We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and owners FIVE star”
Review of Hotel Cresp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Cresp
Ranked #132 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We loved mama and daughter owners - very warm, ready to please, attentive... Location is beautiful with unbelievable patio... However, hotel is beat up and outdated, patio needs immediate attention, outside hallway stairs just scary with broken tiles and stairs. Our room was 2 stars the best but it had the view and we paid a very reasonable rate so i better shot up...

Room Tip: definitely with the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrei1086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel Cresp. Although the room was European small, and the bathroom and shower were tiny, it was a great place to stay. We had the room that opens on to the rooftop area where we could sit and look out at the sea. It was beautiful. The woman and her mother who run the hotel were extremely helpful. It also has a "lift" so getting your luggage up and down is no problem. And best of all was the location! It is on the edge of the old town, next to the Opera House. Everything you would want to see is within walking distance. Also buses are close. I stumbled onto this property and couldn't have been happier.

Room Tip: Try to get the room that opens onto the roof top garden. You can leave your door open and feel the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bverdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We took the bus from the airport and alight at Albert bus stop. It is about 5-10minutes walk. It is in the old town next to the opera where all the happenings are. There are morning market,lots of restaurants and you can go up the Castle Hill to scene the view of Nice.As what other reviewers said,it is housed in an old building with a very old but functional lift. It was peak season in Nice because of Bastille Day and we get a very good deal,considering that you all hotels facing the promenade are very expensive. This hotel has a beautiful balcony overlooking the sea and we saw fireworks there on Bastille Day! Marion and her mother are very friendly in giving suggestions and tips. The only thing is you might have a problem if you are a light sleeper because the curtain is very thin and room no 6 where we stay is facing a busy street. The room is basic but clean and spacious. Wifi is strong outside the room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FoongSin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Centrally located in the old historic town. It occupies the third floor in a multi level old building.  Rooms are compact, some renovated & some with air cond. Also some rooms have very compact bathrooms like our #17 (13sf/1.2sm-need door open to change). So make sure you confirm your needs in advance. The patio overlooks the ocean with full view of the Promenade.  Service attitude is excellent trying their best to accommodate your needs. As expected amenities are limited -really sporadic WIFI (a real negative for us), frig, French TV only, kettle & cups & fan on request.  Main attraction in this location is the daily farmers market situated right on Rue de Francois de Paule - wide assortment of fresh food, spices, household items & flowers. There's a potpourri of ethnic restaurants to choose from all within easy walking distance. Two blocks to the Tram line takes you to the city centre shopping and train station.
If taking the bus(#98) from the airport to the hotel, it will travel by the ocean along the Promenade de Anglais. The stop to get off is just as it turns left off the Promenade. You will then see the Rue de Francois de Paule to your right. The hotel is less than 3 blocks right next to the Opera House. WIFI is not common at restaurants. For breakfast, we found WIFI at DS Delices & Coffee Shop near upper end(look for mosaic wall on ocean side).

Room Tip: If Air cond. or Bathroom size is important to you, make it known on booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank conscom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The hotel is extremely well-located overlooking the promenade and next to the opera house. The building is old, in keeping with its location. Our room opened onto the communal shared balcony which was a great place to take in the view. We felt safe and welcome, the proprieters and staff could not have been more helpful.The room itself provided basic clean accommodation and had an authentic old style character,the furniture could have been described as rickety but the beds were comfortable. The hotel would not suit anyone looking for bland modern luxury, but with its kettle, fridge and basic kitchenette it was a haven enabling us to prepare simple meals. We enjoyed our 3 nights in Nice and I think the character of the accommodation, the fresh flowers in the corridor with books and magazines to borrow and the hospitality shown enriched our experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lilaclime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Never judge a book by its cover is a cliche that comes to mind as I write about Hotel Cresp.

We arrived in Hotel Cresp at 3pm having foolishly got a taxi from the airport. The taxi cost us 43 euros when it was just as easy to get the 98 bus from the airport which would drop us off on Promenade De Anglais not far from Hotel Cresp for 6 euros.

The hotel itself is on the third floor of a 1700 building located next to an opera house. The lobby, obviously a shared one, is in desparate need of refurbishment with paint peeling off the walls. The lift looks ancient from the outside but once you open the door to get into the lift, you quickly realise it isn't as old and delicate as its exterior. Also, after a day of eating croissants and other pastries you begin to appreciate the option of 3 flights of steps as a form of exercise.

You walk into the hotel and it is one long corridor with approximately 18 doors. On one end of the corridor is a terrace with chairs and tables overlooking Promenade De Anglais. A truly beautiful view.

We booked a self-catering quadruple room. This had one double bed and one small double bed, a small bathroom with a shower, a hob, a kettle, a microwave, a fridge, cupboard with plates, cups etc, a wardrobe and set of drawers, air-conditioning and a TV. The floor had beautiful mosaic tiles, which would have failed UK Health and Safety standards with some being a bit loose, but they were truly beautiful and added to the charm and history of the building and the querkiness of the room. The beds were made for cosiness as opposed to chic with a flat sheet and a blanket, followed by another blanket. Although old and very bland wall decoration the room was extremely clean, as were the bed sheets. We had clean towels daily. The bathroom was also very clear with shower gel.

What made this hotel special is the lovely lady who really felt like a grandmother/mother figure. When we came in she came out to see if we were ok and had a nice day. She was genuinely interested in what we did and wanted to make sure we were having a nice time. A perfect hostess.

The location was perfect. It was near the old town but the road that the hotel is on went from Market place by day to restaurant hotspot night. There is a spa very close by for essentials and a bakery for fresh croissants for breakfast.

So, i realised, you can stay in 'branded' hotels but it really is the querky ones that make your trip more memorable. 4/5 rating as I think the decor could be revamped.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Medcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Riena and her daughter make you a part of thier family when you are there. When we left a bottle of champagne in our fridge the first full day, we came home from the conference we were attending to find glasses ready for us. We were advised as to what restaurants to stay far from and which ones to go to, both of their reccomendations were outstanding. The money we saved from not going into the higher priced conference hotels was used to purchase wonderful gifts on our last morning on the street below. The Opera is right next door, and I highly recommend the two ajoining eateries for your "special nights" (They will tell you). If you want to live with the real Niceans and are not into the "spa, chandeliers and fal'de ral" " this is a good bargain. Clean and comfortable bedding, renovated new bathrooms and outstanding service

Room Tip: The ocean is viewed from a common balcony, which is a nice place to meet new friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mamastu7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel Albert 1er
#42 of 203 in Nice
651 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel le Petit Trianon
Hotel le Petit Trianon
#134 of 203 in Nice
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Old Town / Vieux Nice
Hotel de la Mer
Hotel de la Mer
#76 of 203 in Nice
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cresp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cresp

Address: 8 rue Saint Francois de Paule, 06300 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Price Range: £53 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Cresp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing