We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday stay”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #101 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Just home after seven nights in Nice staying at the ambassador hotel. Excellent room with sea view. Room and bathroom spotless, towels and bathroom accessories fresh each day. Staff very friendly and helpful. Ideal location for promenade and the old town. Train station two stops away making Cannes and Monaco etc easily accessible.

Room Tip: If possible book a rom with sea view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jimmy P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

I had a really bad experience with this hotel which made me change to another hotel at my first oppurtunity. The problem was the staff that had no interest in listening to my needs, and that almost didn't accept my girlfriend (whom I was travelling to Nice to visit) even though I had registrered for two people. It was a disaster and an insult.

Steer away. I changed to Hotel Univers near Place Massena, a lot better in all ways.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 917Sean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed here for the location twice.. once in Sept 2013 and once in March 2014.. The hotel went under renovation during Dec 2013.. I was there in a different hotel which I'll review too ( De Suede Hotel) The hotel is really an average hotel..not too small not so big., SUPER FAST WIFI but its a 3 star hotel in france, so u cant expect much... Its close to the beautiful beach cote d azur (French Riviera) and close to shopping malls and delicious cafes and restaurants. I would advice you to stay in that area but if you have extra cash, stay somewhere else, like the mercure for example.

Room Tip: the hotel is closed in dec every year for renovation. I advice you not to stay in Nice during Dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rayoody88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Just had a lovley stay at Ambassador Hotel in Nice! Absolutly perfect located near by the beach, shopping, restaurants and the old town. You've got everything you need just a short walk away. It's a clean and fresh hotel with friendly and helpful staff. The room that we´ve got was nice and cool and quiet with a newly renovated bathroom in absolutly top-class. In fact all the bathrooms in all the rooms were brand new.

Im very positive surprised over the stay in this hotel and I will definitely recommend you all to stay here during your holiday in Nice.

The breakfast is very basic but I was very happy about the croassants with Nutella ;-)

Thank you for making our first stay in France so great! I'm deeply inlove with Nice and I will return to this charming city and to Ambassador Hotel! And thats for sure!

/Petra from Sweden

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel was in a great location, clean and the staff were very friendly. Being overcharged for our accommodation rather than 99 Euros we were charged 126 Euros. When we asked about it we were told that the office was closed and given an email address which did not work.
No other way to contact the hotel office apart from this even when you call the hotel direct they say the office is closed.
Of my 230 reviews this is my 10th terrible one. Says a lot really.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Good Points...excellent location, 2 mins to promenade and the same to good shops and restaurants. A great continental breakfast. The staff are excellent too. Very polite and helpful. Reception is clean and bright and the rooms are very clean with decent linen on the beds and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom appeared new, good shower but unfortunately no bath!

The bad. Our room was awful, the size of a broom cupboard. Plenty of wardrobe space but not drawers except in bedside tables. So small was the room that we got in each others way. We knew the room didn't have a sea view but were not prepared for the terrible scene from our window (see photo). In addition the walls were paper thin and when they were hanging up clothes in the next room it seemed as if they were in ours. The couple next door coughed all night, when they weren't coughing they were scraping chairs.

I know Nice is expensive but we paid around £150 per night for this cupboard! The room was 508 so keep a note and the 08 will be the same view on all the floors.

Room Tip: If no sea view forget it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katy038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

In Nice for the Carnival in March and we stayed at the Ambassador Hotel. Great location- very near the promenade des Anglais and the shops, bars and restaurants. The room was spacious and very clean and well presented with a great sea view. The hotel staff were very helpful and polite couldn't have stayed anywhere more welcoming. The staff on the reception were great with advice on bus travel information and general questions about Nice .Good value for the money. Thanks, we will definitely recommend the hotel to friends and will return again ourselves next year for the carnival again. .

Room Tip: A good sea view from the rooms at the front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margo414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel Albert 1er
#39 of 203 in Nice
648 reviews
Hotel de la Fontaine
#7 of 203 in Nice
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flots d'Azur
#92 of 203 in Nice
77 reviews
Centre
Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Suede
Hotel Suede
#64 of 203 in Nice
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 8 avenue de Suede, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Price Range: £76 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Nice city centre this hotel is a 2-minute walk from the Promenade des Anglais and the beach. It offers air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi. Guest rooms at the Hôtel Ambassador are bright and feature satellite TV and a mini-bar. All rooms are serviced by an elevator and some rooms have a sea view. A buffet breakfast is served each morning at the Hôtel Ambassador and guests are invited to enjoy a drink in the hotel's bar in the evening. Additional facilities at the hotel include a 24-hour reception desk and luggage storage. The hotel is located a 5-minute walk from the famous Nice Flower Market on the Cours Saleya. Hôtel Ambassador is 550 meters from Nice Opera and 1.6 km from the Nice Acropolis Convention Centre. Nice Ville train station is situated 1.5 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing