We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great break”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Perouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Perouse
Ranked #4 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We had a standard room that was of a good size and very clean - a real positive for me. As it was the last room available for the time we wanted, I can't complain though I will try and book earlier next time to secure a sea view which I imagine would have been fantastic. The layout is unusual and it wasn't until somebody explained that the hotel is actually six floors up, did it start to make sense! There was free basic internet Wi-Fi but high speed Wi-Fi was additional - we used the basic system and it did what we needed perfectly well.

Location wise, it was fab - in between the old town and the port. Restaurants and walks either way.

The staff were attentive and really friendly which was great and a real positive.

Other than for breakfast, which was excellent, we didn't eat in the hotel so I can't comment on the quality or indeed the price of the food.

One oddity I did find was that the pool didn't get heated until the end of April - we did swim but it was chilly and it seemed ironic that the pool would be heated for the summer!

Overall, no complaints at all and as with my other reviews, the question I ask myself is whether I would go back to the hotel and Nice - the answer is absolutely. The hotel was great and we enjoyed Nice very much.

As an aside, we had a taxi from the airport to the hotel - it was about 35E which seemed a lot but was worth it we decided.

And finally, we did manage to get to Monaco for a day - glad I've been but I have no intention of going back. We used the train to get there - about 20 minutes from Nice - very easy but it was crammed on the way back.......and really grubby.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CKB66CKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    726
    346
    94
    36
    26
See reviews for
176
728
39
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Having done loads of research came to La Perouse. Good choice! A wonderful hotel impeccable service and a lovely warm quiet feeling. Great pool to cool off in.
For me breakfast is very important and the choice and quality were great.
Just came for three nights. Wish I had stayed longer. Loads to see in a Nice and easy to take a day trip along the coast by train.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vic_levy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
131 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Loved our room facing down the promenade. Location next to the old town and not far from the port was excellent. Dinner at Le Patio superb, as was breakfast in morning. We used the high speed internet which we negotiated as part of the rate.

Room Tip: Get room facing the sea. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RittSq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level Contributor
66 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

La Perouse is located near the old town (vielle ville) of Nice. The hotel is perched vertically on a rock and you will need to take 2 sets of elevator to get to your room. The porter will help you with maneuvering your luggage to the top. We had a lovely ocean view room and it was slightly on the small side for size. However, the view made up for the lack of sq footage and we really enjoyed looking out the window. The bathroom is also a little small but it is an old property (and France!)

The concierge is very friendly and he parks your car near a close by parking lot. Walking to the old town takes 10-15 minutes and you can visit the Marche au Fleur and sample different seasonal produce on offer. The front desk staff are also very polite and were able to give good restaurant recommendations during off seasons.

Overall, the hotel is good value and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

This is certainly the best situated hotel in whole Nice. Very quiet, but ideally located for sightseeing of the old port, the old city, the Saleya market and the beach. Also, the staff is very friendly and the dinner was delicious.
The patio, swimming pool, roofgarden, whirlpool (with view over the angel's bay) are superbe!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

This was a charming hotel, with quirky layout and perfect positioning. We arrived early and proceeded to test the patience of the desk staff by needing to gain entry to the baggage store four or five times, the smiles never waivered. We had two rooms overlooking the garden terrace .Spotless , extremely comfortable, we did however miss having tea and coffee making facilities .This is a hotel I would return to happily, it would be nice to try the pool and find time for the spa facilities. Everywhere was easy to walk to, the market, harbour, trams, beach. Nice is a wonderful place and this is definitely the Hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank intolerant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hperouse2010, Responsable commercial at Hotel La Perouse, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your opinion and experience at the Hotel la Perouse. We are pleased to know you appreciated the staff, the quality of the rooms and the great positioning of the hotel. We hope having the pleasure of welcoming you soon again.
Kind regards,
Irina Iovan
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Last spring we made our third visit to La Perouse and were once again delighted by our stay. The rooms are invariably comfortable, clean and furnished to a high standard. The Provençal atmosphere is one of serene calm and tranquility. Food is mostly excellent and staff are helpful and friendly. We would love to go back again someday.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hperouse2010, Responsable commercial at Hotel La Perouse, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Peter,
It is such a great compliment to receive your comment as a return guest. We strive to keep the product in its best shape and always offer a nice and quality experience stay. We are looking forward welcoming you next spring in Nice.
Kind regards,
Irina Iovan
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Negresco
#16 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,185 reviews
Hotel Suisse
#7 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Perouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Perouse

Property: Hotel La Perouse
Address: 11 quai Rauba-Capeu, 06300 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#7 Family Hotel in Nice
#12 Business Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Perouse 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Perouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perouse Nice
Resort La Perouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing