We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet street, close to everything, exceptional service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel les Cigales

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel les Cigales
Ranked #49 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Quiet street, close to everything, exceptional service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Stayed here for a few nights on a 6 week roadie through Europe. From the greeting to the farewells the service was exceptional. All the staff were professional and friendly. We were lucky to get one of a few dedicated street parking places out front but don't count on it due to availability. The room was a good size for France, and was very clean and pretty modern. There is a decent bakery on the corner and you're only a 5-10 min stroll from old town Nice, which is the clear highlight and heart of the town. The beach is a 5 min walk and there is also a laundromat about 100m past the bakery. Overall, a really great find. Trust trip advisor for this one, the reputation is thoroughly deserved!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    195
    55
    9
    3
See reviews for
85
225
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed here 1 night before our flt home. We usually stay at the Hotel Windsor which was booked and which might have a connection with Les Cigales. Our room was clean, the staff were very nice (helped us locate Avis so we could return our car), booked us a shuttle to the airport he next day, and ironed out a few small problems with the room. The location is perfect for walking around Nice and going to the beach and Promenade.

Room Tip: Try to get a room which is serviced by the elevator so you do not have to carry luggage up the atair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bayvillagebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

This hotel was situated in a nice location where you can walk closeby to almost everything, shops, restaurants, coffee shops. Our room was very nice, spacious, very clean and what is impressive is they welcome you with a bottle of wine in your room. It's very personalized and a very nice touch!!! They gave us a room with a nice balcony overlooking the streets but if you are a light sleeper, don't take this room cause you will hear some noises from the cars passing by the street.
I love this hotel and Eliane and the rest of the receptionist are very helpful in giving directions and suggestions.
I just hope they will include breakfast with the price but its ok. I will still go back and stay here and will recommend it to everybody.

Dennis Del Rosario

Room Tip: Just choose a back room if you don't want to hear street noise from vehicles!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benearme8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Myself and my partner stayed in Les Cigales, Nice for eight nights towards the end of June 2012.
It is a small hotel (19 bedrooms) in a central location about 200 mts from the Promenade. It is essentially a three star hotel. However what it lacks in facilities it more than makes up for in many other ways. The location. The hotel is spotlessly clean. The bedroom was large and the bathroom spacious with a good shower. The bed linen and towels were changed regularly. The staff were really pleasant, polite and helpful. The breakfast was fine.However we did think that it was a little expensive for what it was, bearing in mind the general recession where prices are down around 30%. We did notice that there were not as many tourists around as in previous years.

Room Tip: Room on the ground floor for easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unigis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manila, philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

I was pleasantly surprised with Nice! It's such a quaint and lovely city! And our Hotel, les Cigales made it all the more beautiful!

The hotel is conveniently located at the heart of the city. From there you can walk to the beach or go shopping in the area! Access to buses and trams are so easy to find from our hotel.

In addition, the staff, particularly Elaine was SO helpful! It's our first time there and she explained everything to us -- from the operating hours of stores to travelling all the way to Monaco! :)

The hotel is also very lovely! The bathroom is so clean and well-maintained! The service level was world-class!

In terms of value for money, Hotel Les Cigales is also very competitive with their rates! We felt its stars should have been more (it's a three-star hotel)!

Room Tip: The hotel has an elevator, so you can choose any room that you may like even if your luggage can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nix722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

The hotel is well situated nearby both the Promenade de Anglais and Old Nice. Its easily reachable from the airport by bus (the stop is maybe 3 blocks away?) and is within walking distance to Nice sites and bus stations that can take you elsewhere in the Riviera.

The hotel staff was generally friendly and helpful in booking a shuttle to the airport for a very early morning flight. The hotel room was clean but small, though it was comparable to many other hotels in Europe. Overall the hotel was average and had everything required for a comfortable stay. However, for its price, you may be able to find better alternatives nearby.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetlag1332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

This is the 3rd hotel we have stayed at in france on this trip. I chose the hotels using trip advisor. i was very particular about choosing hotels with workable wifi. At the time I booked there were no negative comments about the wifi at this hotel. The wifi is terrible. Sometimes connects easily sometimes doesnt. Sometimes adequate speed and at other times unable to open even trip advisor or my webmail. Very frustrating if wifi is important to you as it is in our case, so we can communicate with our family in Australia. Questions raised about the wifi to the staff elicited responses like:-" strange, wasnt like that yesterday" "Yes we have had a few complaints today." This wasnt the experience in the 2 hotels we stayed at before this one. My message to the hotel- fix it! and stop making excuses. Otherwise the hotel was OK. Room good size. Staff friendly and very helpful. Bathroom very small and just adequate. Noise level high from the street but Ok from within the hotel. Cable TV from CNN and BBC available. TV a flat screen but tiny by the standards of most hotels and would be considered adequate for a computer screen not a TV.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel de la Fontaine
#8 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#12 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Centre
BEST WESTERN Hotel Roosevelt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#10 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Regence
Hotel Regence
#33 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel les Cigales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel les Cigales

Property: Hotel les Cigales
Address: 12 rue Dalpozzo, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Nice
#19 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel les Cigales 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a recently renovated white façade, the privately-owned hotel is located in the esteemed neighbourhood of the "Carré d'Or". It welcomes you year-round in the heart of the city, just a few blocks away from the famous "Promenade des Anglais" with its pebble beaches, and from the pedestrian streets with their many shops and restaurants. The hotel is also within walking distance of the Place Masséna and its tram stop, the old town, and the city's main train station. Hotel les Cigales offers a welcoming and relaxing environment with 19 spacious and comfortable rooms, all equipped with air conditioning, a minibar, an individual safe and free Wifi access. A private terrace is also available, where customers can relax and peacefully enjoy the sunny weather of the Côte d'Azur. You will appreciate the availability of the hotel's staff, as well as the discretion and serenity of this family hotel. It would be our pleasure to help guide you in working out the details of your stay and suggest the best places to visit in the city. Whether you are in Nice for business or pleasure, you will love how quiet the hotel is and will appreciate its rooms with courtyard room and rooftop views. And feel free to use the terrace to relax between two escapades in the capital of the French Riviera. With many of the city's most valued assets nearby, Hotel les Cigales is also ideally located if you wish to visit neighbouring towns such as Cannes, Monaco or Menton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel les Cigales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Cigales Hotel
Les Cigales Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing