We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“standards”
Review of Hotel La Perouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Perouse
Ranked #4 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Firstly - La Perouse IS still the best hotel in Nice , for position / value / staff / chef etc.
BUT -........................
come on guys !! - what has happened to the "buffet breakfast ". ??
It WAS one of the best - now - it is not even average.
EVERYTHING is in short supply , no matter what time you breakfast .
The meats consisted of only a tasteless ham or BADLY sliced salami.
No hot dishes except by paying extra.
Butter and cheeses frozen solid.
We will probably stay again , but would hope that there is a "re-think" on the breakfast.
P.S. - if anyone knows the "secret" of getting a room on the 4th or 5th floors - please tell us !! , as once again we could get no higher than the 3rd. !!, even though we requested higher on our reservation.
Sorry to have to post such a negative re breakfast ( & floor level ) on what is our favourite hotel.

Room Tip: Obiously book a sea view , the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brianandavril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hperouse2010, Director of Sales at Hotel La Perouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Brian and Avril,
Thank you so much for choosing again the Hotel la Perouse for your stay in Nice. We are flattered to know we are your favorite hotel and you consider us the best hotel in Nice; in the same time we are sorry you had a lesser impression of the breakfast change. Indeed we have now a continental buffet available and propose hot dishes on request and with a supplement. This change is actually meant to please a large number of our guests and has been implemented as a result of their suggestions. We will however take good note of your comment. Please try to contact us directly for your next booking and we will do our best to offer a room on a higher floor. We are looking forward welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards,
Irina Iovan Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

514 - 520 of 1,334 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

Location:
- Wonderfully situated at the extremity of the Promenade des Anglais and right next to the old town.
- Close to shops, restaurants and main attractions.
- Easy access to public transportation (e.g. ten minutes’ walk to the buses going to Eze, Monte Carlo etc.).
- Ten minutes by car and twenty five minutes on foot to the Nice SNCF train station.

The Hotel:
- Charming hotel albeit small and rustic. The reception area is small and it is not as straightforward to navigate through the hotel.
- The amenities are quite basic: A small gym and Jacuzzi on the 6th floor, a small outdoor pool.
- The staff are not particularly service orientated/friendly and the quality of service is hit and miss. For instance:
o We called the reception for extra blankets at 10pm and the answer was a blunt ‘no, the staff has gone home’.
o The lady at the reception gave us the wrong information on how to get to the airport and to places around.
o After checking out, we asked the hotel to keep our luggage. When we wanted to collect our luggage, the girl at the reception said that she would rather wait for the porter as it was not her job. The luggage was right in front of her!
- We had a room just by the garden which was lovely. We had to go through the restaurant to get to the hotel which was quite awkward especially on the first day as we were dragging our luggage through the restaurant during the dinner service.
- The room size was average and the room itself was stuffy, smelling of damp and cigarettes. I don’t think the air conditioning was working properly as the room was still stuffy even after reducing the temperature to 16 degrees C. Good size bathroom but the curtain in the tub was not clean and kept clinging on me during the shower.
- Free basic (low-speed) internet is provided, good for emails and basic browsing.
- Breakfast was lovely on the patio in the morning, especially on a sunny day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoRa3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hperouse2010, Director of Sales at Hotel La Perouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for your time and comment. We highly valued this type of feedback and I would like to ensure you that your message was transmitted to all our departments. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences encountered during your stay with us, it is not usual for us receive a low service report. Normally, our staff is one of the main assets of the property and we have very positive comments. However, I am sorry you did not encountered the excepted and normal level of service from our front desk area, we will make sure our new colleague will receive again all the necessary training. Furthermore, we took good note of the comments on the room and please be assured that the necessary action has already been taken.
We are delighted to know you have appreciated the situation of the hotel and the breakfast served on the terrace. We truly hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Hotel la Perouse, as the issues you encountered are definitely isolated cases for us.
Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next booking, we would appreciate the chance to show you the real experience of a stay at the Hotel la Perouse.
Kind regards,
Irina Iovan
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed at La Perouse at the end of the Promenade des Anglaise, Nice for four nights in April 2014. After trying the Hotel de la Mediterranee (Poor), the West End hotel (very poor) and the Negresco (will never return, except to the bar) La Perouse was a truly exceptional hotel experience. The staff were totally delightful; helpful, courteous and willing to go the extra mile to ensure guest satisfaction.
The food in the restaurant was very good; excellently cooked and professionally served.
The only small gripe was that there was no mirror in the bedroom, except for the bathroom mirror.
The bedrooms are rather small, but that shortcoming was more than compensated by all the other positives…including the magnificent views of the Baie des Anges. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Choose a room with sea view...it's worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RodgerSlape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hperouse2010, Director of Sales at Hotel La Perouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for your warm and wonderful comment. We are flattered and delighted to know that the Hotel la Perouse managed to achieve and exceed your expectations. We strive to offer a constant high quality of service and to keep our charming hotel to its best level, it is a pleasure to know all this enhanced your stay in Nice.
We are looking forward to welcoming back soon in Nice.
Kind regards,
Irina Iovan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I loved every minute of our relaxing weekend break here. Firstly it is a very good location - next to the old town for shops and restaurants, round the corner from the fabulous Bistrot du Port at the marina (you would need to book) and next to the lift up to the ruined castle and park with panoramic views over Nice and along the coast.

We had a very warm welcome from reception. We got there early as we had an early flight out from Bristol and were told that our room could be available from 12 noon which we appreciated. Staff throughout the hotel were unfailingly polite & helpful. Our superior seaview room was immaculate with a small balcony and great views. There was enough room for storage although I would have preferred a bath rather than shower - a minor point & no real problem for a weekend.

The pool area was very quiet when we were at the hotel. I had the pool to myself & the area was beautifully maintained - it does feel like a little oasis away from the promenade which was fairly hectic even in April.

Breakfast out in the Le Patio restaurant was super - lots of choice & it was great to people watch as we sat under the shade of an orange tree. There is an additional cost for omlettes & scrambled eggs ( 10 euro for the omlette option) - but given the choice from the buffet we were not tempted. There is a squeeze your own orange juice machine that I found rather splashy - you have been warned!

We had a cocktail and then dinner on our first night. I thought the prices fair for the quality and service. The wine we chose was 50 euro - but that was for a bottle of very nice Sancerre. We also were given a Limoncello each at the end of our meal which was appreciated.

Wines by the glass in the bar area were reasonable - 9 euro for a glass of Sancerre - which in this location seemed good value for me.

I would return next time I am in Nice.

The clientele were generally well heeled older people from England, America & Japan - who all seemed to go to bed early - as indeed did we!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JuwariahBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hperouse2010, Director of Sales at Hotel La Perouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for sharing the experience of your stay at the Hotel la Perouse. We are truly delighted to see your great comment and we are thrilled to know you enjoyed every minute of your time here. Don’t hesitate to contact us directly for your next booking. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Nice.
Kind regards,
Irina Iovan
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Recommended by two friends, separately. I was first deterred by comments that it was unsuitable for people with limited mobility. So, I emailed the hotel and was assured that, if I could manage a few steps to reception and a few more to the dining room (if used) it was OK. I had no problem but it would not be suitable for someone in a wheelchair. Transport was arranged to and from Nice Airport and was good, but it would be much cheaper to take the airport bus. Buffet breakfast was good. Staff were very friendly and helpful. For the first time in 40 years of travelling, I forgot to take a 3-pin adapter; one was supplied in minutes!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are worth the extra Euros.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hperouse2010, Director of Sales at Hotel La Perouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for your nice comment, we highly appreciate your evaluation with 40 years of travelling experience. We hope to see you soon again at the Hotel la Perouse, a true hidden gem full of charm of Nice!
Kind regards,
Irina Iovan
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My husband and I stayed in a junior suite at Hotel La Perouse in April of 2014. This hotel was amazing and absolutely gorgeous! The hotel was very clean, the staff was very friendly, and the food in the on-site restaurant was fresh and delicious. Our room was beautiful, complete with a huge wall of windows showcasing our breathtaking view of the Mediterranean Sea. We had to take 3 different elevators to reach our room, but it was totally worth the trek and it was kind of fun navigating our way to our rooftop suite. The hotel was very quiet and peaceful but conveniently located near the Promenade des anglais and historic old Nice so we were easily within walking distance of many shops, cafés, restaurants and sights.

We had rented a car during our our stay, and the hotel's valet was very friendly and available when needed. We were pleased to discover that our location in Nice was just a short drive (maybe 30 min) from the Italian border, and we enjoyed being able to easily explore a couple of small towns in Italy for an afternoon.

The hotel's restaurant was absolutely beautiful and full of natural sunlight. Seating was available indoors or outside on the patio surrounded by lush lemon and orange trees. Breakfast was included in our package, and we thoroughly enjoyed the selection of pastries, fruits, cereals, cheeses/meats as well as a variety of juices, coffee, and teas. We especially enjoyed cutting open fresh oranges and then using the on-site juicer to make our own freshly squeezed orange juice.

Additionally, the rooftop jacuzzi is not to be missed as it overlooks the sea! The weather was too cool for us to feel comfortable using the hotel pool, but it was beautifully situated against the side of a rocky cliff and looked quite picturesque.

We felt that Hotel La Perouse was a destination in and of itself and enjoyed spending time there as much as we enjoyed exploring Nice!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank IV_BOYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hperouse2010, Director of Sales at Hotel La Perouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your nice comment. We are delighted and very touched to read all these sweets compliments and most of all that you had a wonderful time at the Hotel la Perouse. Don’t hesitate to contact us directly for your next booking. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again.
Kind regards,
Irina Iovan
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This unique location built into rocks on the hill is very unique. The views of Nice and the promenade from the top patio are great. The location is an easy walk to downtown and very close to the harbor where you can easily catch a bus to nearby towns such as Eze or Monaco. The staff very responsive and the hotel is clean. Other reviews outline amenities and the hotel accurately.

My only concern is like many hotels right now, there are a lot of excessive charges for just about anything you need outside what is included. A rum and coke in the bar was 15 euro.

I would recommend and hope to go back!

Room Tip: while the 2nd floor suites have a very big wonderful patio, the view is obscured, so you can't s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel Suisse
#8 of 204 in Nice
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Hotel Negresco
#17 of 204 in Nice
2,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Perouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Perouse

Address: 11 quai Rauba-Capeu, 06300 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#7 Family Hotel in Nice
#12 Business Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £115 - £896 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Perouse 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hidden trasure of Nice, facing the Mediterranean Sea in a peaceful atmosphere, even if we are in the very center of the city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Perouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perouse Nice
Resort La Perouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing