We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a Nice Vacation”
Review of Hotel les Cigales

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel les Cigales
Ranked #48 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
manila, philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Such a Nice Vacation”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I was pleasantly surprised with Nice! It's such a quaint and lovely city! And our Hotel, les Cigales made it all the more beautiful!

The hotel is conveniently located at the heart of the city. From there you can walk to the beach or go shopping in the area! Access to buses and trams are so easy to find from our hotel.

In addition, the staff, particularly Elaine was SO helpful! It's our first time there and she explained everything to us -- from the operating hours of stores to travelling all the way to Monaco! :)

The hotel is also very lovely! The bathroom is so clean and well-maintained! The service level was world-class!

In terms of value for money, Hotel Les Cigales is also very competitive with their rates! We felt its stars should have been more (it's a three-star hotel)!

Room Tip: The hotel has an elevator, so you can choose any room that you may like even if your luggage can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nix722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    203
    57
    9
    3
See reviews for
91
231
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

The hotel is well situated nearby both the Promenade de Anglais and Old Nice. Its easily reachable from the airport by bus (the stop is maybe 3 blocks away?) and is within walking distance to Nice sites and bus stations that can take you elsewhere in the Riviera.

The hotel staff was generally friendly and helpful in booking a shuttle to the airport for a very early morning flight. The hotel room was clean but small, though it was comparable to many other hotels in Europe. Overall the hotel was average and had everything required for a comfortable stay. However, for its price, you may be able to find better alternatives nearby.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetlag1332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

This is the 3rd hotel we have stayed at in france on this trip. I chose the hotels using trip advisor. i was very particular about choosing hotels with workable wifi. At the time I booked there were no negative comments about the wifi at this hotel. The wifi is terrible. Sometimes connects easily sometimes doesnt. Sometimes adequate speed and at other times unable to open even trip advisor or my webmail. Very frustrating if wifi is important to you as it is in our case, so we can communicate with our family in Australia. Questions raised about the wifi to the staff elicited responses like:-" strange, wasnt like that yesterday" "Yes we have had a few complaints today." This wasnt the experience in the 2 hotels we stayed at before this one. My message to the hotel- fix it! and stop making excuses. Otherwise the hotel was OK. Room good size. Staff friendly and very helpful. Bathroom very small and just adequate. Noise level high from the street but Ok from within the hotel. Cable TV from CNN and BBC available. TV a flat screen but tiny by the standards of most hotels and would be considered adequate for a computer screen not a TV.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathilda2009
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This hotel was a good choice for a moderate budget and well located for convenient access to Promenade des Anglais. I was traveling with my 22 year old daughter and we had a small room with twin beds located next to the lobby on the ground floor. If noise bothers you, I suggest you ask not to be assigned a room adjacent to the lobby. My experience with noise was limited to a group of mature men who for some reason would gather in the lobby in the early evening,
apparently after drinking a fair amount, to loudly chat. Their behavior was no fault of the hotel. Otherwise, the normal comings and goings of other guests is not a noise problem. The room decor and the bathroom fixtures were not elaborate but the room was pleasant. I found both the bedroom and the bathroom to be very clean - absolutely no mildew stains on either the bathroom grout or the shower curtain. Lights and air conditioning/heat all worked perfectly. The internet connection was a bit dodgey - sometimes yes, sometimes no, sometimes very slow. BUT, I've been living in France for six months and find internet functionality to be a frequent problem no matter where I go. The staff here is very nice and very helpful with any request. I would recommend this hotel to my friends or family who are looking for a good value and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mathilda2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Just home from a 5 night break today!!!

Positives:
*Location, close to bus stop, train station, old town.
*Good value for money.
*Rooms extremely clean (however we paid for a superior which to be honest did not look
like a superior room so don't know if the extra cost was worth the apparent upgrade).
*Lady at reception extremely friendly & helpful.

Negatives:
*The walls were so thin you could hear conversations in the room next door, this also resulted in a free alarm call as the cleaners hoovers were going ding dust from early morning so there was no chance of a lie in. But I suppose when you are in such a beautiful place as Nice an early start is a good thing!!

Nice - tips!!!

*Bus 98 from airport terminal 2, drop off at promenade congres costs 4 euro
*Do not take a taxi (so expensive)
*Restaurant Le Flore on Cours Saleya - good food & extremely friendly staff
*The Snug Bar on Rue Droit was cosy wee Irish bar with friendly staff, Jess advised us on good places to eat & lively bars which was very helpful so if you like a lively bar try Waynes in the oldtown, rue de la prefecture, decent food, live bands & dj until 2.30am. Acciardo's on Rue Droit is a family run restaurant with delicious food...book a table in advance as its very small.

Nice is expensive but hey we all know that before going so no point in complaining!!! It's just a matter of doing your research before you go to make the euro last a bit longer!!

Room Tip: If i was to go back to Les Cigales I wouldn't pay extra for a superior room as from other people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Weemaz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

The hotel is a few minutes from the old Nice, and just a few blocks from the Promenade des Anglais. The room was clean, a little noisy since it was just next to the reception area. Breakfast was good, and the staff was very nice and helpful. They gave us great advice on what to visit.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Izou84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Has a room for disabled, friendly, helpful staff, excellent location, wonderful breakfast on site, pleasant atmosphere. Rooms are clean and quiet, though simple. There is a lift for passengers and luggage to upper floors. Large number of restaurants in the neighborhood. A bakery on the corner. A laundromat a block away.

Room Tip: If you need the handicapped accessible room, book early. There is only one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sealeg2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#17 of 205 in Nice
776 reviews
Hotel de la Fontaine
#6 of 205 in Nice
403 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Regence
Hotel Regence
#36 of 205 in Nice
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Best Western Hotel Roosevelt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel les Cigales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel les Cigales

Property: Hotel les Cigales
Address: 16 rue Dalpozzo | 16 rue Dalpozzo, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Nice
#19 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel les Cigales 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a recently renovated white façade, the privately-owned hotel is located in the esteemed neighbourhood of the "Carré d'Or". It welcomes you year-round in the heart of the city, just a few blocks away from the famous "Promenade des Anglais" with its pebble beaches, and from the pedestrian streets with their many shops and restaurants. The hotel is also within walking distance of the Place Masséna and its tram stop, the old town, and the city's main train station. Hotel les Cigales offers a welcoming and relaxing environment with 19 spacious and comfortable rooms, all equipped with air conditioning, a minibar, an individual safe and free Wifi access. A private terrace is also available, where customers can relax and peacefully enjoy the sunny weather of the Côte d'Azur. You will appreciate the availability of the hotel's staff, as well as the discretion and serenity of this family hotel. It would be our pleasure to help guide you in working out the details of your stay and suggest the best places to visit in the city. Whether you are in Nice for business or pleasure, you will love how quiet the hotel is and will appreciate its rooms with courtyard room and rooftop views. And feel free to use the terrace to relax between two escapades in the capital of the French Riviera. With many of the city's most valued assets nearby, Hotel les Cigales is also ideally located if you wish to visit neighbouring towns such as Cannes, Monaco or Menton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel les Cigales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Cigales Hotel
Les Cigales Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing