfect hotel to celebrate our new marriage. However, we were so disappointed.
We arrived at the hotel at 3pm and our room was not ready. We had just had a 6 hour train ride from Paris, and were exhausted but couldn't believe they didn't have things ready for us. Maybe this is too much to assume, but we also thought they would maybe upgrade us to a nicer room since we was off-season and they were aware we were on our honeymoon, but to our disappointment we were only offered 2 glasses of champange. Not a bottle, just two glasses.
Once we took the 2 elevators up to our room we were sad to find a very small, plain room with a "garden view," which was actually the side of a huge rock that allowed for no sunlight to even enter our room. It honestly made us feel quite claustrophobic. To make matters worse our TV remote didn't work, the staff was quite rude, and we felt like we were nickle and dimed everywhere. Basic coffee wasn't even included in our room package! Our only option was to pay $24 a piece for breakfast (that's about $66 USD for two of us), but we obviously declined and got breakfast for about 5 euro at the local market.
The hotel assured us if we ever needed dinner reservation or help with anything to contact them, so when we decided we wanted to attend the Opera we asked the hotel staff if they could help us book tickets. We asked at least 3 different front desk members, and they were incredibly rude and of no help at all. Maybe the language barrier was just too confusing, but for a 4 star hotel, we expected a little more help.
All in all, the only thing we really like about this hotel was the location. Right along the beautiful sea and minutes away from Old Nice. However, we were really sad we chose to stay at this hotel. You always dream of how perfect your honeymoon will be and this hotel was a serious disappointment in terms of service and value.

Room Tip: Please do not book a "garden room." The 'garden' is actually a rock surface which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Weers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hperouse2010, Director of Sales at Hotel La Perouse, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feelings regarding your stay at the Hotel la Pérouse. We are truly disappointed to hear that your once-in-a-life-time experience did not fulfill your expectations and we apologize for all the inconvenience encountered. Indeed, during the 3 days you stayed with us in a standard room the category you booked, the hotel was full with a big convention and we were not able to upgrade you to a superior room. As we know how important honeymoon trips are, we strive to contribute it in most positive ways and the Hotel la Pérouse is known for offering a very high quality of service to our guests and assist them in every single request. We are very surprised to hear about the lack of help in booking Opera tickets especially that our front desk team is used to this kind of request, and we are sorry you interpreted our staff as rude. You can be sure that we will do all necessary in order to avoid this feeling to other guests.
The Hotel la Pérouse is qualified by our guests as the perfect place in Nice to spend a romantic stay or honeymoon, so we are terribly sorry that you did not feel the true core of the property and staff.
Irina Iovan
Sales Manager, Hôtel la Pérouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

The perfect location. On the side of a hill overlooking the beach. Walking distance of old town. The top of the hill has a park with fantastic views.
The hotel was pristine, they upgraded us at no cost. Very clean, stylish, good ammenities. Worth the money.
Beware of the breakfast... It is very good but is 24 euro's per person! Yikes.

Room Tip: Rooms on the East side higher up have great views. We had a verandah which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CndnJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

When we first arrived the bell hop came right out to the car and took our bags and brought them inside for us and also took car of the car. After we checked in, there was a small walk, plus 2 different elevator rides to get to our room. At first I thought, "What did I get us into?" Then we opened the door and "WOW!" What a view from our patio. It over looked the hotel pool and the sea and the city. The staff could not have been any helpful in recommending things to do and see. It was really a wonderful experience, only wished we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Didgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

As a treat to my wife I first took my wife to La Perouse in 2003 and we have returned nearly every year since. It is in a great location only a short walk to both the market and harbour. I love the rustic feel and the restaurant is set beautifully surrounded by lemon trees and the food is recommended.
Even though it is close to the old town and a fairly busy road you cannot hear any noise from same due to its location which is built into the rock face.
My son-in-law even proposed to my daughter on the roof terrace which affords excellent views over Nice.
The rooms are not the biggest but are comfortable and most have been recently refurbished. We go for the room with a terrace and sea view.
It is not the cheapest hotel and accommodation can be pretty expensive but if you are looking for a nice quiet location in a tranquil setting then I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenny w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

The sea view is exceptional.

The location is excellent.

The staff are excellent (front desk, restaurant, services, everyone).

Breakfast is excellent (but if you don't want to pay hotel rates the old town cafes are a five minute stroll). Breakfast on the balcony is such a great experience, it's worth ordering enough to graze through to lunch and let it take up half the day. Same in the evening - champagne on the balcony at sunset is sensational! (Empty the minibar of the various choices and crappy Nicholas Feuillatte at 65 Euro a half bottle and put in a full bottle of Roederer or Jacquesson from the bottleshop down the street for half the price.) In fact you could spend the entire time on the balcony gazing out to sea or down the coast, and not feel that either your time or money was wasted.

I love the location next to the old town and around the corner from the harbour. This was near everything we wanted to do and everywhere we wanted to go, or near the public transport that would take us there. The coastline immediately in front of the hotel gives the best outlook over the Baie des Anges and the Promenade. From our room we felt so, so smug about what a fantastic spot we found ourselves in.

It didn't bother me having to catch a lift from reception to the first floor (where the bar/restaurant is) then walking away from the street, another lift to the 2/3/4 floors where our room was, or another lift again to 5/6 and the roof terrace. All part of the charm of an old building built into the rockface, and it's an asset that it is away from the street where the constant drone of traffic is a bit draining.

I don't know what rates are like in peak summertime, but we paid a premium to stay over New Year's Eve and would be happy to return. This isn't a cookie cutter hotel, it's charming and very, very comfortable, in a wonderful location and with a stupendous view.

Room Tip: A sea view room is the only way to stay here... you won't regret paying more when you see the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mr_Henry_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hperouse2010, Responsable commercial at Hotel La Perouse, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about our property.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and your room with a breathtaking sea view.
As you mentioned, you need to take several lifts to reach the solarium and roof top terrace. This is because our hotel was built in the 1930's on the rock of the Clastle Hill. This particular and exceptional situation is why the hotel is so charming and unique.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Magdaléna Lozinski
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Negresco
#14 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
Hotel Suisse
#7 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Perouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Perouse

Property: Hotel La Perouse
Address: 11 quai Rauba-Capeu, 06300 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#7 Family Hotel in Nice
#12 Business Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Perouse 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Perouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perouse Nice
Resort La Perouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing