We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”
Review of Hotel Cronstadt

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nice
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Cronstadt
Ranked #66 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I stay at Hotel Cronstadt when in Nice regardless of whether I'm by myself or with my family. There's just no alternative! In my mind you get the best of everything at this place: It's calm and quiet when you're exhausted, a mere stroll from the beach and close to the center too. I bet a lot of tourists miss the modest sign at the street - and it's really their loss! The establishment is small enough to feel hospitable, and yet the wide variety of nationalities that usually stay here makes for a rather unique cultural experience. I'm at a bit of a loss for finding something negative to say really - I guess it'd be nice if the hotel served dinner (i.e. had another 'star') but then again given it's location you're already spoiled for choice when it comes to good food. Same thing with the view: Sure you can't see the beach from your hotel-room but wouldn't you rather be on the beach anyway? All in all, I think hotel Cronstadt is a real gem and it's where I feel I get my money's worth when visiting Nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    29
    8
    1
    5
See reviews for
22
41
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I've stayed here for two nights in July 2014. I was simply delighted by what I found. Large beautifully decorated room. AC & TV. Extremely quite in the compound, with a garden facing window. Absolutely delicious breakfast, fresh cruason, baget , home made jams, cheese, soft boiled eggs. The owner was extremely nice and helpful with getting along and around Nice.
Location is great, right along the promenade.

This is a gem. Not to be missed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avisito98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I have stayed at Hotel Crondstat 5 times in the last 7 years. I keep going back because Joanna is a wonderful hostess and I love being next to Negresco and by the Promenade. Joanna is extremely helpful and the hotel has an old world charm that is very inviting. It is also quiet considering it is in the heart of the action. There are great local restaurants all around, a great cobbler in case you break your shoe, the Post Office in case you need to ship souvenirs and a wonderful beach across the street. What more do you need?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharona617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I stayed in Hotel Cronstadt for 2 nights in July '14. The hotel is characterful and the location is perfect for the Promenade des Anglais. Madamme Joanna, the owner, is very welcoming and she provided me with lots of useful advice. The atmosphere is calm and tranquil and because it is set back from the road you can be assured of a good nights' sleep. The breakfast was tasty and good value and personal preferences were accommodated. The boiled eggs were perfect and the home made jams a treat.
Welcome extras, such as towels, beach mats and guides are all available to enhance your stay.
I arrived by bicycle and this was easily accommodated.
I would be happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Best location!Next to famous Negresco hotel 50 metres from Promenade des Anglais.
Nice and clean.Wonderful stay.Quiet,since it's inside a courtyard of an office building.
Will return when in Nice.
Merci Joanna.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parishome m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardmore, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We were guests at the Cronstadt for 1 nights on the 22nd June 2014.
It was our first time in this very lovely hotel. Hotel Cronstadt is only 20 steps from the Negresco, and we were so happy to have found this little Gem. It is old style French Decor with lovely portraits and artworks. The tranquility and quietness amidst the hussle and bussle of Nice is so appealing in terms of location. It is conveniently situalted again about 10 steps from the Promenade des Anglais & beach and only a short walk along the pedestrian promenade to the Old town. Madame Joanna who owns the hotel along was so sweet and kind to us when we arrived. She is charming, helpful, knowledgeable and most accommodating. Joanna speaks fluent English which was great for us. Our double room was perfect, large clean bed, powerful shower and air conditioning! We didn't have time to sample the breakfast but I'm sure it is fantastic. Nice can be crazy depending on the time of the year, and the Hotel Cronstadt allows for peace, calm and tranquility. Plus, the price is great in view of the fact that it's the Cote d'Azur. It's with a joyful heart that we recommend this hotel! Thank you Madame Joanna & family. Joanna also provides towels and beach mats free of charge to her guests which is a Godsend when travelling with hand luggage. We cannot wait to see you again in the future and love from Ireland - Andrea & Karl

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndreaLark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We've stayed here many times over the years as we visit the french riviera.

The hotel itself is built in a charming french style with decorated ceilings, dark wood details and marble stairs.

Each room is individually furnished and kept very clean. Because the building is shielded from the noisier street it is extremely quiet given the location.

The location is great for us when staying in Nice, close to the water and the city.

My wife and I both love it here !

During our first stay here we did not get the breakfast because we thought that we could find it else where and we did but after looking around it is actually very well priced and it is served with home made jams and bread from a local bakery.

Room Tip: Ask to see a few rooms to pick one that you like ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
0.6 mi away
Flots d'Azur
Flots d'Azur
#83 of 204 in Nice
71 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Nice Marche aux Fleurs
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Villa Nice Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Fontaine
Hotel de la Fontaine
#6 of 204 in Nice
433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel West End
Hotel West End
#45 of 204 in Nice
1,144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westminster Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cronstadt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cronstadt

Property: Hotel Cronstadt
Address: 3 rue Cronstadt, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nice
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#10 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'hotel Cronstadt, etablissement familial et independant, se trouve juste a cote du Negresco et a quelques dizaines de metres de la Promenade des Anglais. Situe dans la cour interieure d'un immeuble bati en 1925, L'hotel offre la possibilite d'un sejour tranquille, loin des bruits de la circulation ou de l'animation estivale, et les avantages de son emplacement en plein centre ville, a deux pas de la mer. Toutes les chambres sont climatisees et assez spacieuses. Les salles de bain sont bien equipees meme si elles ne sont pas tres grandes.For more general information please contact us directly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cronstadt Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing