We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Regence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Regence
Ranked #43 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Nothing special about the room, but the location was fantastic. It is difficult to find and even the taxi drivers aren't sure because it is on a pedestrian street. Taxis must drop you a block off during daytime, however, early in the morning the street is open for taxis and a shuttle to the airport was available for pickup at front door. Very convenient. Tons of restaurants outside hotel. Fun area.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank che41sissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 809 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2010

travelling on my own I stayed in the Regence for 7 nights and found it to be excellent. 5 minute walk to the beach and right in the middle of all the action in the evenings. The hotel itself is spotless and the staff friendly and helpful. The nightlife ends soon , after midnight so noise is not a problem, couldn't fault this little hotel and will definately return.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harley025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Spent 5 nights in this Hotel, and I cant speak highly enough of it. It's location is top class, 5 minute walk to the old town, 3 minute walk to Promenade Anglais. Set on a pedestrian street which is full of restaurants and shops in the area. The staff are very helpful and go out of their way to make you feel comfortable.

The rooms are grand, no frills which is what I want on a holiday, comfortable bed, nice quiet room, at the back of the hotel. Shower was top class I must say. It cost €485 for the 2 of us for the 5 nights, and we ate breakfast in the hotel each morning,, it's €6 for breakfast bu you can get all the juice and tea/coffee etc that you want. If you want to go on a tour like we did, they can arrange it for you, and the tour company will collect you from th hotel.

Hotel is situated about 20 min bes ride from Airport (bus 98) DON'T get a taxi like we did when we arrived as we were charged €38 for a barely a 10 min drive.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and if you have any questions don't hesitate to contact me.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaithiCorcaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

14 of us travelled to Nice for a long weekend. I could get no suitable accomodation from Travel Agents, so spent a long time on Trip Advisor searching out somewhere to stay. Hotel Regence is in a good location; 5 minutes from the sea and 5 minutes from the Old Town. There are plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance.

The bedrooms are not overly large and the shower cubicles tiny. There is air con, a TV and soap is provided but little else in the way of facilities. However, the overiding impression was that of cleanliness.

As mentioned in other posts, breakfast is basic. There is no bar or restaurant. However, the little supermarket (turn left out of the hotel, 100 yards to the crossroads, turn right, 25 yards and its on your right) sells everything you could need.

The Engish speaking staff were helpful, freely loaning a laptop to allow us to check on flights and the ash cloud.

At 90 euros a night, its not what I call cheap, but Nice doesn't seem to do cheap anywhere.

There were some complaints from those who had rooms overlooking the street that they were woken early by noise from road cleaners, but that was probably the only problem.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidlandsSailorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Hotel Regence is easily the best 2 Star Hotel I have ever stayed in. The hotel is situated in a shopping area and is only about a 10 minute walk to the old town and even less to the promenade. Massena square is only about a 5 minute walk away.

We had a room at the back of the hotel which was vey large and spotlessly clean (cleanest hotel I have stayed in). We had no problem with noise.

Breakfast was fairly typical for a Fench hotel - bread, coffee, juice.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Over the years I have stayed in 5 different hotels in Nice but this one is the best so far.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan_ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

The hotel is centrally located near to the shopping area and massena square. We were there during the volcanic chaos, but there staff were nice, understanding and spoke good english. They managed to find us a room each night and we ended up staying in 3 rooms all together. The rooms all looked recently refurbished and were very clean. You would not guess that this was a 2 star hotel. The rooms are on par with many 4 star hotels and the price is very reasonable considering the quality and location. Would recommend to anyone staying in Nice.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sun-Kissed-Potato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

I have stayed at the Regence before, but not reviewed it. On my second visit at the end of March for a five night city break, I felt I should write a review because this hotel really is nice. I requested, and got a room at the rear of the hotel which was lovely and quiet. The view to the rear of the hotel is not inspiring, but it is worth it for the peace and quiet. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable, and the bathroom was spotless. The location in the pedestrianized Rue Massena is perfect for access to the beach, the old town and the shops.
Whilst the breakfast has been criticised by some reviewers, it is adequate if a little plain and the machine coffee is better than some "brewed" coffees I have tasted.
The reception staff could not have been more helpful and pleasant. All in all this hotel merits better than a two star rating and is vastly superior to most of the other two stars in Nice.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank solotravellerBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel de la Fontaine
#7 of 203 in Nice
488 reviews
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Centre
Hotel Helvetique
Hotel Helvetique
#67 of 203 in Nice
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regence

Address: 21 rue Massena, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#35 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £63 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Regence 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Regence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regence Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing