We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Money”
Review of Hotel Regence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Regence
Ranked #36 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Value for Money”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We thought this hotel was great. Hotel Regence has an awesome location in the middle of Nice. It is within walking distance to the Nice TGV station, shopping district and beaches. The hotel is good value for money. Our rate included a nice simple breakfast of croissants, buns, hot drinks and juices but not other options.The room was small in size but adequate. Our unit was clean, quiet with comfortable beds and had a good shower. The air conditioner worked well. We did not have free WiFi, but you can get free WiFi at the two McDonald's Restaurants nearby. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goldilocks14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    384
    99
    18
    11
See reviews for
67
391
75
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We really enjoyed the location and friendly staff at this hotel. It was clean, comfortable and quiet! Given its beach location some more space for drying towels and swim wear would be good. Overall great value for money which we found through reading trip advisor posts!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swopwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Located in the heart of Nice, Hotel Regence is a well run and affordable hotel. The rooms are air conditioned and nicely decorated and the en suite bathrooms appear to be new.
The breakfast was simple, but included great fresh croissants!
This was our fourth stay, and apart from a charge for wifi access, we were not disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room to avoid rooms facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is a value for money, no frills hotel but it is very clean and comfortable and just perfect in its location. transport links, great restaurants and cafe's are all within easy walking distance.
We will make this our base for future visits to Nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I am giving this 4 stars based on location and value! This is not a luxury hotel, but for the price we felt we got a great place to stay. It is in the heart of the shopping/restaurant district on Rue Massena and is a quick walk to the tram which can take you just about anywhere you want to go, to the beach and to the city center. The room was small but clean and quiet. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. We were worried about being right in the center of such a busy area but once inside, it was very quiet. One of the biggest drawbacks is if your bags are heavy, you have to carry them up 4-5 steps before you get to the elevator. The only other drawback has been mentioned in other reviews and that is that WiFi is not free. If you're only there for a couple of days or only have one device, 1 euro per day may not be a big deal; but since we had 3 devices, we had to pay 3 euros.

Room Tip: Our room did not have a good view at all, but that may have helped it be quieter when we were in it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpecialK_Mesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

If you dream of having a beach in your backyard, various restaurants below where you stay, market area a walking distance ... then this is the place to be.

We had 2 rooms one was facing the restaurant street and other back side. Rooms were good and clean. Bathrooms were also very clean. But since you are staying in liveliest part of Nice then you will tend to spend most of the time out.

Wifi is paid although other hotels in Europe we stayed wifi for guest were free. & its one device one login account.

Breakfast is very bad and very miserly served in this hotel no ham, no hot bread but cold 2 croissants, 2 Pain au Chocolat and 2 mini baguette with cheese n choice of jams with juice and a machine making cappuccino, coffee etc. Hope they keep a mini oven to make the bread hot after reading this review.

If not I would recommend you to step outside the hotel and have breakfast will go crazy with choice of restaurants but never go hungry, For lunch / dinner try on this street restaurant which server Oysters. Super oysters and fantastic paella plus lot of Italian restaurants.

Room Tip: Choose road side facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jcferns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is a nice hotel located on one of the main streets in Nice. It is surrounded by shops and restaurants and is a short walk to the beach. The room was spacious and the bathroom was clean. The front desk staff were friendly enough. The wifi at the hotel is not the greatest and it is an extra euro per night. You can get wifi in the lobby and hope it works from there to your room. Overall, we had a good experience here.

Tip: They ask if you want to pay in dollars or euros when charging to a card, pay in euros, it is cheaper than the dollar conversion they use and you will still be charged an international transaction fee on top of that.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#17 of 205 in Nice
776 reviews
Centre
Best Western Hotel Roosevelt
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel de la Fontaine
#6 of 205 in Nice
402 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Suede
Hotel Suede
#53 of 205 in Nice
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regence

Property: Hotel Regence
Address: 21 rue Massena, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#35 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Regence 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Regence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regence Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing