We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgusting Service”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #90 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Malaga, Spain
2 reviews
“Disgusting Service”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

After staying at the hotel, my cousin and I were disgusted by the treatment by the staff and how dirty our room was. once I returned home we then decided to make a complaint which my cousin did and told me the reception treated her terribly. Therefore I called myself and was treated disgustingly by the receptionist "DAVID" who after asking to speak to the Manager I was told that it was impossible and would't even supply with an email. I then requested how was I to make a complaint he would not answer he pretended not to understand me I then decided to speak Frenc and when I spoke to him in French (I am Belgian native French speaker) her pretended not to understand me, and hung up the phone when calling back on various occasions "DAVID" pretended not to hear me.

I will be calling again to speak to the manager lets see what happens

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    73
    34
    31
    24
See reviews for
33
111
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

The Ambasador Hotel is the perfect place to stay in Nice! Located 1 block from the beach, 1 block to many cafe's, close to the tram and close to Old Town. The hotel has very nice size rooms and is very clean. The adorable manager, Andreas, was very helpful and knowledgeable as was the entire staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athens
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Let the traveller beware! We had booked for a double "ambassador" room via the hotel's authorised agent, Gala Hotels. This was more expensive than the plain double room so we assumed we would get a slightly better than standard room. When we checked in at 20h30 it was dark and we did not see that our room window faced onto a crumbling, dilapidated wall of the adjoining building. The next day when we queried the calibre of the room we were given, we were informed by the hotel reception that we had to take it up with "our" booking agent and although we had paid the extra amount they were not going to do anything about it. When I showed them that the booking confirmation referred to an "ambassador" type room they informed me that as Gala hotels (their authorised agent) had booked a standard room, they would not do anything about it. This was particularly frustrating as we had booked for a week and the money had been deducted from our credit card for the full stay, without cancellation recourse.

I agree with Bcaplan, one would do better to avoid this establishment. It seems they have a modus operandi whereby they give their worst rooms to guests who are not able to walk away.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank legaleagletina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nice hotels

Kielce, Poland
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Ambassador is a very good hotel, near the beach in Nice. Near this hotel are a lots of restaurans and pubs. Very nice people work there and there are a very good rooms. Good breakfast too. I will back there next year with my friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lukas p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Nice is so beautiful, she will almost make you forget that you have to go back to this dump at the end of the day. The employees are friendly but useless. We were put into our hovel around 8 pm and the night manager was powerless to change accommodations. The room was small,dirty, and dilapidated with peeling paint, ineffectual A/C, insects and a lovely view of the abandoned building beside the hotel (you can see a little sky from the room if you crane your neck really hard and look straight up). When we informed the day manager in the morning, he said he would be happy to switch rooms for an additional $80. Keep in mind, my wife and I are generally not too picky and have stayed in every kind of hotel imaginable from zero star hostels in NYC and Amsterdam to five star resorts in Hawaii and London. The Ambassador did not ruin our vacation and I would have been happy to pay $40 for the room.....$160, however, was a bit much. Spend some extra cash and go someplace nice.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bcaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Spent four nights here in July 2012, room 404, and although some of the decor and fittings may be a bit dated my overall impression was of a clean and friendly hotel. The location is excellent, close to Nice Old Town, bus links and trams and two minutes walk to the seafront. It can be a little noisey if there is a concert in the park opposite. From arrival to departure all the staff were pleasant and helpful, our room was cleaned and bedding and towels changed every day. There was plenty of choice at breakfast and the breakfast bar was replenished very quickly if anything was needed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Stayed as a honeymooning couple for 2 nights in mid-later September 2011. While the hotel is pretty on the outside, the room (room 105 or 8 at the back of the hotel, I forget) was pretty shabby. We were not expecting much as we had stayed in 2-3 stars all month long in London, Paris, Juan les Pins, but this was the worst place we stayed all trip.
Pluses: Location. Close to beach, old town Nice and the Citadel. Great food and cafes on the 2 pedestrian only roads behind the hotel. The internet was free and worked well. Staff were friendly, but not proactive as we had to ask for everything like password for internet, toilet paper, breakfast info, where to leave the massive key when we left the hotel.
Minuses: The staff seemed confused finding our reservations and eventually put us in a room at the back on the 1st floor. The room was closer to a hostel quality, had 2 twin beds pushed together, there was no toilet paper and the shower/ bath had no curtain, so water went everywhere if you used the shower. There were burnt out light bulbs and the room was in need of serious work. While I was not horrified as I kind of expected this after the reviews, I would not stay here again. We had better hotels for the same price ($120-130EUR ish) everywhere we stayed, so don't bother.

Room Tip: Do NOT get a room facing the back (north) on the first floor. Maybe the street/ sea facing ones are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Le Meurice
Le Meurice
#86 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Suede
Hotel Suede
#53 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Hotel Albert 1er
#38 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Regence
Hotel Regence
#32 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Hotel Solara
#103 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: 8 avenue de Suede, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Nice city centre this hotel is a 2-minute walk from the Promenade des Anglais and the beach. It offers air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi. Guest rooms at the Hôtel Ambassador are bright and feature satellite TV and a mini-bar. All rooms are serviced by an elevator and some rooms have a sea view. A buffet breakfast is served each morning at the Hôtel Ambassador and guests are invited to enjoy a drink in the hotel's bar in the evening. Additional facilities at the hotel include a 24-hour reception desk and luggage storage. The hotel is located a 5-minute walk from the famous Nice Flower Market on the Cours Saleya. Hôtel Ambassador is 550 meters from Nice Opera and 1.6 km from the Nice Acropolis Convention Centre. Nice Ville train station is situated 1.5 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing