We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, clean, comfortable, well located - ideal for a stop over”
Review of Hotel Regence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Regence
Ranked #36 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Europe
Level Contributor
62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Basic, clean, comfortable, well located - ideal for a stop over”
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Location is excellent on a main pedestrianised shopping street with restaurants on the doorstep and just round the corner from the bus stop to the airport. Check-in staff were friendly and efficient. The room was basic but clean and quiet with a hot shower and TV. If you are looking for an inexpensive base in Nice that's well above the norm for a 2 star, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank detoxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    384
    99
    18
    11
See reviews for
67
391
75
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

I booked this hotel based on the reviews I found on trip advisor and found it to be a great little place to stay. As a previous reviewer mentioned, the 2 star rating is misleading and I have stayed in 3 star hotels which have not been as pleasant!

The location was very convenient.; just a few minutes walk from the Promenade des Anglais, 10 minutes from the old town and about 15 minutes from Nice Ville train station. Rue Massena is pedestrianised and is full of different restaurants and other eateries. There are also a Spar shop just around the corner, which is perfect for picnic food and drinks.

The entrance foyer was very pleasant and the staff were extremely welcoming and helpful.

We stayed in a classic twin room, which was very large. The beds were comfortable (usually I get back ache after a few nights in a hotel, but I was still fine after 9 nights!) and the room was lovely and clean. The air conditioning was very effective, for which I was grateful as the temperatures soared! An extremely useful addition to the room was the free safe, so that you felt confident to leave your belongings behind. The room had an LCD TV and you could use WiFi for 3 Euros (I did not use this though so can't comment further).

In addition, the bathroom was HUGE and the shower was very powerful. There was a heated towel rail and a hairdryer, although it did not manage to get my hair dry! Still it was useful for defogging the mirror!

Although the hotel is located on a very busy street, we asked for a quiet room and were not disappointed. We heard very little noise from either the road, or the other rooms. We chose not to opt for the hotel breakfast, but the staff assured us that, if we did wish to have breakfast one morning, then it was not a problem.

All in all I was extremely satisfied with my stay at the hotel Regence and would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F1aj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
128 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

When staying in Nice I strongly recommend staying in this side of town as opposed to statying near the Nice Ville station, it's seriously worth paying that little bit extra. Not only is it closer to the beach, promenade and the old town (Vuex Nice), but it also has a much MUCH nicer atmosphere than the dodgy, dirty, slummy area surrounding the station.

• This isn't the cheapest hotel in town, but you get what you pay for in Nice and for it's location and cleanliness, Hotel Regence is good value. It's only 5mins walk to Veux Nice & the beach.

• I only know some very basic French so it was a huge relief on arrival to find that all staff speak fluent English. They were very welcoming and friendly.

• Note that it did however take us quite a while to find the hotel. I did not have a map in hand although I figured due to it being on a pedestrian street it should be easy enough to find. Wrong, as there are many pedestrian streets. Make sure you have a map on you and you should be fine.

• We were in a deluxe twin and it was very spacious by European standards! Heaps of room to spread out. We were facing the courtyard side which didn't have fantastic views but at least it was nice and quiet. Didn't hear any noise at all, either from outside or the neighboring rooms.

• The AC worked well, and I'm sure glad it did as it was around 35-40 degrees Celcuis every day we were there.

• The safe in the room was a good bonus

• Breakfast was extra so we didn't get it. With so many cafe's and bakeries in the near vicinity, there's many alternatives to choose from.

• Wifi Internet was down on the first night but was fixed by the morning and then worked well. Quick connection, video chat worked well.

We enjoyed our stay in Hotel Regence and loved it's safe and convenient location.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laguida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen Scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Just returned from spending 4 nights at the Hotel Regence. Took the advice of tripadvisor views and wasn't entirely disappointed. Nice reception and breakfast area with a decent breakfast of diferent rolls, jams and cheese and plenty coffee/tea and juice.
We had a room at the back so it was quiet. Room was large and spacious but carpet had quite large stain just at side of bed and there was no mirror in room! Only 1 of the 3 plugs worked. The bathroom was large and had a very good shower.

The hotel is in a very good location and reception staff were very helpful. I would recommend this hotel but would not stay there again as it was just a bit basic for us but for the money it was good value.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leone2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester uk
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

The rating is 2-star but this hotel was far superior to many 3-star hotels I have stayed in. We had requested a quiet room, in view of the busyness of the street, and were not disappointed - the hotel runs back quite a way so the block behind reception was very quiet.
The whole place was extremely clean and comfortable, and the staff were courteous and friendly. We were reluctant to pay 6 euros for continental breakfast, but when we costed out buying items at Spar then adding a coffee the difference was negligible. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neilmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

This is an absolute little gem of a Hotel, rooms clean and comfortable, location cannot be beaten for the price and the breakfasts were basic but more than adequate. I would stay here again without any hesitation at all.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoppingGeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

Just come back from 8 nights at Hotel Regence. As mentioned in previous reviews this hotel has the best location being situated on the pedestrianised road of Rue Massena with all its restaurants and bars. The hotel is a 5 minute stroll to the beach and 10 minute stroll to the Old Town. Some people have said the rooms were small and noisy. We had a average sized room at the back which was quiet and air-condtioned. Hotel was clean and staff very helpful. Bed was excellent, in fact best bed in a hotel ever. One downside was breakfast which was 3 types of bread and jam, fruit juice and coffee which got a bit repetative after a couple of days. Hotel does not have car park however you can use another hotel 5 minutes away at 10 Euros per day. All in all a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gizzmo00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#17 of 205 in Nice
776 reviews
Centre
Best Western Hotel Roosevelt
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel de la Fontaine
#6 of 205 in Nice
403 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Suede
Hotel Suede
#53 of 205 in Nice
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regence

Property: Hotel Regence
Address: 21 rue Massena, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#35 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Regence 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Regence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regence Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing