We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Experience”
Review of Spity Hotel Nice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spity Hotel Nice
Ranked #157 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This hotel offered us a very unique experience by being different from the traditional chain hotels.

Pros:
*Location*
- Located near Promenade Anglais which is the heart of Nice
- Within walking distance of parks, the SNCF train station (with direct trains to Antibes, Monaco, Ventimiglia)
- Walking distance of patisseries, boulangeries and waterfront

*Hotel/ Service*
- Great value for money
- Superb service - we were able to call ahead of time and ask for the exact room configuration that we wanted
- Friendly and attentive staff; always handy with suggestions and tips
- Chilled out loungey feel throughout the hotel

I'd highly recommend this hotel for folks looking for a eclectic experience. The rooms are tiny but it didn't matter to us, as we were traveling light and without kids or other friends.

Room Tip: Ask for the Techno Room if you like pink - it also has a nice window view of the streetside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abhijit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013

All in all, this was a very unique hotel experience. The hotel, located right in the centre of Nice just 3 minutes walking from the beach, is like nothing I have seen before, it is very pretentious place, like a redux Club Med 80s place! But it does not measure up in everything. The private beach is a plus - although I paid 40 EUROs to get in - and the hamburger and coke was an additional 40! The good sides: The top roof pool with great view, very helpful staff and cool design (e.g. the shower in the middle of the bedroom!). The negatives are general high cost, small space (the spa is a miniature!), and lack of facilities for a design hotel. Protection from the sun, wifi and airco were excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oyvindei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I was very disappointed with HI Hotel in Nice, France. The pictures online make the hotel look very modern with a cool ambiance, but in reality it is very dark and cheesy. The room was awful. The plugs were broken in the bathroom as well as the odd blue lighting the room gave off. The room was very cold because of the hard floors, and odd shaped bed. Nothing about the room was peaceful! Poor execution for a modern design. The tables, chairs... really everything was uncomfortable. There was not much of a selection at breakfast and it was very expensive! The location was okay, but I would have definitely chosen differently the second time around. Over-all I think a 12 year old could design these rooms better.

Room Tip: Do not get the room that is blue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cambria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I had high hopes for this place, having stayed in many design hotels around the world. However, there is very little actual design in this hotel. Form does not follow function in any way whatsoever. Some examples - no storage, no seating, nowhere to put suitcases, towel rails didn't hold the towels, sink not accessible to wash your face so you were always hitting your head on the shelf above, no space for toiletries - I could go on but wont.

The room was also shabby, with peeling paint and skirting boards.

It was essentially a hostel and felt like one, no room service or food available. If it was marketed as a high end hostel and the price set accordingly it would make more sense.

We had a digital room which was one of the better rooms with more private toilet arrangements.

A few good things - the staff were great, young and friendly and always helpful, the hamman was nice as was the rooftop pool. Location was also good.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing away from the road are good. The digital rooms have the most private bathroom a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jellyblush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

In an attempt to look edgy the hi hotel commits the greatest sin.sacrificing luxury of its guests. A superior room contains no floor coverings, unrealiable wifi access that is too slow to upload trip photos, no in room fridge, one impractical power point for all your charging needs, a15 inch CRT tv, no storage or even bedside tables, no linen change on a daily basis. Even the complimentary robes suit someone 5"6'.
If you like throwing money away at a hotel that has a funky lobby then go right ahead. But don't say you weren't warned. Certainly better places to stay for half the price in nice.

The only thing I can compliment the hi hotel on is their staff. Service was excellent but hampered by a ridiculous idea with poor execution.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.......anywhere else.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rowdyrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I just got back from a 4 night stay. Early May is just about off season so we got a good rate. We were in room 46 which I thought was great. Colourful, comfortable and fun. I travel a lot for business so I don't want to holiday in a 'business' hotel and this fit the bill perfectly. I can understand for some people it's not to their taste and the higher rates might seem steep but for our stay at our rate (around 150 euros/night) it was great for a long weekend.

The beach loungers were free because the pool was unavailable which was a bonus, I'm not sure I'd want to pay for the hotel beach otherwise when there's mile after mile of free coastline either side.
Staff were very good, I liked the breakfast, great coffee (always a must) and nice juices, pastries etc.

Just as a useful fact it's a shade over 450m to the beach so they need to measure that again, their tape measure might not be working very well or might only go up to 200m (nudge nudge). But that's a little criticism and overall our stay was really enjoyable.

Room Tip: 46 is good...I bet you've never slept in a cupboard before...it's much nicer than you'd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thomasglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I just spent 3 nights in the Hi Hotel in Nice and have to say that I am very impresst about the concept. Nearly every room is different with a flair of details. Lovely staff! Very funny way to have a diffrent experience of a hotel. Brakfast could be a little more varieted from day to day after 3 mornings the choice was still the same, but nice anyway. Beautiful Beach with a very nice service! I would recommend this hotel to everyone looking for a different experience. Very easy to get there by bus from the airport, not even necessary to take a taxi. I'll come back!

Room Tip: All room concepts are very good but the most impressing one is the one with the roof top and private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Musiciens
Splendid Hotel & Spa
Splendid Hotel & Spa
#37 of 203 in Nice
1,045 reviews
Centre
Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection
Riquier
Hipark Design Suites Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Nice Riviera
Hotel Nice Riviera
#54 of 203 in Nice
1,313 reviews
Centre
Hotel Windsor Nice
Hotel Windsor Nice
#18 of 203 in Nice
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spity Hotel Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spity Hotel Nice

Address: 3 avenue des Fleurs, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Hi Hotel Eco Spa & Beach)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Nice
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#46 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £52 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spity Hotel Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Spity Hotel Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi Hotel Eco Spa And Beach
Hi Hotel Eco Beach
Hi Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing