We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice little hotel right in the heart of it”
Review of Hotel Regence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Regence
Ranked #43 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice little hotel right in the heart of it”
Reviewed 25 September 2009

We stayed at Hotel Regence in July 2009, I found it quite hard to find accommodation for that time of year in Nice within our budget - it was definitely a relief when we arrived to find it was very clean, tidy and a great location.

Right in the middle of one of the main shopping streets, we found we could walk to the beach, walk a few steps to dinner and to the main shopping areas. Considering our room overlooked a busy pedestrian street we were surprised to find it was really quiet when you shut the windows.

There are no cooking or coffee facilities in the room - but you'd be nuts to want to stay inside for food/coffee when you're in France anyway - lots to choose from right at your doorstep. We had a couple of picnics on the waterfront & in the nearby park - we just picked up some incredibly yum fresh produce from the supermarket around the corner from the hotel. We also ate at a couple of the local restaurants - possibly they cater for the American palette (nothing wrong there - except expect an enormous serving!).

The staff were very helpful, polite and we felt the security was excellent at Hotel Regence. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AYMAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    388
    101
    19
    11
See reviews for
68
393
77
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Regence for one night before we returned to the US and were very impressed. The location is excellent - on the pedestrian Rue Massena, a couple of blocks up from the Promenade des Anglais and near the Place Massena. The public areas of the hotel were very nicely furnished and the desk staff were very helpful and pleasant. They allowed me to use the public laptop to check my email for free, despite there being posted rates at the desk.

Our junior room was small, but there was enough space to move around. The bathroom was the largest we'd had on the entire trip. We had asked for a quiet room and were given one that looked out onto a small courtyard (not accessible from the rooms) which was very quiet. We did not have breakfast since we left very early the next day, but there is a large breakfast room that was being set up at 5:30.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank telechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. We really enjoyed the location: very close to old Nice, and the beach, but still an easy 20 minute walk to/from the train station. Although this hotel is on an active pedestrian street with lots of people, music, shops, etc. we heard no noise during the night - a HUGE plus. The room was for the most part bigger than most European doubles, although the bedding and carpet, though clean, kind of gave us the 'heeby jeebies', they have the feel that the room has been frequented by many people. Definetely lacking the charm of a small family run place, but the location and convenience makes this place worth it.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deeendub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

Regence is still as good as when we first went 4 years ago - Temp was upto 32C at midday nighttime was 26C A/C coped well and was quiet - took own cereal for breakfast and used hot milk - no problem - if B'fast cereal stay at sister hotel Massenet - now also have 2 accomodations in Cannes
http://www.crescere.fr/hotels-regence.htm

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank npjrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2009

Stayed there for 8 nights in July for my honeymoon....it ticked all the boxes, we had room at front of the hotel and although u could hear the street noise it didnt bother me in the slightest. Our 4.5year old joined us on night 5, she came over with my sis and her husband, my daughter stayed in our room on a fold out bed and me sis & bro in law had a double room at back of hotel, this was v quiet room and I didnt like it, I perfer a bit of noise....Location wise, couldnt have been better, basic room but hey, had everything we needed and the air con was a lifesaver.....

Would recommend this hotel to anyone and would also stay here again without a shadow of a doubt

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

Stayed 4 nights in August based on TripAdvisor reviews and found it to be excellent value for money. Must admit upon arrival I was a bit shocked at how basic "basic" actually is - but you can't beat the location and it had everything we needed. The air con was an absolute blessing as Nice in summer is a lot hotter than home! Staff were friendly and informative. Room was quiet - not like some other reviews I've read.

The breakfast was good value at 6 euros pp, however on the last day (murphy's law) we found a little cafe around the corner that only cost 5.75 euros. The coffee was fantastic, the orange juice was freshly squeezed and the baguettes had been lightly toasted so the breakfast quality overall was superior to the Regence. Sorry, didn't keep a record of the cafe name, but this is just to advise that you can actually find good value and quality in Nice.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

If you are not into spending a lot of money, this hotel is a good one. The front desk staff are helpful and all speak English. The rooms are clean but very simple. We stayed there six nights. My only negative comment is with the breakfast. The bread was fresh, but I have could have done without the beverage machine. Coffee and juice are served from this machine and very watered down. Otherwise, the experience was a good one. I would not recommend this as a romantic hotel. A good place to rest in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MABTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Best Western Hotel Roosevelt
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#15 of 204 in Nice
803 reviews
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel de la Fontaine
#6 of 204 in Nice
425 reviews
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regence

Property: Hotel Regence
Address: 21 rue Massena, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#35 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Regence 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Regence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regence Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing