We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting concept, nice atmosphere, lovely people”
Review of Spity Hotel Nice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spity Hotel Nice
Ranked #160 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The HI- hotel is almost 10 years old but still interesting. It is not a standard design hotel powered with Eames or Le Corbusier, but a far more original hotel with almost every detail tailer made. Certainly if you take into account that it did survive 10 years of fast evolution.

I enjoyed mostly the rooms (upper floors), terrace with small swimming pool on the top, mix of eco and design, friendly people.

Don't go if you are either looking for classical design or a more overall traditional approach. Choose your room carefully as they are very different and some rather extreme different

Room Tip: Upper floors, I enjoyed a lot 72 with terrace and a huge lava stone bath tube
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (602)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

I have stayed in cheaper hotels with far more to offer. Rooms are dangerous - sloping sides to the bath with a hand-held shower, so almost impossible to wash your hair with one hand while trying not to fall over! Bath in the bedroom, toilet separate but with a window, so you can view your partner on the toiler while at the sink! Floor was manky where shower sprays over the bath and the shower column was also broken. Unless you have size 3 feet and not a large person, it is tricky getting up the stairs to the "private" terrace......oh not so private since another room also had access to our terrace even though they did not have it included in their room rate! When we complained the unhelpful staff replied "I did not build this hotel". Complimentary breakfast advertised but charged €20 per person, even though we did not have time to eat it on our last day! Croissants and cold meats not really an inspiring breakfast with stupid wooden cutlery! It can't be classed as a luxurious hotel as there is no room service and very little choice for dinner - one choice per evening! If you have money to burn and want a laugh, then that is the only reason I would recommend this ridiculous hotel!

Room Tip: If you book a room with a terrace, be aware that you can not close off the light coming from above t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Binabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laushu06, Responsable relations clients at Spity Hotel Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Thank you for your comments.
We would like to reply to your criticism.

“I have stayed in cheaper hotels” – during the Grand Prix of Monaco all the hotels of the region practice a Grand Prix of Monaco rate that is higher than usual because it is a big event in the region. I’m sure you probably found cheaper but certainly not during the Grand Prix season.

“rooms are dangerous” – we never had any problems in 10 years welcoming our guests no accidents or comments were ever made about this.

The white and white concept has a separate toilet with a door that closes and the small transparency on the side of the wall that keeps an intimacy.
Your room has a private terrace and no one else can access that area it is however in case of fire open to a large metal staircase but no one else can use your Jacuzzi.

The breakfast was included in your rate – we are sorry you could not have it on your last day but this doesn’t change the rate of your room.

Breakfast is all organic hence “the stupid wooden cutlery” as you say but for breakfast we only serve with wooden recyclable cutlery and plates and bowls made out of cornstarch to comply to our green glob label. Lunch and dinners have normal cutlery and plates.
Here is what we serve at breakfast and you can eat as much as you want : yoghurt (soya, cow milk, goat), fruit purée, selection of ham, cheese, organic butter, soya and cow milk, fruit juice, fresh fruits, dried fruits, viennoiserie, eggs….

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This hotel is an example of how design hotels can truely suck. Besides the fact that the colors and the designs are somewhat of a slap in the face -the purple room, o my god- the hotel also does the functionalities wrong. Water dripping out of the shower into the room, a toilet to small to sit on (while the is enough space surrounding the little glass cabin).
The Spa area consists of a small pool on top. A little bigger then a bubblebath, but to small to swim tracks.
The hamam area is sort of ok, but very uninviting.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VictorVroeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laushu06, Responsable relations clients at Spity Hotel Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

We are sorry to hear you didn’t like the concept of your room. We have 8 other different concept with different coulours, sizes.

The Hi body spa is not on the pool area but at level 0 with two cabins where you can enjoy a massage, a relaxation area and the hammam.

The roof top pool on the 8th is indeed a small pool it is an urban hotel in the city with sundecks and a nice panoramic view of the city of nice.

We remain of course at your disposal to guide you in the choice of your of concept when you come back in the region.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I just love the Hi. It is even better than it was four years ago, they added a great beach front just a few blocks from the main hotel. The only thing that changed in a bad way was the kitchen. When we wen to the Hi before the kitchen had an open policy, you could get things out of the fridge in the middle of the night, fruit, little pre packed meals, really great healthy stuff. - Not expecting that to have changed we went to the kitchen at 3am hungry, and we did get some cereal and some rice cakes, but it is not really set up for foraging like it once was. That was a little sad, but it was probably hard to manage that way. Seems like they have relaunched their whole bio cafe recently.

Overall the little place has stayed true to its original vision. Our room was in good repair, comfy, every thing was fantastic, the new beach is awesome, great food there.

I really love staying at the Hi, this visit was the last night at the end of a short trip that was fraught with bad luck, and it was such a big relief to get to the Hi and check in, I felt safe and at home immediately. This hotel respects the traveler and you can feel it.

Great value, and down to earth, if you get tired of the pretentious towns around - Monte Carlo, San Tropez, Cannes, stop at the Hi for a night or two on your way through the Nice airport for a nice break. - And the little Nice train goes in to Italy and up to Marseille - you can easily get all over the region -Nice is a great landing point for exploring France and Italy. Clean easy to use rail system, every stop along the way has a great town or beach, very good train.

Room Tip: Urban room was adequate for us. Good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michellejonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Couldn't believe I was in France the staff were so friendly! Really wonderful hotel, didn't have any problems with the bathrooms that some people complained about. The rooftop pool is a delight. excellent location, amazing breakfast, relaxing hammam would stay here again and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Techo room is great fun with its ceiling projector
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertfrische
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Close to the beach ( RENT CAR TO GO IN Saint Tropez , Cannes , Antibes , Mnte CArlo - one day for each it enough ) . At the entrance you think like they are under construction , BUT : DESERVE ALL MONEY . Excellent staff , BREAKFAST IT S ORGANIC , each room are different , it s a high tech hotel , paint it in purple , pink , pozitive and warms colours . When we was here in july 2007 , our daughter staing at home , but we have saw family with young children . It s PERFECT for a romantic trip . On the top floors you have wiews over the Nice. It s in a quaiet place . In the summer you will eat the breakfast in the inside terrace ( Very nice ) .Be carefull with the parking - try the road to the beach ( 15 mt from the hotel ) .At the hotel you must pay ( 10E/Day in 2007 )

Room Tip: top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mircea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

The location of this hotel is really good, with a 5 min walk to the Promenade de Anglais, two supermarkets within 2 mins walk, the old town a gentle 15 min walk and the new town about 10.

As other reviews indicate, the toilets and bathrooms are within the bedroom area so we knew to expect this, and although a little strange, modesty could be kept by using the toilets downstairs in the reception area if really worried! Although as you are basically visible to your travel companion whilst using any part of the bathroom, you could only really travel here as a couple! (Unless you were very intimate with your friends or colleagues!) The hotel smelt amazing and provided lovely bathroom products, and the staff were really nice and friendly. The roof top is also a nice area, although there is no shade provided at all which is not great! The pool is also more of a splash pool. The beds were really comfy and the blinds do not let in a single bit of light!

We did not eat at the hotel as we found it really expensive - 20 euro for breakfast! The Hi Beach is also not included in your stay at the hotel, and we were given the 'guest price' of the beach, which was the same as the normal price! Other downsides were the lack of wardrobe space (only 4 hangers in total) and no where to hang towels to dry. Also, the shower had a huge gap in the door so water went everywhere - So it felt a little of style over substance at times!

Instead of using the Hi Beach, you can go to the public beaches for free, but these are pebbly and you wont have any shade. We opted instead to go to the Opera Plage which was 14 euro a day and included lounger and parasol and the sea in Nice is amazing! Also try eating at La Voglia on the old town square - great food!

Overall, this was a nice but quirky hotel, which although it does have some downsides, we liked it overall and would stay there again if we returned to Nice.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingCrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Musiciens
Splendid Hotel & Spa
Splendid Hotel & Spa
#38 of 204 in Nice
1,037 reviews
Riquier
Hipark Nice
Hipark Nice
#76 of 204 in Nice
757 reviews
Centre
Hotel Windsor Nice
Hotel Windsor Nice
#20 of 204 in Nice
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Nice Riviera
Hotel Nice Riviera
#53 of 204 in Nice
1,288 reviews
Centre
Mercure Nice Centre Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spity Hotel Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spity Hotel Nice

Address: 3 Avenue des Fleurs, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Hi Hotel Eco Spa & Beach)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Nice
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#46 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £68 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spity Hotel Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spity Hotel Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi Hotel Eco Spa And Beach
Hi Hotel Eco Beach
Hi Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing