We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Enjoyable stay at Hotel Les Cigales, Nice.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel les Cigales

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel les Cigales
Ranked #51 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An Enjoyable stay at Hotel Les Cigales, Nice.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

My daughter and I stayed at Hotel Les Cigales in Nice from 24 to 27 September. The Hotel was one of those recommended in the 'Rick Steves Provence & the French Riviera' travel Guide book and, following the advice in the Rick Steves book, by booking direct with the hotel and typing the code RICK, we received a 7% discount.
We loved the hotel and the staff. Les Cigales is located in a very pleasant part of Nice on a quiet street, just a few blocks from Promenade des Anglais and the beach front. It is also only a short walk to the train station or the city centre.
The hotel was spotlessly clean and well maintained. Our room was comfortable and adequately appointed without being opulent. Although overlooking the street (we were on the top floor), we slept well without being disturbed by any outside traffic noise. The airconditioner worked well and silently.
I notice that some other reviewers have mentioned that their rooms were a bit small.There is the option to pay a little extra for a slightly bigger room.We did this and our room was pleasantly spacious. Only the shower remained a bit small, but was no real problem.
All the staff that we encountered were friendly and welcoming. Veronique in particular was very helpful, and gave us maps and suggestions of sights to see, where to eat and how to get around Nice.
The hotel breakfasts were excellent and were in a cosy, peaceful little dining room.
We will definitely stay at Les Cigales again if we visit Nice in the future and highly recommend this hotel to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bruce046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    195
    56
    9
    3
See reviews for
85
225
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

A safe, central location. The staf has good English skills - service-minded and helpful. The rooms are very small, though. Our room faced the street and was on street level. But it is a quiet street, so no problem. The mattresses are hard, though, and the pillows too.

The bathroom was fine, but we had trouble with the shower. The temperature was either ice cold or scalding. We notified the staf when we left. Hopefully it has been taken care of.

This is a very small hotel, and staying there you do feel a bit cramped. The breakfast room is in the basement - there's one window looking straight into a wall and some pipes. The breakfast is good.

The hotel has a roof terrace with a few chairs.

The return to the airport was very convenient. We made a small downpayment for a shuttle bus.

All in all we were happy with the hotel. Mostly due to the location, friendly service and cleanliness.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nuclearfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

When we arrived in Nice by train, we were able to walk with our suitcases to this hotel. It is so close to great shopping and eating areas. The staff were extremely helpful and the room was very clean, albeit small...something to expect when in Europe. The morning breakfast was typical European fair...croissants, meats, cheeses, coffee, juice, fruit. Because we were so close to the train station we were able to travel to Monaco. Great hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hilda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

Once again, the Hotel les Cigales took very good care of us. This time we brought family members! This was our fourth stay at this hotel and the reason is simple: The Staff! Contacting them via email and making travel plans was very easy. On arrival, we were treated like old friends. Location is outstanding both to the beach and restaurants. Everything is in walking distance, as is public transportation. Our room was on the street side and evening traffic can be loud but we look at it as “its our neighborhood” so it was not a big issue to us. Thanks again Hotel les Cigales!

Room Tip: Quiet on the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FireLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

First of all - an outstanding, extremely friendly staff. They were nice, helpful, attentive, smiling (am I talking about France? :)))
Price. We have paid around 130 Euro. This is VERY cheap for Nice.
Location. Outstanding.
Then goes a bad part. Even if you pay 135 Euro you expect at least the basics, especially, if the TripAdvisor recommends you....
A shower needs a renovation today. Period. Mold, dirt, which you cannot clean with just households chemicals, are there. And this is not about cleaning services. It is about a quality of construction. And IT IS time to renovate. So, even if you pay 130 Euro you expect the basic qualities. You can argue about size of that show, which is EXTREMELY small. But, again, you, probably, need to pay more for a bigger room.
Another bad thing - there are no walls...... Yes, the are walls you can touch, you can see. But they don't exist for the sound. They are completely transparent to the sound. You can hear EVERYTHING what happens next door.
Would I stay there again or recommend to my friends? No.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alphatravelBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

Let me be very honest first about the city itself. If you have a choice of where to go on the Mediterranean, try to avoid Nice. There's nothing spectacular about it, a heavily overpriced city packed with Eastern European tourists who are ready to pay a fortune for rubbish service and accommodation. Areas near Nice are much better and less overprice but if I were to choose I would go to Italy or Spain...
That being said, the hotel itself is perfect for the price they ask...We stayed for 2 nights and the room was impeccably clean, the service was attentive and the staff smiled...they are multilingual so you should not have problems with communication. On the last day we were allowed to stay several hours more due to bad weather and were not charged for this. The location is also fine, close to the historic centre and at the same time walkable distance to the main train station. Again, bear in mind that this is a hotel for a short holiday, probably will not satisfy you if you are in Nice on business trip, you'd want to have something more upscale as soon as you are ready to pay a higher price but it is perfect for a holiday when you spend minimum time in your room.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmitry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012 via mobile

As with other travelers we were very pleased with this hotel. As three adults traveling as chose a three bedded room. We thought it had plenty of space for us. The hotel staff are very friendly. We received a briefing on the area upon arrival and were escorted to our room. Facilities were clean and we enjoyed the breakfast. The hotel is well situated with some good bars and restaurants only a few minutes away. Beach and shopping precincts also an easy stroll away. Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel de la Fontaine
#8 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#13 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Centre
BEST WESTERN Hotel Roosevelt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#10 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Regence
Hotel Regence
#32 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel les Cigales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel les Cigales

Property: Hotel les Cigales
Address: 12 rue Dalpozzo, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Nice
#19 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel les Cigales 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a recently renovated white façade, the privately-owned hotel is located in the esteemed neighbourhood of the "Carré d'Or". It welcomes you year-round in the heart of the city, just a few blocks away from the famous "Promenade des Anglais" with its pebble beaches, and from the pedestrian streets with their many shops and restaurants. The hotel is also within walking distance of the Place Masséna and its tram stop, the old town, and the city's main train station. Hotel les Cigales offers a welcoming and relaxing environment with 19 spacious and comfortable rooms, all equipped with air conditioning, a minibar, an individual safe and free Wifi access. A private terrace is also available, where customers can relax and peacefully enjoy the sunny weather of the Côte d'Azur. You will appreciate the availability of the hotel's staff, as well as the discretion and serenity of this family hotel. It would be our pleasure to help guide you in working out the details of your stay and suggest the best places to visit in the city. Whether you are in Nice for business or pleasure, you will love how quiet the hotel is and will appreciate its rooms with courtyard room and rooftop views. And feel free to use the terrace to relax between two escapades in the capital of the French Riviera. With many of the city's most valued assets nearby, Hotel les Cigales is also ideally located if you wish to visit neighbouring towns such as Cannes, Monaco or Menton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel les Cigales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Cigales Hotel
Les Cigales Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing